We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#45 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,146: English reviews
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This hotel has a great location, very attentive staff,and our room was awesome. We also enjoyed the lounge, A nice place to have a drink and a small bite. Request one of the two end rooms on the fifth floor, as these are larger and have balconies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertdaz
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review robertdaz. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Your comments regarding the team are much appreciated and I will be sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future be it for business or leisure. Kind regards, Paul...

Bangor
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Excellent hotel. Great Location. Grafton Street/Stephen's Green Shopping mall and Gaiety Theatre all within 3-5 Min walk Luas tram service just across the road. Stops close by the vast Dundrum Shopping complex. (Allow full day if you want to get around whole complex 6 floors) Rooms spacious and spotless. Breakfast very good selection. Unlike some a good selection of TV...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank William M
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review William M. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel excellent during your recent visit. Your comments regarding the bedroom and breakfast are much appreciated. I will be sharing your comments with the team. Once again thank you for your contribution and we look forward to welcoming you back...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We stayed at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel on our recent trip to Dublin. It was a great location to get to Grafton Street, Trinity College/Book of Kells and a quick taxi ride to the Guinness Storehouse - all things that we did on our arrival date. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and had the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARBeyer
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ARBeyer. It is great to hear you felt the hotel was situated in a great location. Your comments regarding the team, bedroom and guest amenities are much appreciated and we hope you had an enjoyable stay in Dublin. Once again thank you for your contribution and we look forward to...

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We stayed here for 2 days in May. Couldn't check in early, so they held our luggage for us so that we could sight see for the afternoon. Nice room (they do have hair dryers, just have to search for it). We had to use 2 elevators to get to our room. Just mentioning this for people who have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Julie O. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel was nice and well located. Your feedback in respect of the bedroom and breakfast is much appreciated. We hope you had a n enjoyable time in Dublin and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Paul C.

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Not to mention what a great hotel but their employee---Hugh Lynch found my wallet containing most of my money but also all of my credit cards and drivers license. My trip would have been a nightmare. THANKS TO HUGH IT WAS SAVED AND MY WIFE AND I LOVED IRELAND. I am sure I will never forget the friendly and hospitable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kernel1635
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review kernel1635. I am delighted to hear we were able to find your wallet and Hugh was able to return it to you. I will be sharing your feedback with Hugh. Kind regards, Paul C.

Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a recent trip to Dublin City. The hotel staff at reception and breakfast were excellent - friendly and informative. Couldn't do enough to help. The room was large and comfortable. We decided to spend our final evening eating at the bar, it was surprisingly poor - a very limited menu and one member of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annypurple
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Annypurple. Whilst I am delighted to hear your stay overall was excellent I am sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory dining experience in the bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for ay shortcomings in this regard. Feedback in respect of our food offering is typically positive and...

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. From the moment we called to book to walking the door on arrival and again on departure the staff were so welcoming and had that 'nothing is any trouble' approach in a warm genuine and sincere manner. The location of the hotel is also special. On one of the more quiet corners...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swift0262
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review swift0262. I am delighted to hear you found the hotel offered a great venue and location for your recent weekend birthday celebration. Your feedback regarding the hotel, bedroom, service and team is much appreciated. I will be sharing your comments with the team and in particularly Jiri our F&B supervisor....

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 7 June 2015

I got car sick on my driving trip through Ireland and so decided to go to Dublin for the last 8 days of my trip and stay in one place. I called O'Callahans, which was our last hotel before going home, and asked for the same room for the next 8 days. So, I stayed 8 days and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet G
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Janet G. Whilst I am sorry to hear your trip of Ireland was curtailed due to car sickness, I am delighted to hear that we were able to offer a home away from home in the hotel for the remainder of your trip. Your comments in respect of the hotel,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Friendly staff, spacious clean room, good location. No restaurant and bar food a bit limited. Would recommend for it's central location. The room we had looked out on a brick wall which was a shame but overall not a bad place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryjordan2014
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review maryjordan2014. I am delighted to hear you would recommend the hotel for a flying visit. Your comments regarding the team, location and cleanliness is much appreciated. We have recently launched our new bar menus so I am confident these offer a greater variety of dishes to that seen with the...

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Decent hotel. All the basic amenities you would expect. The only additional thing could've been a fridge/mini bar in the room. A little bit on the pricey side and the window of the room we got faced directly in to the window of another room at the hotel so ended up keeping curtains drawn for the whole three days we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UJ132
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review UJ132. I am delighted to hear you had a positive experience overall. This said I am sorry to hear you were allocated a room which was directly overlooked by another bedroom; most of our bedrooms offer privacy to our guests with the exception of one or two internal rooms. In...

831 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 149 in Dublin
1,274 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 149 in Dublin
2,128 reviews
Conrad Dublin
#73 of 149 in Dublin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM573 - RM1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“corner room with views of the green was great”
 of 5 bubbles DublinSuzy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the corner was great for excellent city views and the parade”
 of 5 bubbles JMJiji, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a street side room if you do not want a view of the building behind the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 653adrienem, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1334 was at the back and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 395Andy_R, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay