We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Living St. George Hotel

Save
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (76)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good36%
  • Average21%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“shearings hotels”(21 reviews)
“coast country”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Country Living St. George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
214
385
252
164
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
214
385
252
164
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings hotelsshearings holidaycoast countryleisure clubself servicespa facilitiesroyal hallrestaurant staffplenty of hot waterlick of paintpublic roomsweekend breakkipperscentral locationmy mumlovely townbuffet style
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
361 - 365 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The room was fine, the whole place is rather shabby and the single small lift is very slow, but I got a good night's sleep and was looking forward to breakfast. Big disappointment. Watery sausages (first time I've had a melt-in-the-mouth British banger), half-baked rolls,...More

1  Thank Alex M
Response from EdwinaStevens, General Manager at Country Living St. George HotelResponded 27 October 2015

Kippers are definitely not ‘boil in the bag’. The WIFI is not ‘broken indefinitely’ and has since been repaired. I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the service you received. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 21 October 2015

Booked hotel at two o'Clock and by four we was checking inn . On arrival greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very helpful and up graded our room to 209 without asking ,When entering the room we found it very presentable and clean in...More

Thank 52greengrass
Response from EdwinaStevens, General Manager at Country Living St. George HotelResponded 27 October 2015

My team were delighted with your comments and pleased you took the time to place a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your time in Harrogate and sampled some on the towns amenities which are plentiful. We would be happy to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Read some of the reviews about the hotel and was a bit concerned....but I'm happy to say some people are a tad OTT. The hotel and it's staff are lovely, we had a lovely large room with bathroom, we had a great couple days in...More

Thank Marc H
Response from EdwinaStevens, General Manager at Country Living St. George HotelResponded 27 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to place a review and we hope to see you return to The St George hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 18 October 2015

We have stayed at the St George before, so we thought we knew what to expect. We travelled with Shearings. Our room was clean and comfortable, albeit the windows dripped with condensation, as the expelair didn't work. There was secondary glazing in the bedroom which...More

1  Thank Lynn P
Response from EdwinaStevens, General Manager at Country Living St. George HotelResponded 19 October 2015

Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for anything that occurs outside of the hotel. I am pleased you were offered another room and I am sorry you chose not to accept it. I am currently working with the local council regarding the noise pollution. Kind...More

Reviewed 12 October 2015

1st time in this hotel. It's as good as any other hotel I stayed in. Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room. Great location, near conference centre and some nice restaraunts. I would stay there again.

1  Thank BrianH520
Response from EdwinaStevens, General Manager at Country Living St. George HotelResponded 19 October 2015

Thank you for the review. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (12)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jukinjulie
18 January 2018|
Answer
Response from rdt1234 | Reviewed this property |
It’s a five minute walk very close by.
0
Votes
cheeree21
2 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from annacollings21 | Reviewed this property |
All rooms have showers
0
Votes
Vickyoldacre
17 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Annefoss |
No. Our room 230 had definitely not been refurbished!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"205 and 202 great"
Read review
"high floor rooms seem to cut out road noise though walls very thin"
Read review
"Lift is small and often busy so we used stairs but some may find this difficult."
Read review
"Go elsewhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing