We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dawson Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 615: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights as I jad an event at the whiskey distillery. It was perfectly located, as a woman I felt safe going out in the evening shopping then for a late dinner and walking back along this road, which you wouldn't in all parts of Dublin. Its very pretty at the moment with the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anita d
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to comment about your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. We very much appreciate your comments. Re the lift, we are limited in terms of material alterations that can be made, as our hotel is located in a Georgian building and as a result we don’t have a lift at...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

First time in Dublin, in fact Ireland. Thanks to the excellent staff at the hotel a very memorable time was further enhanced by the highly attentive and efficient staff. Great location and very very close to a number of super shops. Fabulous room and can only highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevetkdme
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. We are very happy that our staff members have been helpful and attentive. I will share your comments with our team, which will serve us as an encouragement. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your...

Meath
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We booked a "vibrant room" as we were going to a gig so knew we'd spend little time in the room. The room is so-called as it's above the bar,however we heard nothing and got a free cocktail each for the pleasure so happy days. The staff are so pleasant on checking in and out. Decor in the room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniellekmeath
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to comment about your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Each positive feedback serves as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I arrived with my son at 7 am on a Friday morning . We had pre booked the night before so as not to hang around until the traditional 2 pm check in. The check in is on the first floor. There is no lift from the front entrance. From the front steps to our rooms was 70 stairs plus,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank cattlerustler61
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with The Dawson Hotel & Spa. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. All the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. As this Hotel is not long under new management, it is a gradual process to work through historic issues. We have for example in the past two weeks...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. My girlfriend and I had a junior suite, room 325, and it was quite simply superb. Upon arrival we were greeted by two very welcoming and informative members of staff, who swiftly checked us in and made us feel at home. Showing us to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. Your positive review will certainly serve as an encouragement to our staff. We are sorry that you have experienced problems with the TV and the remote controller. As part of our ongoing programme of works for the Hotel, we have scheduled an upgrade...

Stockholm
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The hotel is excellent located, wonderful breakfast, large rooms and the staff is just amazingly service minded. perfect for a Dublin getaway and we highly recommend it! very good bar and restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellinor82
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Dawson Hotel & Spa. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and choosing our...

Belfast
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The location of the property was excellent just off St Stephen's Green and within easy walking distance to the shops, theatres, restaurants etc. 10/10 for location. Unfortunately down hill from there - The room we had (301) was definitely not 4* standard. There was a damp musty smell when you opened the door even though the two windows were wide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael d
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. We apologise for the experience you had with us during your stay. We have recently completed our initial stage of refurbishment in the hotel. As we are a small property, it has taken some time since takeover to get through...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

A strange hotel, which everyone knows as La Stampa - a previously well known restaurant yet now a broken up muddled attempt at a hotel. The entrance and reception is upstairs and off the side - I had no recognition from anyone for three days whilst there as they cannot see you go in or out the hotel. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Londonfoodsnob16
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed in a junior suite at the Dawson hotel&spa. The hotel is right in the heart of Dublin and a short stumble away from Temple Bar. The stairs kept us fit but weren't really an issue to be honest. The hotel has a nice, luxurious feel - although not entirely as luxurious as you might expect for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrie R
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. Your feedback regarding the issues experienced during your stay is very important to us and thankfully they are all items which can be easily resolved. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Dawson...

Little Lever, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I took my wide here for our second wedding anniversary and was looking forward to a relaxing stay with some spa treatments. Our first night was horrendous. Our "Junior Suite" was a big room but in my opinion not very luxurious and had no natural light from the windows as the room was the on the inner part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
Duty M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are happy that your overall experience was positive and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure...

881 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (593)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Classic Double (99)
Viewed
Classic Twin (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (100)
Viewed
Moroccan Suite (140)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,166 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,335 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM530 - RM1,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms that don't face the terrace with all the heating engines...”
 of 5 bubbles 63rachelep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear and 3rd floor to avoid noise of adjoining bar and night club especially at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles allisons618, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The junior suite was quite nice and very well priced, For the few extra dollars it is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Seafoodtraveler, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lulie_12, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware the stairs and ask does room have a view”
 of 5 bubbles 1998hanjon, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5