We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Mespil Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mespil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,509: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

Decent price for a good hotel. Have stayed a couple of times and have had 2 types of room. 1 refurbished and 1 of the old type rooms. Both are comfortable enough. Staff are friendly, breakfasts are pretty good too. For a good priced city centre hotel, look no further. It also has a small gym hidden away in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank h0bn0b
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you enjoy staying with us and find the hotel well priced, comfortable and centrally located. Thank you for kindly mentioning our staff. Breakfast was also enjoyed and nice to see that you were impressed with the gym which is greatly used by business guests. We... More 

Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Pros: Very close to Dublin city centre, parking. Cons: Over priced. Plumbing issues, poor facilities, toilet would not flush, apathetic staff, unclean areas. Very loud and difficult to get rest. If you must stay here, down the road a bit is a fantastic Italian restaurant,

Helpful?
Thank Alan L
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you found the location central with parking and a good array of restaurants nearby. Sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties during your stay which is disappointing, however should you return in the New Year, I feel you will be very impressed with the... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014

I have stayed in the apartment wing of the Mespil several times. In March 2005 we stayed in one of these apartments for about three months (my wife and one daughter), in May 2012 we stayed in a Mespil apartment for one week (my wife and two daughters). All of my experience at the Mespil has been with their two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to see that you have enjoyed a number of long stays in Dublin and stayed in the apartments with your family. These apartments are ideal for extended stays in Dublin. Nice to see that you find the location very convenient with St Stephen’s Green close by as well... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We stayed at the Mespil Hotel for 2 nights in October 2014. Parking can be a nightmare in Dublin so we appreciated them having a car park even though it was quite small. Make sure to get there early if you want a parking spot! The hotel is easy to get to, is situated along a beautiful canal and is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SPP_Bananas
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked the location overlooking the Grand Canal. Nice to see that you really appreciated having free car parking and early check-in. Sorry to hear the fan took a little time to arrive to your room but great... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Found the room average and perhaps slightly dated and tatty. Nevertheless, the rest of the hotel was clean and is more suited to the businessman due to the area being mainly office heavy. Professional staff and helpful. Easy to grab a taxi and if you don't mind a longer stroll whilst staying in a city, it would be just right... More 

Helpful?
Thank beth8rown
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see you found the hotel well located while staying in Dublin. Thank you for the kind feedback in relation to our staff. Regarding the bedroom being a little outdated we are delighted to announce that over the winter months we are upgrading many rooms to executive standard,... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in a comfortable room at the quieter rear of the hotel. I arrived early from a trans-Atlantic flight and was given a room until my room was ready. Peter in reception was exceptionally helpful in recommending a quiet location and helping me connect to Wi-Fi when I experienced difficulty doing so. The rooms are spacious but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MoseCeltic
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to see that you very much enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and found the hotel well located and good value for money. Thank you for kindly mentioning our staff and especially Peter for assisting you with the wifi connection - I will ensure your comments are... More 

Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2014

we stayed there at a weekend to see a football game at aviva. the hotel was very easy to find and has free car park which is just so great in dublin. the location is really good for both city centre and aviva stadium, we could walk with our young child no problem. very nice staffs and clean room. breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank hihiromi
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, while attending a game at the Aviva stadium. Nice to read that you found the free car parking a bonus, enjoyed breakfast and found the hotel good value for money. Thank you for kindly mentioning our... More 

Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We stayed here 2ad and 2ch for the weekend of the Ireland Gibralter game. Reception staff were professional and courteous and check-in was fast and easy. Our room wasnt ready but we were there an hour before check-in so expected a wait however we were offered an alternative family room that was ready which was a little futher away than... More 

Helpful?
Thank elainescan
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that your family enjoyed their recent stay with us and the Ireland vs. Gibraltar match in Aviva Stadium. Great to receive such positive comments in relation to our family rooms which are spacious and comfortable. We very much appreciate the positive feedback in relation to our... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was great value for money and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very similar to a Premier Inn in standards and decor. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was tasty with lots of choice, you really could eat a very large breakfast if you needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woodisse
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and found the hotel well located and good value for money. Nice to see that you were impressed with the breakfast selection and your evening meal and that the complimentary wifi was also a bonus. Great to hear... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This hotel is very well connected to the airport (there is a bus stop direct to the airport on the corner). On the surrondings everything you may need : supermarket , pubs, restaurants , gas station and easy transport to the city center. Rooms are comfortable but need an update. Great views to Grand canal justify the price you pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amaya C
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you had a comfort stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located to the city centre and the Air Coach which goes directly to Dublin Airport. Good to see you enjoyed the views of the Grand Canal and liked having a good selection of... More 

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,527 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,144 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#21 of 150 in Dublin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
0.8 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 150 in Dublin
1,983 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM456 - RM862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mespil Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney
over a year ago
Woodstock, Georgia
10 months ago

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mespil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ideally get a room that faces onto the canal”
 of 5 bubbles BangorTez, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lizcX2889QK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure when checking in, you get the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles sandracT2035NV, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms didnt have adjustable A/C or heating. They will bring up a portable heater if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles Corky132, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the bathroom door needed some maintanence”
 of 5 bubbles bridgetr33, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay