We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the 4 dorm last weekend and it was very clean and comfortable. This is quite an old building and is dated, but it has everything you need and is comfortable and relatively quiet. The heating was often on and the beds very very comfy. The staff (mainly Fergus) were really helpful and friendly. Will definetly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hostel service, clean rooms, great location. They had a great kitchen with complimentary coffee, tea, sugar, and milk. The common room was cozy and had a tiny pool table! They offer tour trips around kilkenny and organize it for you for free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The dorms was clean, you have bread and céréales and coffee or the for the breakfast. Everything is close so you can walk to go everywhere. The wifi is good and you have the kitchen if you want to cook something.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anabelle008
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pro: - location (everything you need to see is a maximum of 15 minutes walk, 10 minutes walk from the train/bus station) - very friendly people (they gave me a map with all the sights, told me when the entrance is free etc.) - price (17€ per night) - I had a room with 8 beds for myself - clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erdnuss97
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed in this hostel for one night. We have stayed in many hostels and I can honestly say this was the worst yet, for a number of reasons. Number one, our bedroom was absolutely freezing. Number two, the lighting was so bad in our bedrooms that we had to use the lights on our iPhones to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conor O
macgabhainn, Owner at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us here at our backpackers in Kilkenny. Please tell the facts here, you were very happy leaving at 12noon and then realised you had a ticket on your car, came back and asked us to pay your fine. We agreed you were told free parking till 9am. To ease the pain of a €40 fine we...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

I was in Ireland for a conference and gave myself plenty of time to explore the country. My first stop out of Dublin landed me here in Kilkenny. This is a classic hostel with all the amenities I needed. Breakfast, wifi, and cleanliness - ✔ It was a small and intimate enviroment and from my arrival Fargus (sp?) greeted me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
London, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I really wish they took the time to inform backpackers that the main road to the hostel was closed and offered an alternative route to the hostel on their website or on HostelWorld. It created a large problem when attempting to drive to the hostel, locate it, and find parking. The building was dated with minimal lighting, the overhead light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdresses
macgabhainn, Owner at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, you must be mixing us up with some other hostel on your travels because all the roads leading to our backpackers hostel are open. Happy travels MacGabhainns crew Kilkenny

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Loved this hostel. It was a lot smaller than I expected but it was nice and quiet. It's a little bit farther away from the main part of the twin than I expected but that was fine by me. The staff was wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very clean place, very cheap. Not suitable if you are looking for social interactions and the leaving-room area, which is the only place where I could read closed at midnight. Central location and nearby parking was cheap. Nice kitchen with dishwasher, coffee and some food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balaftuna
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Probably not the best place to stay if you're looking for a party hostel but it's fine to lay your head for the night. We arrived new years so spent very little time in the rooms anyway but if you are looking for somewhere where you can predrink this is not the place for you. This was fine with us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denisef_dublin

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.7 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
0.6 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
0.7 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: RM132 - RM320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 4-bed room I stayed in had a fire exit (very convenient so you could let some air in) and a great view on the cathedral.”
ale5875, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I recommend rooms with private bathrooms as the price difference is quite small”
Quehacesfede, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Pick any of them :)”
louised212, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms near the bathrooms can be noisy, as people would be going in and out of them throughout the day and late at night.”
rosy898, 23 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Avoid the room overlooking the front door, unless you want the black lung.”
JohnK810, 10 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5