We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Show Prices
#12 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,407: English reviews
Mullingar
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just visited for afternoon tea and it was a most enjoyable experience. We were greeted before we even got out of the car by a very friendly young porter who advised us on parking. The hotel is very different and very luxurious. There are three drawing rooms all decorated in different styles and are from the quiet and sedate to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for joining us in the g for afternoon tea. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your experience and that you found the hotel to be luxurious and unique. Our Signature Lounges are all different and each one has its own personality. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to...

dublin ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay here with family. Check in was fast and efficient. We had a beautiful room, large, spotless & with all the 5* extras you'd expect. The bathroom is fab, double shower, stunning freestanding bath etc. We had lunch & dinner in the hotel, both were great. My only gripe was our dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcallagh
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us here in the g. It was lovely to read that check in was fast and efficient and that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as the five star extras they boast. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings. We have shared your feedback regarding the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed a night here on business. Very swish and modern. Professional and friendly staff. I liked the bedroom, nice bed and furniture, though tv and dvd was a bit quaint, and no interactive. But... For 5 star, even a basic room, I'd like a separate shower, I'd like a better view than the back of Woodys. You are paying for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ankles1972
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the g whilst on business in Galway. We were pleased to read that you found our team to be professional and friendly. Our entry level bedrooms, the Superior category, do not have views of Lough Atalia and bathrooms have a combined bath and shower. The next category the Deluxe rooms have...

Limerick
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. As regular visitors to Galway and having stayed in many hotels , we always wanted to stay in The G and and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming and the service was fantastic. The front of house manager even left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NadieCJ
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g to celebrate your partners birthday. It was lovely to read that you have stayed with us in the past and that you enjoyed the level of service our team provide. It was so rewarding for us to read that you found the hotel to be good value...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the G valentines night and were very disappointed, we paid €260 for 1 night b&b and then found out it would be extra to use the 'thermal suite' i.e. the pluge pool and sauna!! I wrote them an email about this and didn't even get a reply nor did they acknowledge the email when we arrived. When...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi768
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the g over the Valentine’s weekend. To address your points there is a charge of €10 per person to visit the thermal suite. This is clearly stated on our website and is advised by the ESPA team. We keep numbers to a minimum in this facility for our guests benefit and unless usage...

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day stain in The g Hotel which prides itself on being the only 5 star hotel in Galway. whilst the stay was enjoyable the hotel fell short on a number of areas which would lead me to rate no more than an average 4 star. Starting with the areas which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MGHughes
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a comprehensive review regarding your recent stay at the g. We were delighted to read that there were many positive aspects of your stay. However, it was of course upsetting to read that you were disappointed with certain elements of your visit. We would like to address some of your points. In relation...

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1bb1d. Enjoyable. And food was scrumptious. However I could not believe it was a five star! The interior is beautifully decorated. Very different. The bed room was fine. Nothing to write home about. We paid the tenner for the thermal suite and was super. After our lovely meal we went to sit in one of the open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMargaretH
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings during your recent visit to the g. It was also lovely to read that you enjoyed the decor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel as well as our thermal suite in ESPA at the g. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you did not find the...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the G. We were really looking forward to our trip having heard such great things from friends who had previously stayed there. Having stayed at numerous hotels of varying standards we regard ourselves as being fairly open minded and not the type of people who are over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa M
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at the g. It was lovely to read that you were impressed with our Front of House team and that you enjoyed our arrival amenity. Please accept our apologies for the delay that you experienced in one of our Lounge areas. We have already shared your...

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Went to the g for one night on valentines weekend. Had been looking forward to going for 2+ years after hearing so much about it. Upon entering the hotel, I was immediately struck by it's shabbiness - it is very, very "used". Scuff marks adorn the carpets and walls. The lifts are covered in smudges. It looked like it would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsNessa
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us over the Valentine’s weekend. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not impressed with the maintenance of the hotel. We do have a rolling maintenance programme in place and our Accommodation team clean and inspect the lobby and entrance areas of the hotel throughout the day. It was however lovely...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Aside from the location of this property (which is somewhat industrial and outside of the city centre) this is a truly extraordinary property. Once inside, it has all the trappings of a five star property, and then added tweaks that make it so much more. Perhaps if Lewis Carroll had eaten afternoon tea at the g hotel, "Alice's Adventures in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobsTrip M
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely review. We were delighted to read that you found the g to be a truly extraordinary property. We really do appreciate your wonderful review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon. Kind Regards, The g Hotel Management Team

973 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (662)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (298)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,516 reviews
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
8.7 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,669 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,494 reviews
4.8 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: RM684 - RM1,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front on 2nd floor and up for views over Galway bay”
  • Well fitted bathroom
  • In room seating area
  • Good size room on 1st floor
 of 5 bubbles mikebO4938WK, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking Galway Bay have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles linmartin, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the food in particular was very good for the price , we didnt stay in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dylanman58, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel away from road”
 of 5 bubbles fivestarsz, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It costs an extra 100 euro to have a bay view... seriously?”
 of 5 bubbles mbd_mj, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay