We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Academy Plaza Hotel

#45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Academy Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,485: English reviews
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewed 29 January 2015

We had booked reservations for this hotel in January for 3 nights. Excellent staff and very professional!! Clean rooms & good size for a Europe hotel. The hotel was in a great location in the center of the city were you can walk to night life, shopping, restaurants etc!! Highly recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim M Thank you so much for you wonderful comment and sharing your feedback. We are delighted to read that you have spoken so highly of us. The whole team here love to provide a warm and informative welcome to all our guests and to cater for each individual request no matter how small. We are delighted to you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault the hotel or the city. The hotel was well kept and clean. The facilities were excellent and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. It's in an excellent location, in a quiet street off o'Connell which ensured it was quiet enough for couples and families, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyle E
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyle E Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us during your time in Dublin. We are a well located city centre hotel and our friendly and efficient staff work very hard at providing all our customers with the level and service they expect. Thank you for mentioning our team. They love...

Reviewed 29 January 2015

This is the best hotel you can get for a quick getaway in this fabulous city. It is very central, 5 minutes by walk to Henry Street (which is a shopping paradise) and 10 minutes to Grafton Str and Fleet Str. (Temple Bar). Moreover, if you're travelling by bus from the Airport you can get Aircoach tickets which are relatively...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neville M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neville M Thank you for you wonderful words and comments. We totally agree with you, we also believe we are a great location for any person looking to stay in the city centre while being so accessible to Dublin Airport and both the City's train stations. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we really hope when you...

Belper, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Stayed here in January for a long weekend and it was absolutely perfect! Stayed in just a standard double room, which was lovely! bed was large and comfy, room was a good size and the bath and shower were perfect. Never ran out of hot water like some hotels do, never had any issues! Room was always warm, nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abi5225
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abi5225 We are very thrilled that you picked us as your city centre hotel while in Dublin. We are even more enamoured that you have shared a 5 star review of our property. Thank you. There are so many advantages of staying with us, namely our great location, staff and comfortable well appointed rooms. We do hope you will...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 January 2015

If you're going to Dublin and know nothing about the city, this hotel's location off of O'Connell street is ideal! There are restaurants, pubs, museums, shops, and the beginning location for the hop on hop off tours. The hotel has 2 restaurants, we did not eat at either because there were so many restaurants nearby. Our room was quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhurleygirlie
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mhurleygirlie Thank you for your 5 star review and for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled to be so highly spoken of. Our well located city centre hotel is a great choice for any city centre goer. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel as much as the location. We would love if you did return to us again...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed here this weekend with friends. Hotel was really well located, directly opposite the bus stop from the airlink bus, and round the corner from O'Connell street. We arrived at 10am, but werent able to check in, as they said check out was at 2.30pm. On the day we were checking out, we were told check out was 12pm -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy M
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy M Thank you so much for you kind words and comments about our hotel, staff and location. We were delighted to look after you during your stay in Dublin City and we are even more pleased to read you enjoyed your time so much with your friends. We are in a prime location in Dublin City Centre and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I always enjoy staying at this hotel, I always feel it is reasonably priced for it's position and the breakfast is very tasty. The only criticisms I have is the poor choice of TV Channels and the pillows could be a bit better other than that it is a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth H
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth H Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted you have let us know you are a repeat guest and we are very thankful for your loyalty and recommendation. Due to the nature of TripAdvisors anonymity we cannot fully search your past reservations. Maybe next time you stay you could stop by the desk where we would...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

Room as small but as not staying in there for long periods of time was okay. It was clean and did what we needed. Pub next door didn't distrub us and the hotel was less than 30 seconds from the main street. Only thing that I would say was house keeping knocking at half eight each not the best tim,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma1073
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma1073 Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased to read that we are a good place to stay and we are very thankful that you chose to stay with us. Our clean and well located hotel is great for any person looking to base themselves while exploring Dublin. We hope you choose to stay...

Mochdre, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Couldn't fault this hotel. I booked it through a travel company from a wowcher deal. I hadn't received any info from the company as to when I could check in so when my husband and I enquired at the hotel desk what time this was we were told it was 2.30. It was 10am at the time but they said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah R
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R Thank you so much for your five star review Sarah R. We were delighted you choose to say with us in Dublin City Centre. We believe we are an Excellent Hotel with Excellent Staff also. Our team work very hard daily in providing guests knowledge about Dublin City and providing them with a warm welcome to the...

Reviewed 23 January 2015

Good location, friendly staff, and delicious breakfast for reasonable price!!! The bed was extremely comfortable, tidy room and nice classy hotel atmosphere!!! I will definitely recommend it to my friends and if I come back again to Dublin, there is no doubt which hotel I will choose!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Szabó B
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Szabó B Thank you for fantastic feedback and for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you stayed with us while in Dublin Centre. We are very thankful for sharing your public recommendation of us and we are even more thrilled to read that you will return to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

1,294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (790)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (259)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
2,482 reviews
2.3 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
1,827 reviews
1.0 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM562 - RM1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
92 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (92)

Questions? Get answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check room out first”
gallivangreg, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Expect a small room and tight spaces. Photos were misleading. Nice look but not top quality of construction or function.”
FoodnWine101, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask if room overlooks "The LIving Room" if it does change it.”
N9859OGjohnh, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Clean and quiet rooms”
lindanG3179CE, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Think good views on all floors..”
_grainne_donald, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates