We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ardmore Country House Hotel

Show Prices
#13 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ardmore Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardmore Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel, maybe not the most modern furnishings or way of running a hotel but all of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place has a really family feel. Hadn't realised we wouldn't get dinner (if you want it you need to be clear in an email before you go I think, which we weren't) but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank april2740
Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have today returned from spending 4 evenings in this lovely little hotel. Susan, Noreen and Pat were very friendly, attentive hosts. Rooms were very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were very good with numerous choices to suit everyone. I particularly loved Pats "Ardmore healthy option"which was really good. A delightful stay and we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie J
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Not easy to find, a charming old style treasure! Amazing well decorated bar, spatious rooms and bathrooms. Large parking lot. Excellent breakfast with lake view. Very well maintained garden. Friendly staff. Pity the restaurant service was shut down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jannim1966
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - beautiful location, spotlessly-clean, well appointed rooms and public areas, and very helpful, friendly staff, as you invariably find in Ireland! But I feel I have to rebut Mr Disgruntled, since his remarks about the smoking were directed (quite rudely) at us. Once he had "asked" us, the cigarettes were quickly extinguished, so being "overpowered" or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tonymellor
melbourne, australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The best thingis the view but that is were it ends.This is not a hotel but more of a b&b. It is trying to hold on to the old world experience, but needs to drag itself into the modern world. For the money I paid i expected abit more. Alot of the furnishings and equipment are from the long past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana1205
OwnerH, Manager at Ardmore Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with your stay. As you say, we are a small family run country house; not a large modern hotel. We do serve breakfast fresh to the table each morning - in fact, not having buffet breakfast with items sitting out for hours is something our guests really appreciate. We are delighted...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 30 May 2016

First of all, be warned this is not a hotel, but a B & B. There is a restaurant but it is closed except for breakfast. They will make reservations for you at a nice restaurant in town or a close by pub. We booked a delux room because the Eyewitness Travel 2016 said it was quiet, delux and nonsmoking....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ijloewy
OwnerH, Manager at Ardmore Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Being a small family run country house, we are disappointed when someone is unhappy leaving us. It's a shame you did not enjoy our loft bedrooms - the majority of our guests love them but I understand they were not to your liking. As you say, we...

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

I spent a long weekend here with my wife and two friends and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Both couples had loft rooms which were comfortable, spacious and had fine views across the bay. Service was well up to Irish standards - the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help, including booking restaurants and taxis for us in Westport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
Fort Bragg, California
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This is a charming hotel on the Quay a short drive away from downtown Westport. My wife and I had a spacious room in the loft with a view of Clew Bay. Breakfast offers many choices. The hosts are extremely helpful and dedicated to making their guests' stay enjoyable. This would be a great place to reflect, to write, or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I booked this hotel/ B&B for a Friday and Saturday night. The website said that check in was until 11pm, but the sign in reception said 4pm. However, this was not a problem. The 'lady of the house' met us on arrival (around 6:30pm) and was very warm and friendly, asking us where we are from, offering us advise on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinkRodery
manchester
Reviewed 12 October 2015

stayed there for 2 nights. the room we were in 103 was massive with a lovely and comfy bed with shower and bath, although when you turned on the hot tap in the bath the whole pipes rattled. the views were lovely. we went for breakfast the first morning and must say were dissapointed. the starter of yogurt and museli...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dw12393

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
809 reviews
1.9 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,294 reviews
2.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 15 in Westport
519 reviews
3.1 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
1,226 reviews
2.3 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Ardmore Country House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Price Range: RM516 - RM807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmore Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardmore Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#8 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardmore Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardmore Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room was 106 great view”
 of 5 bubbles johnw731, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The loft room has beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles emalice9, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel for the local taxi number and visit the local pub/restaurant called Shebeen. Great food and a short walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Dazza_Loves_Holiday, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms large.”
 of 5 bubbles 95irenef, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I enjoyed an upstairs loft room.”
 of 5 bubbles jane674, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5