We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour Hotel Galway

Show Prices
#13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbour Hotel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,327: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour Hotel Galway
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The last two days we have been here the hotel has been doing renovations so the lobby has been a loud mess. Paint buckets, drop cloths and tools strewn everywhere with no explanation or apology from the hotel. Tonight when we arrived back at the hotel there was a grand opening party for their new bar (which i assume was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes the location is convenient to restaurants and shopping was close-by but the room was very noisy. Our room was on the street side and it sounded as though we were sleeping on the side of the road. The room was stuffy and I thought my husband opened a window it was so loud. After a horrible nights sleep due...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gina H
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, both positive and negative, constructive feedback is always welcomed as it offers us the opportunity to better understand our guests expectations, and to determine the areas that need improvement. If you ever decide to return visit to the Harbour Hotel (which I hope you do), please contact me directly as I...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not quite what we expected when checking in to the hotel... No mention of the renovations underway when booking. With plenty of choice of places to stay in Galway looks like I made the wrong one - especially when like properties can be had for the same amount. I understand that renovations do need to happen but reception is a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony C
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Harbour Hotel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. To prove to you that we take every complaint seriously please contact me directly next time...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off as has been said in multiple other reviews this hotel has a great location, it's only minutes from Shop Street and Eyre Square so location cannot be faulted. However the current refurbishment really did impact on our visit. When we arrived I was actually unsure as to whether the hotel was even open! Numerous guys in hi-vis vests...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kellyg66
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apologies with the Bar and Restaurant renovation issues that you experienced during your stay and I'm really sorry that our temporary bar and restaurant didn't reach your expectations, now when we have finished our refurbishment we look forward to welcoming you back and we hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us on...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late on Friday for a two night stay, dealt with quickly at reception. Twin room is a good size with one double and one single bed. Bathroom good size but could do with a little updating. Had a bite to eat in the bar before heading into the town, food selection is good and reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa V
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to mention some of your highlights in your review. With all of our guests, we strive to offer a warm and friendly welcome and excellent service. We will pass on your kind words to the team and look forward very much...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed before its in a great location, lots of refurbishments going on so our room was very noisy in mornings so bit annoyed at this of no chance of a lie on when going away is all about getting a break and relaxing ! Would of been nice to be told or even adknowledge it but was like nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for your kind words on the positives of our hotel. Secondly, we can only apologize for the noise from the renovation works, now when our refurb is over We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon. Please contact me directly next time you are in Galway as I would be most...

Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment of the lobby, bar and lounge areas with a temporary check-in desk. They are still managing to operate food and beverage services out of one of the ground floor function rooms. Other than that the hotel is a short walk away from the town centre, is clean, well maintained and has excellent friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mad_dublin
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to the Harbour. Now when we finished our Bar Restaurant and Lobby renovation we look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbour in the very near future. If you decide to return to Galway, please contact me directly and I will ensure that...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night. Let me begin by saying that this hotel is a low 4 star. However, it is clean and most importantly, central. Parking is available to the rear but must be paid for separately. And so endeth the good news.......................... Upon arrival, we were greeted by on-going renovation work to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank widows_weeds
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your visit to the Harbour Hotel. It is through guest feedback that we assess the standard of our service, and therefore amend it, so as to meet and exceed guest expectations. I am saddened to hear that your visits to our property did not meet your desired expectations and from investigating the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel before and on previous occasions was very happy with my stays. Unfortunately that's not the case this time. On arrival we were shocked and dissappointed to see the hotel lobby, bar & restaurant was under renovation! The temporary solution of a function room being used as a bar/restaurant had zero ambiance so we dined...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly G
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apologies with the Bar and Restaurant renovation issues that you experienced during your stay and I'm really sorry that our temporary bar and restaurant didn't reach your expectations. As you know car parking is a premium in any city center and we feel we offer value for money, as you can stay in the car park for...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is under construction, a much needed update. Bar dining center is drab and dull, construction mess in lobby. Staff was marginal. Rooms are small. We had our parking ticket validated but we're still charged E16.00. I strongly suggest you stay away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sullivan0327
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Harbour Hotel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. To prove to you that we take every complaint seriously please contact me directly next time...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,703 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,874 reviews
0.6 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
837 reviews
2.3 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: RM494 - RM894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Skip this locatio”
Sullivan0327, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great view of city”
Z1169OQdavidn, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tribeton is a really cool classy bar/venue literally a 3 minute walk around the corner.Perfect for couple/girls night out/group nights out.”
Maccers2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Business-only, not pleasure”
J1642DClisaw, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be wary of the size room you book.”
gottagotobali, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5