We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Celtic House B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Celtic House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Terrible experience with Celtic house. We had booked 2 double rooms for Sat night 3 weeks in advance. When booking my credit card and phone number was taken. I got no email conformation so I called on the Thursday before we were due to arrive and was told all was ok with the rooms we booked. When we arrived to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Anna K
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Anna K, this review is not accurate and is in parts untruthful! We do not or have we ever 'cancelled room, possibly to make more money', & ' I suspect they got an offer of letting out the rooms for a longer period and decided it was worth bumping our one nights accommodation so they could make more money'...

Auckland
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We had a lovely stay here, a bonus was having secure on site parking. Breakfast was excellent and in the evening John pointed us in the right direction for a pub with Irish music AND dancing, all within easy walking distance, terrific

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hagar99
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the live music scene in Kilkenny City. Safe travels & hope to see you again in the near future, Kindest regards, Angela & John.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My two friends and I shared a room for two nights: beds, bath, breakfast, location all excellent. Loved talking with Angela and John. Angela even signed her book for me...in Gaelic! Love it, Angela, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mlt22
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & for taking a piece of Ireland back with you. Safe travels & hope to see you again soon, Angela & John.

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We stayed here during our first trip to Ireland and it was great. The bedroom was very roomy and attached bathroom was great. It is very close to anything you want to do in Kilkenny. Very good breakfast also.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian B
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to your liking. Safe travels & hope to see you again soon, kindest regards, Angela & John.

Lewisville, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Angela and John are two of the bests hosts we have ever stayed with! Their accommodations matched their enthusiasm. The room was very comfortable with a partial view of the city and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was fabulous and Angela made sure that we had everything we wanted. I became ill the second day and we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveNC
Mariposa,ca
Reviewed 10 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Location is very convenient to shops and attractions. Just minutes to great pubs and food. Secure parking off-street. Rooms cozy and nicely furnished. Very good breakfasts. Hosts very knowledgeable regarding local scenic drives...felt right at home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulfill
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there a few weeks ago for one night. Our hosts, Angela and John, put us in room with an extremely comfortable king sized bed with beautiful bedding. The bathroom was a really decent size for a B&B. Both were extremely clean. The home is tastefully decorated with artistic touches, such as beautiful stained glass doors....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tisha M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a very well run B&B. John and Angela are lovely people, they have thought of everything and nothing is too much trouble. This a great place to stay, close to the shops, pubs and of course that wonderful castle, all in easy walking distance. We stayed for two nights and our accommodation was in a separate annexe to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PamDear
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a few days and it was wonderful. This B&B was so cute and within walking distance of all the sites. The Irish breakfast in the mornings was fabulous and John and Angela were more than hospitable. Thank you for a memorable stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EIP85
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were driving round Ireland and booking by phone once we had arrived at our destination and so we considered ourselves fortunate to find this very comfortable B&B after a number of calls. Our hosts Angela and John gave us a quite spacious and very clean room with en-suite on the first floor.There was private secure parking with entry from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm P

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
690 reviews
0.1 km away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
192 reviews
0.7 km away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 78 in Kilkenny
397 reviews
8.3 km away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 78 in Kilkenny
213 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: RM353 - RM431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Celtic House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 had a great view of the churches”
  • Out the front door & approx 200 paces to the left
  • view from our room
billmU2443EI, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Let them know if you don't want to walk up a lot of stairs or have limitations.”
trekkiecats, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at reviews. They offer an insight.”
Jedelatein, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Two floors..ask for first floor if possible”
799annh799, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Take the top room directly under the roof, you'll have a fantastic view over the town!”
drsaeru, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5