We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,519: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Myself and my boyfriend took time out to visit Kilkenny the October Bank Holiday Monday (27th October 2014). We stayed in the The Kilkenny Ormonde and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and very friendly and the place was spotless. Our room was warm and inviting on a cold autumn (rainy) day and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura C, Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Kilkenny and thank you for the recommendation to family and friends. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Stayed recently with family. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff who maintained their 4 * quality service throughout our stay. Parking was in the car park across from the hotel at €5 per day. As the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the High Street, it couldn't be more central to restaurants, shops and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheIrishRoverDublin
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheIrishRoverDublin, Thank you for your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Whilst I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay, I do note your comment about Savour Restaurant and I apologise if it took from you stay in any way. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel so that we...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We stayed 30th / 31st October 2014 and we had the most enjoyable experience the staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff and resturant waiters were more than helpful and welcoming we will no doubt return our thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 277martin
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 277martin, Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation of our Hotel. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kilkenny and the Ormonde and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Reviewed 28 October 2014

Stayed here Saturday & Sunday night of the Bank Holiday. This was our 1st anniversary and I had dropped an email at the time of booking. The staff are excellent and were exceptionally attentive from the minute I booked. They emailed me back promptly and advised if available they would try and upgrade us to a suite or a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine S, Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Kilkenny and that we were able to play a small part in your anniversary celebration. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We spent two nights here for a midweek getaway. A very comfortable hotel, food was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. This is a city based hotel so dont expect scintillating views , car parking is in the public multi-story car park opposite the hotel at a rate of €5 per 24 hrs.A very convenient location for exploring Kilkenny city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for your recommendation and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kilkenny. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Went here for one night with my boyfriend and our 21 month old baby. The staff were very helpful, couldn't do enough for us and were the friendliest staff I have come across in a long time. The location is perfect couldn't get better, really is a 2 minute walk from the castle. The breakfast was really good, they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudithC90
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JudithC90, Thank you for the very kind review and recommendation. I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the pancakes. I hope to welcome you back to the Ormonde Hotel again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Stayed for three nights. The location is great. The room could use updating. I did not find the associates to be as hospitable as other areas we visited during our trip. It may be that they were taxed, just too few to cover the needs of so many. There was a couple of large tourist buses at the hotel during...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dee B
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dee B, I acknowledge your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I note the comments you have made and thankfully all can be improved on and will be repaired. May I take this opportunity to apologise if any of these issues took from you visit to Kilkenny. Yours in Service,...

Reviewed 19 October 2014

To anyone looking for the perfect wedding venue which won't cost the earth but gives you a five star service look no further than the Ormonde Hotel, Kilkenny. Myself and my husband had a New Years Wedding at this venue and it was perfect from the moment we started looking at venues. We ended up in the Ormonde by accident...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen W
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jen W, Thank you for posting your lovely review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that we were able to play a small part in making your wedding day memorable and I wish you both every health happiness in the future. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Spent 3 nights in the Ormonde with my wife. Great location, very central, with car park across the road. The staff in the the Hotel were very friendly and efficient. Pool, Sauna, steam room and dressing rooms very well kept. Overall we had a very pleasant 3 days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noyfb1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Noyfb1, I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for the recommendation and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you both back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Overall, our stay went well. The hotel was well located, just a short stroll down town which was really nice. Parking fees are extra though so be aware of this ( I think it was €5 per night, or €10 per stay, not sure cause we went into the wrong car park and had to pay full rate). The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greatexperiences2014
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear greatexperiences2014, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our Hotel in such detail. Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in general, i do note your comments about our shortcomings and I apologise if they took from your stay in Kilkenny in any way. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (365)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (48)
Viewed
Super Double Single Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,720 reviews
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,615 reviews
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
673 reviews
3.2 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Savour Restaurant
Savour Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: RM342 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Fort Wayne, Indiana
over a year ago
3 days ago
Ferns, Ireland
26 days ago
6 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles progers747jumbo, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 402 is an apartment”
 of 5 bubbles bobcatc2016, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites are really comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Smilingguest, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor - good views”
 of 5 bubbles CailinMoMo, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“beware what way you ask for your meal to be cooked dont annoy the chef”
 of 5 bubbles johnbond_9, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay