We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Show Prices
#59 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,080: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and had a great time. The hotel is right next to Trinity College and only a 5 minute walk to Temple Bar. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly dated but you can't complain for the price, would definitely stay again if visiting Dublin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you found the team to be so helpful and friendly. They are truly dedicated to the their jobs and will be just as thrilled at I am to hear you had such a wonderful time with us. As you pointed...

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

The staff at reception were very helpful. The overall staying experience at the hotel was good with attractions being close by. The only downfall was we had twin beds and would have preferred a double bed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasnim B
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor We as a Team endeavour at all times to offer the complete guest experience and we are delighted you found this to be the case, It is what keeps our repeat guests coming back to us and this for us is the true measure of our success and...

Ruther Glen, Virginia
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during our honeymoon. We arrived at about 6:30 in the morning after a 6 hour flight and 7 hour layover in New Jersey. Not only did they let us check in 8 hours early, they also offered us free breakfast! The rooms were modern and great. Location was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cer377
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We are very greatful for the time you have taken to post a review on Tripadvisor. As you so rightly pointed out the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of the Dublin's city centre and within walking distance of our National Museums and of course the Gingerman - a must stop for a well deserved...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

The Reception staff Laura and Sebastian are wonderful ambassadors for this hotel. Laura was very professional, personable and went way above the call of duty but in a subtle way, nothing was too much trouble for her. When I couldn't get a dental pack dispensed from the machine on the first floor Sebastian went out of his way to try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felicity777
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many many thanks for posting such a postive review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor We were absolutely delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as guests - nothing gives us greatest please that feedback such as yours. Many thanks for your...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 27 January 2016

The staff were lovely and friendly the room was very large with a good sitting area. The breakfast was good, a great selection and proper rashers! (nor thin frizzled ones!) Would have liked a robe and slippers with a 4 star, but managed without! Would go again definitely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 0rthopaedics
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sincerely for your recent review on Tripadvisor It is always most encouraging to hear that guests have enjoyed their experience at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel as our team work extremely hard to consistently provide a great service to you as our valued guest. We do apologise for the lack of the bathrobes and slippers but had you contacted...

loire valley
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Just returned from spending three nights at this hotel. Rooms were spacious, clean, well equipped, really confortable bed, public areas are great, nice bar and lovely little restaurant. But, what made our stay most enjoyable,was staff that were friendly, helpful and full of smiles. Two staff members that stood out for us was Laura on Reception as she was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lecalabash
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. The team here at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel are passionate about our whole guest experience and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. Many thanks for your very kind comments about all our team. I will be sure to pass them on as...

Skelmersdale
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I was informed during our visit that this establishment is to be refurbished next year, whilst I agree its slightly worn around the edges it remains a Very well presented and extremely friendly hotel. Situated about a 10/15 minute walk from the centre (The Steel needle) it offers you so much in-between you may never get there unless you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davewelly
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for posting such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay with us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. We really appreciate your very gracious comments about the team which I will be such to share with them as feedback as generous as yours is the best...

LONDON
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

The pillows and linens are so full of dust.. If u have a sinus problem, avoid this hotel. Otherwise hotel is okey, but would suggest some power sockets near beds as it's annoying to leave alarmed phone away from u... The good thing I liked is the blue tooth radio

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIXON66
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor Guest feedback is very important and the team value all imput so we can improve the guest experience. We are so sorry to see that you found the bedlinen lacking and this issue has been dealt with by our Housekeeping Department as a matter of extreme urgency. We...

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with freindly and helpful staff. Nice large beds. I really have nothing to complain about. The bathroom however looked to have seen some use since the last time it was renovated, but everyting is clean and functional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fridtjof V
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate all feedback from our guests and we are delighted that you had no complaints during your stay not that we expect any!!! Our guest experience is so important to us so we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is undergoing...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Just had a 2 night stay in this hotel. Rooms were spotless, staff were very friendly and so helpful. Lots of useful maps and brochures available as well. Really convenient to Grafton St and felt safe walking around locality at night time. We were also able to walk to bus station for return journey to Belfast only about 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. We areso pleased to see you enjoyed a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms. We value all feedback but your in particular gives us all such a fantasic feeling!! I will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to the team...

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
1.1 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#53 of 153 in Dublin
3,230 reviews
0.5 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
1,377 reviews
1.0 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Winnipeg
2 months ago
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Derbyshire

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor rooms just been refurbished to a very high standard indeed and 3rd floor underway in March 2017”
 of 5 bubbles S6042KLianj, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try the upper floors, they are the ones that are getting upgraded first”
 of 5 bubbles TripperKlaus, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1st floor quiet”
 of 5 bubbles susanO22, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take rooms on the front side as there's nothing much to look out at to the read.”
 of 5 bubbles 82nigels, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The best tip I could offer is to pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles VincentTUK, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5