We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Quite strategic position, since it is located very close to the bus station (airport connection) and walking distance from city centre. We didn't try any breakfast, since it was not included in our booking. Personnel always kind and polite with us, also providing informations when asked. Room was very large (huge bed!) with a comfortable bathroom. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70Giulio
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of the city. We had a nice room, clean and with a splendid view over the spire of Dublin. The WiFi worked very well. In the morning we had a tasty Irish breakfast. Tea, coffee and biscuits in the room every day. A little bit noisy, but this can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabin C
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sabin C, Thank you for the nice comments about your stay. I am happy you did enjoy it. I appreciate that you do understand the fact that due to our central location it can be a bit noisy. But as you also mentioned it is easy to get almost everywhere by walking. I am glad your overall stay was...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here when I recently visited Dublin, the property is tired but it's under going renovations. The room was a good size and clean. The bed was comfy and the shower was very powerful to help the hangover. The staff were friendly enough couldn't really fault the place. The area looks a little rough but no issues at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Ward_502
Nina G, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Matt Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Amberley House. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. Based on customer feedback we are under taking some...

Merseyside, England
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Pros. - Apartment was ok. Welcome tray with tea, coffee milk and biscuits. Not far to walk into main area of shops and bars. Reasonably priced. Unfortunately, the cons outway the pros. Cons. - The reception is a 5 minute walk away...which isnt mentioned on booking. The corridors and lift had a horrendous smell which was so bad we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katg4now
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us. I am glad you were satisfied with the apartment and it's short walking distance to main areas of Dublin . I am disappointed to find out that public areas and lift in the building weren't up to standards . We don't own the building so there...

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Being a Guest House in the centre of a city you (should) expect a few negatives - worn carpet, warped wallpaper, scuffs/stains and dated/quirky decor. As such, these aspects of Amberley Guesthouse didn't really bother me. I'm more concerned with whether it's clean - all things considered - and has hot water. My room was clean enough, but fell down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naaarp
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Naarp, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your accommodation at Amberley Guesthouse. I am very sad to find out that there were few issues you came across during your stay. Please do understand that some of the bedrooms are situated in the Georgian building that is over 200 years old. Due to...

Brisbane
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Was relocated from overbooked 'sister' hotel in Temple Bar. No lift. Grumpy night manager. Room 8 horrid, cold,noisy, running water noises, nasty 1960s style tea tray, smelled damp. Very run down. Paper note stick to door saying receptionist would be back in ten minutes. Lobby smelled of old cooking g fat and was dark and poorly presented. I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fix64
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Fix64, I am sorry that your overbooking happened in a first place. I can imagine how disappointed you were finding about that. You didn't get the chance to stay at the property that you have chosen to. Amberley Guesthouse is under management of the same group that Hotel Handels is. However we are B&B property. There must have been...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Well where to start ! Looking at pictures you advertise with on hotel sites you actually think your going to nice apartments WRONG ! Think they need updating nothing like the pictures. Then when we arrived 11:30pm to be told our apartment was a 5min walk away on the next block so in the rain and cold carting our luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

If you want somewhere to stay that's near the city centre then this is the place,5 to 10 min walk to the temple bar area, anyway this guesthouse is the place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful, room's are massive clean and tidy, beds super comfy, the bathroom was really clean and the shower was one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herbie666
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I'm delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay at Amberley. Nothing makes me more happy than knowing we did the best we could to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and satisfied with their choice of accommodation. We are trying to provide best customer service, are willing to help if possible. Thank you very much for taking...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights, I specifically asked for a lower room as I have mobility issues. When we arrived we were told by the guy on desk our rooms were at the top of the hotel as we wanted singles. He said 3 flights of stairs when n fact there were 60 stairs ..yes we counted then !!...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Babiedood
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ladies from Scotland, I am very sad to read how disappointed you are with your recent stay at Amberley Guesthouse . I went through all your reservation details and even through our mailbox to check if we missed your request for the rooms to be located on lower floor due to you mobility issues. I didn't find any information...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I went to Dublin with friends and took one of the apartments if this Guest House. The apartment was perfect for our (three persons). Good ornamented, clean and fast wifi. The only issue, sometimes it was difficult to regulate the water temperature in the shower. Regarding the location, it's near the centre of the city, but at approximately one kilometre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julio P
Maja M, Manager at Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Julio P, Thank you very much for sharing your comments . I am glad that overall you did enjoy the stay with us. We are in the process of checking showers in all our apartments since some issues were spotted recently. Our maintenance team will make sure they are all working fine. Check out for our guests is at...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
603 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 162 in Dublin
620 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 162 in Dublin
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 162 in Dublin
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amberley House B&B is located on Lower Gardiner St Dublin 1, only 2 min walk to O Connell Street, the centre of Dublin. The main bus and rail terminals are also only 5 min walk away. We offer en suite bedrooms, double, triple and quad beds. Each room is equipped with TV, tea/coffee, telephone and ironing facilities. Continental and full Irish breakfast is included in the price. 24 hour reception available with our friendly staff willing to assist you with any queries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments

Address: 34 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM488 - RM1,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to ask from a room not on the street side”
Haware, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great location”
886sabinc, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you're bothered by noise (I am) try to request a room not on the street.”
Naaarp, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see room. Avoid being diverted here if you booked into one of their hotels”
Fix64, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 11 is on the top floor so is a bit quieter”
  • massive super comfy bed
  • fantastic shower
  • big tv
  • great wi-fi
herbie666, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5