We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Egans House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Egans House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Egans House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in this establishment twice recently and quite honestly were very disappointed overall. The first night of our stay was the 24th. Oct, we checked-in mid-afternoon and noted the room was very small but adequate. We appreciate that the extreme weather caused an overnight power-cut with the result that we were unable to use the shower the following morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael T
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a bad time here and I apologise. The electrical power-cut was obviously due to the severe storm the previous night which caused widespread power cuts across the country. I was therefore totally pre-occupied with trying to resolve this for most of that day. I presumed incorrectly that because only 4 rooms were affected that...

Rüthen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Egans House is an excellent guesthouse with a congenial atmosphere, situated in a quiet area, only a 30 or 40 minutes footwalk away from the crowded and colorful centre of Dublin, just a stone´s throw away from historic Glasnevin Cemetery or famous Botanic Gardens or Drumcondra Station, easily to be reached from Dublin Airport. We stayed there twice, had clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerlinde W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A quiet, perfectly situated hotel with friendly staff and lovely rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic. Perfect if you're looking for somewhere close to the city centre without the noise and business that you'll find in the centre of Dublin. Can't recommend Egans enough, thank you for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick W
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We, a family of 5 stayed here when stopping through Dublin. Our room was right up the top with 5 of us in the room, but we still had enough room! Our hot water didn't work, and we were given another key to another room to use the shower anytime plus 2 bottles of wine as an apology! Also, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patkym
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Egans house twice on our visit to Ireland. The first room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable, but the second room was massive. Breakfast was excellent both visits and we are happy to recommend this establishment to everyone. Liz

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz M
Cheshire
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here as a stop over between a holiday in Donegal and getting the ferry from Dun Laoghaire. We wanted a room to sleep all 5 of us together which is always a bit of a struggle! Egans family room was great. It is in the attic but my 6'3" husband managed without banging his head! The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunnyDayLucy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here up the recommendation of others - sadly that was ten years ago and it appears not a Euro has been spent on the place since then. My girlfriend had doubts as soon as we walked through the main entrance. The place looked tired, the lounge furniture out-dated and it was gloomy. We stayed in room 22 and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julian d
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review

I reject entirely all that you have said about the room.It is a standard double room of 3* guesthouse standard. It has a large bathroom with a large opening window, separated from the bedroom by a lobby. When you found that there was a problem with the room you should have told the receptionist immediately and you would have been...

Kansas City, MO
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We arrived in Dublin much later than we anticipated and had dinner with friends. I called Egan's and the person I spoke with on the phone was very pleasant and said we could check in as late as midnight. This is a benefit for us as we are usually just winging it on vacation and don't know what time we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank momof8LS
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Egan's House was a nice stay, though if I ever return to Dublin I'd try to find something more... short person friendly? If you're vertically stunted like me (4"11) you might have a little trouble. I had to stand on the toilet just to be able to see myself in the bathroom mirror and the shower is very tall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adzthealien
London
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just completed an amazing 8 week trip around Europe, the best time of which we had was in Dublin for sure. This was largely due to our choice of accommodation,Egans Hotel came highly recommended by friends of ours who had stayed previously. Everything about our stay there was tops from start to finish. Traveling with young children can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean b

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
2:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Super Family Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Maples House Hotel
Maples House Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
224 reviews
0.2 km away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 160 in Dublin
713 reviews
1.3 km away
ABC House
ABC House
#28 of 160 in Dublin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#8 of 160 in Dublin
824 reviews
1.8 km away
Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments
5.7 km away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#58 of 160 in Dublin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a quiet residential area, Egans House is an elegant terrace of Edwardian houses. The 23 bedrooms of the guesthouse are en-suite with all modern facilities and much more to cater to all your needs ensuring that your stay has been a comfortable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Egans House

Address: 7 Iona Park | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM242 - RM751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Egans House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Egans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egans House Hotel Dublin
Egans Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Egans House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Egans House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would avoid the two rooms in the top, under the roof, because in case of emergency you're stuck!!”
 of 5 bubbles helmav2016, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 27 is the centre of the noise!”
 of 5 bubbles 605tamsinm, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 950samanthac, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are short in stature ask for a room with a movable shower head”
 of 5 bubbles SueJ639, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“hmm maybe top floor if easily woken ? could hear footsteps above us in morning”
 of 5 bubbles niamhocb, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay