We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Troysgate House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Troysgate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Troysgate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Disgusting avoid like the plague. Mix up with booking by the manager took 90 mins to get checked in then our room had 3 lads in it. Stains everywhere no tv no phone no hair dryer, their website is pure false advertising

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison S
Paddy G, Manager at Troysgate House, responded to this review

Certainly not my recollection of events.

dublin
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

13 of us booked a hen party weekend via a company who unfortunately made a mess of everything, including our accomodation. At the last minute we were booked into this guesthouse. It is essentially a pub with lounge/bar and approx 20 bedrooms. The manager Paddy had only been working there for 2 days and the bar lady, Toni, had only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josai
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed in the Troysgate House in Kilkenny for two nights for my stage party. We had a great weekend in Kilkenny. The two girls behind the bar Joanne & Toni were great crack and a pleasure to be around. Our weekend was ruined when my best mans wallet went missing from his bedroom. Troysgate were supposed to check the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank briandunnecork
Paddy G, Manager at Troysgate House, responded to this review

As the new manager of the premises I have enquired into this matter. As the missing wallet was reported to the Garda they are dealing with it. Beyond that I cannot comment further.

Rathmore
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Poor , with a stone cold breakfast included. Paint peeling off walls . Rooms like they weren't aired for months. Was with a bunch of people on a stag party and although the rooms were pre paid they were looking for an extra €750 security deposit on arrival. BEWARE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph O
Paddy G, Manager at Troysgate House, responded to this review

The premises is under new management and is currently being redecorated. Security deposits and or credit card details are taken by most if not all in the accommodation industry.

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I'm a guy that was on a stag pretty much just looking for a place to pass out in. But on arrival I'm surprised I left with both kidneys and no stds from this establishment. How has board failte not shut this death and inhumane premises down. The service was more closer to boot camp than a bnb. The manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen O
Paddy G, Manager at Troysgate House, responded to this review

The premises is under new management and is currently being redecorated.

Galway
Reviewed 25 April 2016

To be honest if you need just a place to stay for a night this will do , It is not advertising to be a 5 star venue. Would i go back , No. They dont do breakfast which is probably a good thing to be honest. No real facilities. If you like drinking and getting out of bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

Best place in Ireland to stay when your on a stag. 24 of us stayed here in June. Top place for a session. Pat the manager will look after ya.. He's a gent. I would recommend this place for a stag or hen. A weekend of madness! !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank casualkev
County Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Booked in for my brothers stag very much last minute on a busy weekend. Couldn't have been looked after better. Staff sorted everything out for us and where happy to accomodate the lads that missed breakfast the next morning. Rooms where tidy, food was good,location is central and service was top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darragh S
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 11 June 2015

I stayed here recently on a hen party and had a lovely stay. Staff were pleasant. Rooms were comfortable. Great price too! I have to say I was reluctant after seeing the reviews, but my mind was put at ease as soon as I arrived. Thanks again to all the staff for a lovely stay! Will be back soon :)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Stayed down here for a recent night out in Kilkenny. This place was terrible. I needed a shower as soon as I got home. I couldn't use the one in the hotel because it looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the 80's (when it was decorated). The place is run-down, decrepit and really filthy. Some of the issues: Filthy...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 2brendan

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,597 reviews
0.7 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
635 reviews
0.8 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,689 reviews
2.7 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
688 reviews
0.9 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Troysgate House was built in the mid sixteen century. Originally the home of the Town Sergeant it also housed the city jail. In the mid 1800's part of the premises was licensed for the sale of alcohol and a lodging house, making it one of Kilkenny's oldest inns in the truly traditional sense of the word. In recent times the premises has Ben renovated and modernised providing 23 ensuite bedrooms, while taking great care not to deprive the building of its unique and historic features. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Troysgate House

Address: Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: RM274 - RM599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Troysgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troysgate Hotel Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Troysgate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are average but don't leave valuables lying around”
 of 5 bubbles briandunnecork, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“dont stay in any of them”
 of 5 bubbles norar531, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay