We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbour Hotel Galway

Show Prices
#11 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbour Hotel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbour Hotel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,265: English reviews
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent service with very friendly staff. The restaurant and bar is very inviting with top quality food. Comfortable room with fast Wifi access. Minutes away from the city centre. Overall a great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DannyC881
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Danny C, Thank you so much, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you positive feedback, which we will share with all our teams. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Guest Relations Manager

San Diego
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived early but they checked us in so that all we would have to do is get the keys when the room was ready. We then spent an enjoyable 20 minutes in the hotel bar where we had a great conversation with the two bartenders...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalJF
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear CalJF, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we were delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. Usual check in is at 3pm, however where possible we strive to accommodate all our guest requests and are delighted you availed of our fantastic bar facilities to start your stay with us. We are...

Ballinasloe, Ireland
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night break. What a fab hotel! Lovely staff, very clean and relaxing place. Great location in Galway City but just out of the way of the noise. We had lunch and dinner here too and both were lovely. Bit more expensive then other hotels but I think worth it as I have stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pic0l0
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Pic0l0, It was lovely to read your positive review of our hotel, and we are delighted that you found the location, rate, dining, atmosphere, and staff to be to your liking. We are very lucky to be situated in a location so convenient to the city centre, yet far enough away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here for a week in July and was really pleased with the service I was given. All of the staff have a wonderful mix of warmth, welcome, and professionalism. The breakfast choice was wide and the food excellent, as were the evening meals. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable.All in all a very satisfactory stay. Many thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noldylster
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear noldylster, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are delighted that you were happy with your stay and the warm welcoming and professional service provided by our staff and will be communicating such positive comments back to the teams, especially our food and beverage team and breakfast staff. We look forward to welcoming...

NY, NY
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Honestly, I have stayed at nicer holiday inn expresses. We had booked a different hotel but it closed and we Had to rebook last minute, so based upon reviews and location, we stayed here. Pros: we had a large room. The staff was very nice and it is in walking distance to everything. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbone1120
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Jbone1120, I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for highlighting areas where we failed to meet your expectations. With regards to your bathroom, we strive to achieve excellent levels of cleanliness throughout the hotel at all times and on this occasion it seems we did not and feedback has been...

PARRSBORO
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We checked into the Harbour Hotel at the last minute because we were unhappy at our current hotel, but only for one night as we were afraid of a repeat experience. We were welcomed by Claire at reception who was very friendly and efficient. We were given one of the smaller rooms, with two skylights, but it was very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRMilligan
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear CRMilligan, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will pass them on to both Claire and Dan. We were thrilled to read that you would have liked to extend your stay with us, and it was unfortunate that this was not possible, however delighted to be able to accommodate you in our sister hotel. We hope you will return...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our check in was smooth, car parking is around the back and is affordable at €5 for 24 hours. The rooms were comfortable and the beds comfortable. It is 5 minute walk to city centre and nice eateries. Good variety of food for breakfast and friendly staff. Check out was quick and we were assisted with our bags to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EddiefromOz
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear EddiefromOz, It was really nice to read your comments. Dan our Front Office Manager will be really happy to hear about his team and the good work at the front desk. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards Galway Harbour

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Even though the check in was smooth, the overall impression was impersonal. The car Park was nice but the room was very small & Poky. Had to get the room changed at least for a better view, but that also was just about ok, though better than one overlooking some kind of workshop. The breakfast was good. Would not like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rawi P
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Rawi P, We were disappointed to read from your review, that you felt your stay lacked the personnel touch. We strive at all times to give care and attention to each guest and apologise if you felt this was lacking. We were also disheartened to hear that you felt the need to change rooms but trust that once relocated...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My fiance and I stayed here the night we got engaged. It was a pleasant stay and the staff were very accommodating, even with our last minute (day of) booking. The room was nice enough. I wouldn't say this hotel was spotlessly clean, but I didn't feel dirty there. It was nice to have the car park and a delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Jen S, It was lovely to read your positive review of our hotel, and we are delighted that you found the location, atmosphere and staff to be to your liking. We are very lucky to be situated in a location so convenient to the city centre and all it has to offer. Congratulations on your recent engagement and for...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were very happy that we were able to check-in shortly after noon, but the rest of the stay was just average. We felt the room was showing signs age, could have been cleaner, and housekeeping did not refill Kleenex or leave wash clothes on our last of 3 nights. The front street is very noisy. When I tried calling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StuckOnaTub

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,491 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,516 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,670 reviews
0.5 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#24 of 47 in Galway
781 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#21 of 47 in Galway
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: RM417 - RM839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be wary of the size room you book.”
 of 5 bubbles gottagotobali, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Come in the summer when you don't need heating !!”
 of 5 bubbles DevonGazza, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book through the hotel itself as its cheaper than booking sites.”
 of 5 bubbles noreenm60, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“DON'T accept a room at the front!!!”
 of 5 bubbles daveyboy04, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Car Parking, City Center, Complimentary Breakfast, Comfortable rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ShaneA688, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay