We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#49 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,179: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Our flight got us in at 7am, the front desk was so wonderful doing everything they could to get us in a room as quickly as possible. It was chaotic at times with people checking out and trying to check in but they remembered everyone and never seemed frazzled. So grateful the rooms had different types of plugs to accommodate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shar1947
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shar1947 Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The hotel was clean. The staff was very helpful and courteous. There was one lady at the front desk who was especially helpful and recommended some fun pubs. This turned out to be a highlight of our trip. We found the hotel to be in a great location. We could walk to anywhere. I would definitely stay there again if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chopklj
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chopklj Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Good location , attentive staff , very poor and confusing layout , didn't feel welcome in the bar and staff were too keen in setting up for breakfast and it wasn't even 9.30 pm Breakfast was mediocre yet quite expensive in comparison to other hotels eg Radison Blu nearby Very expensive and so not really value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidm010
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrancescaWicklow Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. I am dissappointed to learn that our service and facilities were not to your liking. We have refreshed our berakfast offering and hope that you will have a pleasant experience should you be visiting us again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Reviewed 18 August 2015

In Dublin for 2 nights only so really appreciated the great location. Many restaurants, shopping and other attractions within walking distance. Beautiful St Stephens Green across the street. Staff was very helpful and informative. Rooms are of good size but in need of updating, especially the bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

I don't even know where to start with how horrendous this experience was. The room was filthy, and the shower/tub had obviously not been cleaned in a long time. Somehow, the room lost power and the response was to reprogram the room key. After that was not the answer it took almost an hour to get power in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lauren F
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren F I am very dissappointed to hear that your stay with us was so underwhelming. As you will note from many other reviews, it is certainly not our usual standard and an isolated occuranc. Please accept my very sincere apologies for the inconvenience our short coming caused you. Should you visit us again, please do make contact with...

Chicago
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed at this property for about 10 days and had a good time. Staff were excellent and took great care of us. Location is in a nice district on the Stephen's Green park. It's walking distance to most of Dublin's tourist attractions, restaurants and theatres. Also close to Dublin's museum district. Hotel is very well maintained. We liked our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FunlovingJohn
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FunlovingJohn Its great to hear that your extended stay with us was comfortable and that my colleagues were helpful. We do not have a minibar/fridge in any of our rooms but are happy to assist guest with any requests they may have at any time day or night. We hope to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General...

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

As title says it's all about the location with this hotel, right beside St. Stephen's Green and the Luas, it's perfectly located on the south side of Dublin. The hotel is rated a 4 star but I wouldn't have thought so after our stay, and have stayed in much nicer hotels of the same rating. It is clean, warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katd1207
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katd1207 Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Liked this hotel last time I stayed, perfect location and high standards. Didn't have breakfast last time but did this time. Not in restaurant but served in bar and best bit was you chose the cooked part from a menu (what a novelty these days!). The choice was very good and interesting not just the usual Irish Breakfast. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrancescaWicklow
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrancescaWicklow Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Great location on the Green with very courteous, professional, smiling staff. There was no business being done in the bar on either night but I put that down to the price of the pint which is much cheaper elsewhere. Lobby is a little tired and needs a refurb. Public areas are spotless. I preferred breakfast in the dining room as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ConneryIreland
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ConneryIreland Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and feel confident recommending our hotel. Hoping to welcome you back again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

835 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,173 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,338 reviews
Albany House
#64 of 153 in Dublin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM544 - RM1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel have a great view across Dublin”
 of 5 bubbles 244vickyo, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“corner room with views of the green was great”
 of 5 bubbles DublinSuzy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the corner was great for excellent city views and the parade”
 of 5 bubbles JMJiji, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a street side room if you do not want a view of the building behind the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 653adrienem, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5