We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Western Hotel

Overview
33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway H91 Y3FA Ireland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star accommodation
About
Description
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel More hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Family
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Family
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
40
Price range
US$64 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 nearby hotels
Forster Court Hotel
501 reviews
.19 km away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
281 reviews
.21 km away
Park House Hotel
3,129 reviews
.22 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
803 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 542 nearby restaurants
Esquires Coffee (Galway)
287 reviews
.23 km away
Jungle Cafe Galway
240 reviews
.17 km away
The Charcoal Grill
306 reviews
.13 km away
Murty Rabbits
190 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 353 nearby attractions
Eyre Square
1,265 reviews
.25 km away
The Medieval City Walls
169 reviews
.25 km away
Shannon Dry Cleaners and Launderers
8 reviews
.02 km away
Galway Discover Ireland Centre
8 reviews
.24 km away
Reviews & more
1,033Reviews
531Photos
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 402
  • 143
  • 71
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Arrived late November with aims of taking in the city, culture, and Christmas market. Staff were very friendly (upon checking in, in the restaurant, at the pub) and the place was warm and welcoming.

We had a room with double (queen?) bed and a single, and it was very cozy and c
Read more
My short one night stay at The Western was very nice. It’s only a short walk from both the bus station and Eyre Square. The room was a decent size and very comfortable. I didn’t try the restaurant but sat in the pub for a pint or two and found it very welcoming.
Read more
Response from Thewestern1, Manager at The Western Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Beebajones, Thank you for your lovely review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope you will get a chance to dine with us with your next stay. We have a great offer on to our in-house guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best Regards, Marta Normantowicz Assistant Manager
Read more
Didn't get a wink of sleep with the parties on our corridor screaming and roaring throughout the night. If you're a stag or a hen, it's the place for you, but for a couple looking for a night away, avoid!

I mentioned it on check out but just got a shrugged shoulder apology from
Read more
Response from Thewestern1, Manager at The Western Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Cian B, Thank you for reviewing us after your recent stay. I wish to express my disappointment to hear you did not have a good night sleep. We are not only accommodating for hen and stag parties over weekends, but families and couples are more than welcome to our Hotel. We always do our best to keep groups together, away from individual guests to make sure everyone will get a nice rest. I am sorry to hear it did not happened at this occasion. I can only assure you it was a single accident and it haven't happened in the past. Our Night Manager is on duty all night, and he is here to assist with any disruptions at night, once he is made aware of it. I hope you had a safe journey home and would love to see you once you decide to come back to Galway. I can assure you will be well looked after with your next stay and please contact me directly at the time of the booking. Best Regards, Marta Normantowicz Assistant Manager
Read more
It was a very nice hotel. Clean. Close to the town center. Parking garage under building. The garage gets full quickly but they are very accommodating with getting you out when it is necessary. We didn't dine at the hotel but we did finish up every night at the bar
Read more
Response from Thewestern1, Manager at The Western Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jenn M, Thank you for staying with us, here at the Western Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our bar tempting during your stay;) We hope you will have an opportunity to dine in our restaurant once you will decide to return to Galway. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Western Hotel very soon. Best Regards, Marta Normantowicz Duty Manager.
Read more
The Western was great! The location was so convenient for seeing the city and enjoying all the shops and restaurants that were close by. The staff was friendly and so helpful! The onsite parking was also such a benefit with parking at a premium in Galway City.
Read more
Response from Thewestern1, Manager at The Western Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Christma, Thank you for choosing the Western Hotel for your recent stay in Galway. We are so lucky to be located just 1 min walk from the Eyre Square. We are always glad to hear our guests appreciate parking, which is free of charge, right in the City. Thank you for your lovely comment about our staff! We hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Marta Normantowicz Assistant Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Western Hotel
The Quad Room at The Western Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Western Hotel
The Deluxe Double Room at The Western Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Western Hotel
The Standard Double Room at The Western Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Western Hotel
The Family Room at The Western Hotel
Photo provided by managementThe Western Hotel
Previous
Can anyone please tell me how far of a walk to Quay St. and the Latin Quarter? Is it safe to walk around in this area at night? We are trying to decide staying here and Jury's. Thanks!
5 minutes walk And I would say very safe.
1 vote
Show all answers
We are a party of four looking for two non-smoking rooms with king- size beds. Can you accommodate?
Contact the hotel directly . They will be able to answer .
0 votes
What is the parking situation at the hotel ?
it fine if you can get a space.
1 vote
Show all answers
I have recently found out that this hotel does not have in room safes. Has anyone had any problems when leaving valuables in their room while staying at this hotel? Thank you in advance.
We never had a problem and found the hotel safe and secure. They have a safe at reception if you were to use it.
1 vote
Show all answers
We will be traveling with my elderly parents who have limited mobility. Does anyone know if this hotel has an elevator or ground floor rooms?
Hotel has an elevator but there are some steps to get to the room (we stayed on the 2nd floor and there were various small landings in the floor, there was also steps within our room to get to the double bed) so I would request a room close to the elevator in check in. Not sure if there are rooms on the ground floor.
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"Have a drink in the bar."
"Book it only if you have no other options."
"avoid first floor if you don't want noise or smoke coming into an open window"
"Don't use a credit card."
"We got a first floor room, facing the back of the hotel. I found it private and quiet."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing