We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Meyrick

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Meyrick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meyrick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here last week as the first stop on our short tour of Ireland. The Hotel wasn't very busy ( the weather was dreadful all week) and we were delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite which was huge. The bathroom alone was bigger than some of the hotel rooms we subsequently stayed in ! What a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NickandJudi
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear NickandJudi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Meyrick. It's fantastic to hear that you both had an enjoyable time at the hotel. The weather has been quite bad lately, we hope that it didn't dampen your spirits too much. It's great to read that you enjoyed our Junior suite and what it has...

Reviewed 9 March 2017

I booked my mother and father in for two days as a treat. When they arrived the front desk staff barely looked up to great them. They where giving a standard room that was extremely small, they have to stand side ways to shut the bathroom door. The room was freezing cold which they had to complain three times about....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Gemma W, Thank you for your review. It's disappointing to learn that your parents were unsatisfied with their recent midweek break. It is not the experience that we had wished for our guests. It is of vital importance to us, that each and every guest is extended a warm welcome. We wish to offer our apologies if they were...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Traditional old style hotel in the hart of Galway. Right on the square within easy walking distance to most restaurants and shopping. Great to have valet parking especially arriving in poring rain. Good size rooms and bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johann J
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Johann J, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that it was a satisfactory stay. It's a pity about the poor weather conditions, a typical March day in Galway, I'm afraid. Hopefully we'll see you again, when the weather improves. Kind regards, Hotel Meyrick Management Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My husband and I stayed Friday and Saturday night in Hotel Meyrick. I must say from the moment we walked into this beautiful hotel we felt welcome. The Porter welcomed us and all staff were so friendly. It has still retained its old world feel while their bars and restaurants have been updated it is nice to mix the old...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa D
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Teresa D, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meyrick. Your review was a pleasure to read. We are thrilled to hear that both of you had such a pleasant stay. We wish to thank you for sharing what you enjoyed most about the hotel. We hope to see you again for an even more enjoyable stay. Kind...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Spent one night at Hotel Meyrick. Super impressed with the decor and service throughout! Valet service parks your car for you in nearby car park for just €5 per night (& no rush to collect after checkout). Room facilities were excellent with the comfiest of large beds. Plenty of toiletries provided & each guest given luxury towelling robe & closed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie B
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Jackie B, Thank you for a great review. We appreciate your time and kind comments. Your feedback will be passed amongst the relevant departments. They'll be happy to hear your level of satisfaction with the facilities and the service provided from the staff themselves. The Hotel Meyrick looks forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

First visit and was really impressed. Some 'grand, old' hotels tend to fall into disrepair but not this one. Very well maintained, terrific bedroom overlooking Eyre Square, Very friendly staff, excellent food & very handy valet parking. Dead centre of town, so very handy for shops

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X11SWT
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear X11SWT, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's great to see that you enjoyed the hotel and admired it's grandeur. Our staff will be delighted hear your kind words on their friendliness. We are hopeful that we can welcome you back to the Hotel Meyrick again soon. Kind regards, Hotel Meyrick Management Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms were very nice (we had 3), mine was particularly nice. The service in the hotel is extremely poor. We ate in the bar 2 days and the service was terrible We were given the wrong food (expensive and mediocre), the wrong change, staff didn't know prices, food took over 40 minutes one day...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank foydee
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear foydee, Thank you for your review. We wish to apologise for the shortcomings in relation to the service you received at the hotel. We were disappointed to learn of your experience, it is not near the level of service that we expect for our guests. The issues have been highlighted to the relevant departmental management to ensure that service...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights last weekend and enjoyed our stay for the most part but it really wasn't worth the money. This hotel has such a good reputation since it's days as The Great Southern but I don't think it lives up to that now. The twin rooms were quite small & stifling hot (4th floor)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Caroline F, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It with mixed feelings that we read your review, we are happy to learn the positives but disappointed to learn there were some negative aspects also. With regards to your comments on your accommodations, we are sorry to hear that it was so hot in...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay location is fantastic for shopping etc, food was amazing in the bar both for lunch and dinner our executive suite room was stunning as was the view of eyre square, I dropped a star due to reception lack of information when checking in and then charging us wrong room rate, but other than that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cera F
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Cera F, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It's great to see that you had an enjoyable anniversary break here. We wish to pass our apologies to you for the lack of information that was extended to you both at your check in and that the rate was incorrect. We were hoping that'd...

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed at the Meyrick for a few nights in Dec-2016. We had booked one of the suites and were pleased with how spacious they were. Although a little dated, especially the striking marble colour in the bathroom, the room had everything that we needed and was well equipped. The location of this hotel is also ideal, walking distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vessi D
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear Vessi D, Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback regarding your stay. It is disappointing to learn that your experience is of a negative nature. Firstly we wish to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings. We strive to provide a high level of service in all areas to our guests. We have...

445 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (392)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,648 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
837 reviews
1.4 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: RM667 - RM1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Meyrick staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Corrales, New Mexico
West Babylon, New York, United States
West Babylon, New York, United States

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Meyrick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of hotel very quiet.”
426RobertG, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The junior suite on the fifth floor overlooked the park and was very quiet”
  • A television in the sleeping area and sitting room.
  • Very spacious and beautiful
  • Full bath plus shower
annamH9260VY, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ckeck that you have a walk in shower”
RWB20152015, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you drove and used valet parking, ring down before you come downstairs to order your car in advance.”
sophiastar, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“5th floor has the most convenient access to the spa upstairs. We had a view of the square from there.”
  • Sunset view from Canadian Hot Tub
erincolleen90, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5