We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Killarney International Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Killarney International Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Killarney International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Voelklingen, Germany
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The Hostel is very cheap in price and serves a good accommodation with plenty of possibilities concerning sightseeing tours. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and offers enough space to prepare and store food. There is a tv room, where you can sit in front of a fire and relax. People are very friendly and polite.There is free WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eke82
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Eke, Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review. It sounds like you really got to experience the area!

Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I stayed in this hostel in July 2015. It was my first time staying in a hostel so I was very apprehensive about it. I was sharing a two bunk bedroom with two people I knew so it probably meant that our room was a little quieter than others who have reviewed this place as being noisy. Unfortunately there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanM
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Firstly let me apologise for taking so long to respond to your review. Secondly I am very sorry that your first hostel experience was a negative one. It is not always like that. We get a lot of young people in our hostels because our ethos is to encourage them to experience the outdoors. Our hostel in Killarney...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Basically ok. We had 4 people in a room - very tiny room, but others looked bigger. Small bunks, just ok in terms of comfort. Look around for a reasonable shower as my first one was a mere cool trickle and my husband's had only one choice of temp - extremely hot. On our 2nd morning I searched around and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memee08
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Memee08, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your showers were not working correctly but glad that you managed to find some that were suitable. As you discovered, we are a popular hostel with youth groups during the high season and it is bit more peaceful at other times. We hope that you enjoyed the...

Redmond, Washington
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Typical hostel. Room, bathroom, and kitchen were clean. Push button showers with only one temperature (decently hot). Bed was hard and pillow was thin. A little outside of town so we had to drive to everything. Nice large sitting rooms and dinning hall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kim. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hostel and will pass on your comments about the mattress to the hostel manager.

Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

The food from the cafe was great for meals. My room was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms on my floor were clean but you didn't have much privacy, as the showers had curtains and were divided with frosted glass. Otherwise i had a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot H
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Killarney International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Margot. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cafe food and hope that you will return to stay again

Troy, New York
Reviewed 26 June 2015

This place looks great from the outside. It's filthy on the inside - the smell of must and there is mold everywhere! The only thing that is clean are the sheets and they hand them to you to make your own bed. Most hostels include breakfast and here you have to pay. I wouldn't eat here if you paid me....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary 1 P
County Clare, Ireland
Reviewed 24 June 2015

I didn't enjoy my stay in this hostel at all couldn't wait to come home the beds were dirty and stained and really uncomfortable you have no privacy in the showers at all and I got tea and th rend of it tasted funny so I poured it out into the sink and there was lumps of milk in it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Molly M
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The hostel looks great from the outside. However when we got inside there was a strong musty smell in the room - when we got to look at it in the daylight it turned out the curtains were covered in green mold. The mold had obviously been there for some time and the hostel was booked out, so it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tiffany M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Not the cheapest by any means.. And situated out of the town centre. The place looks amazing on entry set amongst lush gardens down a winding driveway. The guy on reception seemed helpful enough. The reason I have rated the hostel poor is mainly due to the beds & the non existent WiFi. The beds were extremely uncomfortable (felt every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellersLens
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Single 61 year old American male. Stayed there 7 days. Nice place with nice/friendly people. 5/10 minute walk to the park. 15 minutes to town. Bus stop 2 minutes. Good showers, good beds. Thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mason p

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 km away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
898 reviews
0.8 km away
Loch Lein Country House
1.5 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#6 of 47 in Killarney
313 reviews
5.3 km away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#42 of 47 in Killarney
207 reviews
38.0 km away
Dromid Hostel
Dromid Hostel
#25 of 47 in Killarney
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ring of Kerry Youth Hostel is an impressive 17th Century mansion, set in 75 acres of lawns and forests, overlooking the Lakes of Killarney and the Macguillycuddy's Reeks. If you want good food, a good night's sleep, washing and drying facilities and a great atmosphere, then Killarney International Youth Hostel is the place to be. The Hostel was renovated in two phases, early 1999 and early 2000 to include smaller rooms and family rooms, a very large self catering and catering area and very comfortable common areas. This hostel is the centre for exploring the impressive scenery that is the Ring of Kerry. The 'Ring of Kerry Tour', the 'Dingle Tour' and the 'Gap of Dunloe Tour' depart daily from the Youth Hostel and show the visitor some of the most impressive scenery in the world ... more   less 

Additional Information about Killarney International Youth Hostel

Address: Aghadoe House Ring of Kerry Road | Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: RM106 - RM541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney International Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Killarney International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Killarney International Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Killarney International Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor over the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles BravoGolfHotel, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“wifi is aveilable in the common rooms only”
 of 5 bubbles ZAZA6254, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have a nice view on the left side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles eoinkelly90, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“lower bunk bed because the upper bunk beds don't have frames”
 of 5 bubbles 80katiel, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles tiffanym246, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5