We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,123: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Ballygarry has recently opened a Brasserie on the outside of the Hotel, which is on the road to Kerry airport and near to intersections which allow one to access Killarney, Dingle and places of interest in all directions.They don't take bookings and were very full when we visited, but they found us a table and made us very welcome. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny G
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Penny, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our new addition of The Brasserie. I have passed on your excellent feedback to all of the team here. I do hope you will revisit us again very soon. Elaine Front Office Manager

Rochester
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We had dinner here. It was the best meal we had while in Ireland! The service was very good. On the next visit to Ireland, we plan on staying for a couple of nights. The grounds are beautiful. I would highly recommend staying here. The area is just beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa W
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for your review, and for such a fantastic heading! We are so very proud of your feedback and thank you again for your glowing review. I look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Ireland, Elaine Front Office Manager

tralee
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Attended a wedding last weekend and everything was outstanding! Not a fault to be found. Amazing drinks reception. Friendliest staff I've ever met. (Austin was great) Food was first class, plentiful and cooked to perfection. The dainty basket with 'essentials' in the ladies was a delight. 100% satisfaction.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spiceytralee
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience of attending a wedding with us here at Ballygarry House. Our team are so very proud of their attention to detail and their friendliness and I am delighted to see this being recognised. I have also passed this on to Austin who has been a member of our team for a...

Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Back again on business, the standard room is spacious and clean as well as really nicely decorated, the bar has been extended to a brasserie which makes a huge difference. The food is really excellent. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough! I'll intend to return with my family sooner rather than later!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your loyal custom and for sharing your experience. I am delighted that you visited the Brasserie and enjoyed the experience and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again very soon. Best wishes, Elaine Front Office Manager

Cratloe, Ireland
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The new Brasserie at Ballygarry house hotel is just beautiful! I recently took one of our small American tour groups to this establishment & from the very moment we walked through the door we received great service & beautiful food! We were promptly seated in a lovely private corner & our order taken within a few minutes! Lukas our waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VIpChauffeur
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear VIPChauffeur, Thank you for bringing your group to dine with us at The Brasserie. I have passed on your feedback to Donal, Lukas and the team and I am delighted to read of your enjoyment. I do hope you will return with more guests to dine with us here over the Summer, Warmest wishes, Elaine Front Office Manager

Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting and lovely new extension very tastefully decorated. The service was excellent but our food was very disappointing. Myself and my husband both had the roasted vegetable and mozzarella wrap which contained boiled peppers and courgettes in huge slimey chunks and I should have sent out a search party for the mozzarella as it was hardly there. The coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucyelmo
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, Thank you for visiting The Brasserie and for your feedback. I am very dissapointed to read your review and that you did not enjoy your choice on the day. I do hope you will return to dine with us and perhaps try another dish. Kind wishes, Elaine Front Office Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed in a Junior Suite, simply because it was really good value for money. It was beautiful. A big, spacious room with every convenience. I ordered room service, and that too was delivered promptly and the food was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. No real criticism, maybe because the room is so long, the television could be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Twayty
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to review your visit to us here at Ballygary House. Thank you for your excellent feedback on both your room and our team. If you are returning to stay we do have kettles in our Junior suites so you can enjoy your cup of tea- they may be a little hard to...

Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed in Ballygarry last Friday for a wedding. We had never been to a wedding there before and had heard wonderful things about it. It certainly deserves every praise it gets as a wedding venue. It is stunningly laid out with the extension part where we had the drinks reception absolutely gorgeous with lots of couches, tables and its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLORiordan
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read of your overall positive experience and I absolutely agree that The Pavilion is a stunning venue for a wedding drinks reception- we cannot take credit for the sweets though as they were supplied by the bride and groom, but such...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Stayed here for a wedding in May 2016. The hotel was really easy to find contrary to the directions we received from an online route planner. When we arrived the staff at reception were extremely friendly and directed us to our room. The room itself was very large by hotel standards and overlooked a nice looking leafy courtyard. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannigan007
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read your lovely review of your visit, and you have made the team here at front office very happy with your mention! A wedding here is indeed a very special occasion here at Ballygarry House, and your mentions about the meal have been passed on to our head chef John O'Sullivan and his team....

Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Recently I got the pleasure of visiting Ballygarry House not once but twice. I was there for two very different reasons, one being a funeral and one being an 18 dinner. Both times very different events so there was two very different methods used by the staff. Both times I felt very much welcome. We where booked into the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diarmaidbarryireland
ElaineGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Diarmaid, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Ballygarry House. Our team are so pleased to receive feedback like this, and that their efforts to make everyone feel welcome are appreciated. I am glad David enjoyed his 18th- it is such a special time. I very much look forward to welcoming you...

677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (502)
Viewed
Amenities (78)
Viewed
Classic Room (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (51)
Viewed
Master Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (64)
Viewed
Superior Family (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
3.3 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
398 reviews
1.1 km away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
616 reviews
2.8 km away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
1,045 reviews
7.5 km away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
745 reviews
26.2 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Price Range: RM482 - RM772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have stayed in several rooms and all are fantastic - it is nice to have a good view of the gardens ”
 of 5 bubbles 669inab, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 309 is in a quiet area, next to the Spa. Very comfortable. We had some challenges adjusting the room temperature downwards and the thermostat control seem to need a little maintenance. But that is a very minor issue.”
 of 5 bubbles BrendanKerry, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All excellent ”
 of 5 bubbles Joang419, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room was lovely, no faults ”
 of 5 bubbles Darriraballagh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room which is west facing as the views are stunning over the Kerry mountains”
 of 5 bubbles TBe62, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay