We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Connacht Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,237: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a double room for 4 nights for myself and my partner, the room was lovely and spacious had a double bed in and one single looks like a family room . Large big window lovely and clean throughout Has separate room with bath and shower . House keeping daily which is a lovely treat whilst on holiday. Nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok so this is an honest review from staying here one night.. on the good side pool was lovely really spacious and pretty bedroom clean and comfortable staff polite downside for me (i know it cant be changed!) And for some may not be an issue but the location and walk to the swimming pool from my room was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are always grateful for our Guests feedback. Yes, we are a very large hotel and there are some wings of the Hotel that are a longer distance to the Leisure Club than others. There are bedrooms and suites located right beside...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was fabulous. The food was lovely, the cake was presented beautifully and the staff were very friendly. We had a great time. Would highly recommend it for family celebration. Natasha and Rebecca made the booking process very simple.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maidie11
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It was our great honour to look after you and your extended family for the celebration of Jamie's christening and we thank you for choosing to dine with us. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room really clean, staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Gym and facilities were also ideal for my stay. reception and outside the Hotel were really tidy and well presented. I would really recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakers2017
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and write your review. Thank you for your very positive feedback and for your recommendation of the Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future. Kindest regards, Louise Pettit Guest Relations...

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with family for 1 night on sat 4th Feb, 5 adults 2 kids Check in was great, the rooms were grand, pillows very hard but was happy with the room. We all went to the pool had a fun few hours and went back got changed and went to the bar/restaurant at 4pm The bar was full...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Suzi_Fa
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Fahy, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. I had spoken with your sister, regarding your family's feedback on Saturday evening. Again, I apologise as I did to your sister regarding the issues your encountered with your dining experience and that you were not accommodated with lobby service. I fully understand that these...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my family on 04/02/17. The photos on their FB page gave the impression of being a family friendly and elegant hotel. This is definitely not the case. It was disappointing. We struggled to find a seat to eat at 4pm in the bar, or restaurant, i don't know which, it all looks the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michelle F
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Fahy, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and writing your review on Tripadvisor and Facebook. I have already spoken with you in person and offered you my sincerest apologies and compensation for the unfortunate breakdowns in our service on Saturday. I very much regret that we were unable to meet your family's needs during...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel last weekend. We had originally booked the hotel for one night and decided to stay an extra night- which was no problem. Greeted by a lovely lady at reception on Friday morning, so polite and very friendly. We had asked for a room with a large window and extra light which is exactly what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellec1997
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danielle, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It was great to read that you were happy with so many aspects of your stay. We are always grateful to our Guests for their feedback as it helps us to monitor how we are performing at meeting their needs. I am sorry about the confusion when you went to book...

Westmeath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travelled to the Connaught Hotel last weekend with my better half and another couple for 2 nights. Checking in was very smooth and lovely friendly staff. We were told we were in the D Wing and proceeded to head to our room....phew. We went down through the conservatory, down a corridor, up 2 flights of stairs, through the leisure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sineadf123
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sinead, Thank you for sharing your experience and writing your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your very positive comments, despite the problem with your shower, which we apologise for. I very glad to hear the problem was fixed immediately for you and that you were happy with the gesture for breakfast. All our bedrooms are located in wings off...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in to this hotel for a 5 day stay, using Galway as our base to tour the Northwest corner. Every thing one could possibly want in a hotel is at the Connacht. King sized beds, a work-out facility, lovely bar and restaurant all conveniently located. What makes this hotel, however, is the staff. Every single staff member was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GLFCHK228
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hotel posted on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read the you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. It is particularly nice to read that you found all the team here so friendly and helpful. We are very proud of each member of our team for their dedication...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour, this was a luxury hotel compared to some of the other places we stayed. Hotel was huge, so you could easily get lost, if you forget what wing you're in! Breakfast was good lot's of options and the pizza we had for dinner from the restaurant was awesome. They have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gEmZo1
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive experience and writing your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I have given your feedback to the relevant Heads of Department to address the issues you had raised in your review. We would have being more that happy to...

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
1,766 reviews
1.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,593 reviews
1.8 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
1,356 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: RM307 - RM747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Long walk to get to the D Wing so request room close to reception”
 of 5 bubbles Sineadf123, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tell reception what you require”
 of 5 bubbles snapcam, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be nice and friendly to the reseptionist”
  • ironing board which can not fold out due to bedside cupboard !!
 of 5 bubbles 645richard, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was in the front, it was quiet enough for me!”
 of 5 bubbles Barry_Carr_Schneider, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 15min walk to the town, excellent value, great for families”
 of 5 bubbles athlone799, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5