We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,869 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,288: English reviews
Central Argentina, Argentina
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I absolutely loved this hostel. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bar is so much fun! with activities every day and the food was very good too. I would deffinitely go to this hostel again. It´s very well connected to the centre of the city and you can also walk anywhere from it. I absolutely recomend it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariaeugenia796
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you loved the hostel and found the rooms clean and spacious. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Very lively and friendly atmosphere. Clean & new rooms and furniture. Provides locker service for a fee since check-in time is 2 pm. The pub in the lobby is a huge plus, and its proximity to the Jameson Distillery and a tram station as well. It's located in a quiet area of the city with about 15-20 min walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yuconghu
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the place lively and friendly. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Sydenham, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Very nice, clean, modern hostel. They have a bar/cafe that is connected which is great but it would be nice to have at least a fridge/microwave still available. Staff at the front desk are okay, The bartender is great though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamsmithaus
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to see you back again very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manger

Abergele, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I stayed for a two night weekend at the Generator recently. I was a little apprehensive at first, only down to never having stayed in a hostel before and that another 7 people traveling with me was relying on my judgement in accommodation. The Generator is situated in an excellent position within Dublin (3 minute walk from the River Liffey)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Wow great to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay so much. Great you took the time to write such a comprehensive review for other guests to have. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

This hostel is barely an hostel, it feels like an hotel. It's really too big, which makes it hard to meet other travellers. Also there is no common room and no kitchen. So you can't bring your own food or drinks. The bar/restaurant is unfortunately overpriced. On the plus side, dorms are reasonably priced during weekdays and the location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank voyageur2233
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent reviews on the Generator Dublin. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay overall. The hostels does have over 540 beds, that is reason we don't have a kitchen for guests to use, but we do have food and beverage facilities that are on offer and are very competitive for a downtown location....

Amiens, France
Reviewed 21 April 2016

From the service to the accomadation, Generator is one of the best hostels I have ever been to and the price is quite affordable. The music, the ambiance, the food, everything was great in my books. 👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jadaj14
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Well the hostel itself is really good. Spacious, new rooms, well equiped. It looks like new one so the stay was convenient, had all facilties I needed. The staff was really helpful and nice. Its also cool that at the groundfloor there is bar so you can have a sip of beer without leaving. Because to be fair the distance...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katarzynao260
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will come back and see us soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

San Jose, California
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The hostel is very spacious with friendly staff. The concierge staff also is very helpful in day trip planning (outside of Dublin). Great bar with fun atmosphere and delicious food! The location is the only minus point of the entire experience but not too bad. I would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella C
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and found the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Paris
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

The lobby and réception are cosy with good atmosphere ! The service is friendly and room are clean and spacious enough ! Personnal lockers in room as usual in Generator. Sometimes, women showers are a bit dirty and hears some noise at night but not that worth. Good stay !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilieCharlotte
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service friendly. We hope you will come back to Dublin very shortly. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I loved the café inside the hostel. The overall appearance is amazing. Location is nice. Breakfast buffet for 4 euros is great. They have everything you need. There are bars and chill out areas inside the hostel. Internet works very well. I have nothing to complain except for the bathroom cleaning which was inside the bathroom and I never saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbhgirl
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and got to sample all of the outlets. We hope you will come back and see us very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,198 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#30 of 150 in Dublin
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,185 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 100 in Dublin
1,718 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#7 of 100 in Dublin
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM116 - RM885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
7 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
5 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to jacobs inn on talbot instead. Much nicer management and facilities. PLUS free breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles mattdU6670OR, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Disability access is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z7990NKjennys, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“According to your gender, try to pick the good bathroom floor otherwise you need to take your shower to the other floor”
 of 5 bubbles juliee262, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance and get a private room, it's almost the same as paying for a cheaper hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay