We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Browns Hotel and Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Browns Hotel and Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Browns Hotel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Liverpool
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed in the so called luxury appartments for my partners birthday, what a mistake. The apartment we were given was not clean, noisy but more importantly not safe. They are meant to be self catering but you are unable to cook in them due to the fact the cooker is not cleanrd and there is no cuttlery or even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScousePat
London
Reviewed 26 February 2010

My partner & I returned in the early evening only to find a RANSACKED ROOM with all our valuables stolen. 2 passports, work visas, licences, 2x ipods, men’s aftershave, scarf, speakers and a phone charger. It seems the passports were the main target, the rest were opportunity grabs. Inevitably, I am wondering if the theft was carried out by a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank EDMem
N Ireland
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed with a group taking up three rooms in the "hotel". Staff recommended the Qpark across the street and said that it was free for hotel guests, which it wasn't (half price costing over 100 euros for 4 cars). Could have been a misunderstanding but the complaint was dealt with terribly. The manager didn't give us the time of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vin_m88
Browns_Hotel_Ireland, Manager at Browns Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there: I am the Manager of Browns Hotel. Thank you for staying at Browns. On this date I was off. Reception staff were dealing with you and the the Duty Manager. As with all guests we recomend QPark which we have a special deal with in order to get reduced prices. I think in this case as you state...

Ireland
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Walls falling apart in our room. Tv had no channels. We were out during the day Saturday and came back to find that we had been robbed! My pefume, my keys and my boyfriends aftershave were taken. Reported it when we were leaving, they said they would ring me the Tuesday but never heard anything. I am following it up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moll21
Browns_Hotel_Ireland, Manager at Browns Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there: Thank you for staying at Browns Hotel. We are currently renovating the hotel and the room you were staying in has just been completed. In relation to the missing items. We have since been in contact with you and are in communication about this matter. On that particular weekend there was another incident, which was connected. We have...

ballymena
Reviewed 3 November 2009

we booked this hotel for my birthday over hallow'een as it was a bargain price of 98 euros for 2 nights. I had a phone call two nights b4 we arrived demanding new credit card details as they had tried to pre-authorise my card and it wasnt working... i had never been informed on time if booking of the need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank babyAshie
Browns_Hotel_Ireland, Manager at Browns Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there: Thank you for staying at Browns. I would like to take this oppertunity to apologise for the loss of your personal items during your stay. In relation to your credit cars it is all hotels policy to preauthorise the credit card before arrival to gaurantee the full amount of the first night. This is in the case of...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Awful, even for the money. Large stain on the blanket over the bed, horrible room and - worst of all - I got 10 large bites from what I can only assume were fleas in the pillow (they were on my face and shoulder). If you do have the misfortune to stay there avoid the room that is next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shogunmondo
Louth
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Myself and my girlfriend booked Browns Hotel for a concert stay on a saturday, when we arrived we were told they were over booked and told that we were being put up in other accomadation owned by the hotel and that a taxi(which they paid for) would take to. The accomadation in question was "Bridge House" in temple bar. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tommym9
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Hotel was very cheap 75 euro between 4 of us.You get what you pay for. In the room the wall paper was severally hanging of the wall, they made an effort to fix it with sticky tape but clearly that didnt work....the sheets clearly hadnt been washed as there were other peoples hairs in the beds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mai1989
Ireland
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This so called ‘hotel’ is DIRE. The brochure is complete misleading, describing it as a boutique hotel! There are laws against such misleading bull[--]. This place is a DUMP and it would be safer and cleaner to stay out on the streets for the night. I have never stayed in such a grim and disgusting hole. The first thing that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank O2009
country NSW
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Stayed in Brown's for 3 nights, in a single room, and I honestly felt like an animal in a undersized cage. The room I stayed in -- no more than 3m square -- overlooked Lower Gardiner St, complete with sirens and traffic noise all night long. Furnishings consisted of a very well-worn double bed (cigarette burns in the coverlet) which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marsnik

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
284 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
584 reviews
Maple Hotel
#131 of 151 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#100 of 151 in Dublin
628 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 151 in Dublin
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Browns Hotel offers options of accommodations in the Hotel, the next-door Hostel (which offers more moderately priced lodgings) or affiliated city-centre apartments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Browns Hotel and Apartments

Address: 89-90 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM94 - RM366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Browns Hotel and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Browns Hotel and Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Browns Hotel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an apartment and not a room in the hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Totalamnesia, 1 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Dont book here”
 of 5 bubbles Nic_star12, 8 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Do not stay here....”
 of 5 bubbles pallas_runner, 8 May 2011 | Read review
3 of 3