We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for the August Bank Holiday weekend with 10 other girls. We all collectively agreed within a few moments of arriving that we wouldn't stay here again. We were greeted by the owner with a quick hello and then a request to pay the remaining balance together instead of individually. Not very accommodating I thought but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobbles25
macgabhainn, Manager at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers hostel. You are quite right we are not a party hostel, we are just a small backpackers hostel and we love sleep??. All our windows have child latches(as per regulations) but you can open wide if you so wish. Sorry to see your group were so unhappy here. Happy travel MacGabhainns...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel we were well looked after by the manager he explained all the best places in Kilkenny for eating and drinking our room was great the food supplied for breakfast was great the manager went out his way to make sure our motorcycles were parked safely in the back yard of the hostel good man

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert F
Toelloese, Denmark
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Good location, helpfull staff and nice clean rooms. Everything you could ask for in a hostel. The breakfast was light, but it kept you going for a little while. It was close to the town and it was easy ro get around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathalia S
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

As soon as you arrive you are treated warmly by staff (Fergus). The check in is swift and easy, the rooms, common areas of clean, the beds are comfy and spacious for bunks. Kitchen has everything you need to cook. Common area basic nothing fancy but great for chilling. Location is great easy walk to everywhere and close from from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sairafregoso
Ireland
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Stayed here on a Saturday night recently and it wasn't great. The staff were fine and location good, I didn't arrive with high expectations considering it is a hostel. I had two main issues, first issue I had was that 9pm was the latest you could check in, very inconvenient, even an extra hour would have helped a lot. Secondly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A1K3
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Nice rooms all with codes at the doors. Close to the center with a kitchen and a place outside. I spend 2 great nights! The staff is friendly and the hostel is quiet. Good if you need some sleep after a big trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gohugohu
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

The hostel was clean and neat. The staff was very friendly and helped with everything around. The hostel is centrally located and had street parking available for our car. We booked in a dorm room which was still good and not noisy or anything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mystery_Play
Reviewed 7 May 2016

MacGabhainns, managed by Fergus, the friendliest lad in Ireland was an awesome experience. The room was tidy, the bathroom was clean (we booked a room with a private bathroom), the mattresses were comfortable and the location was unbeatable.We booked for two nights but decided to stay one night more, in great part because of MacGabhainns great atmosphere. Pros: great atmosphere,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quehacesfede
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Went for one night with a friend, staff greeting were very friendly and helpful - gave us a map and advice on what to do, basic rooms with bunk beds and shared bathrooms, free wifi throughout, breakfast included but basic with few cereals and toast, nice little living area, only a 5 minute walk from the main attractions e.g. castle,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamsin E
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during the first week of March for 2 nights , I stayed in a 4 bunk mixed room. The first night I had 2 other people in the room and the second night I had the room to myself which was a nice surprise . The hostel is very clean , and secure as it doesn't use keys...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quinn O

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,615 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
673 reviews
0.6 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,555 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,720 reviews
2.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: RM142 - RM275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 4-bed room I stayed in had a fire exit (very convenient so you could let some air in) and a great view on the cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles ale5875, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I recommend rooms with private bathrooms as the price difference is quite small”
 of 5 bubbles Quehacesfede, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Pick any of them :)”
 of 5 bubbles louised212, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms near the bathrooms can be noisy, as people would be going in and out of them throughout the day and late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles rosy898, 23 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Avoid the room overlooking the front door, unless you want the black lung.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnK810, 10 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay