We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derby Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Derby Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 213: English reviews
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is worth skipping if ever in need of accommodation in Derby. Looks fairly grand and impressive as you drive in but very soon you realise the rooms are almost a secondary business. Very cheap to stay but you are staying in a student accommodation style room that is seriously outdated. Wifi is very poor and doesn't work well in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Derby Conference Centre on Saturday evening and whilst it was very convenient for the event we were attending locally, getting into the building proved a little more difficult! My wife has MS and is in a wheelchair and although the disabled parking is right outside the main entrance you have to navigate 3 steps as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Derby Conference Centre. Although we do not have a permanent wheelchair ramp at the main entrance we do have mobile ramps available which can be put up very quickly. unfortunately we cannot alter the doors as they are part of the Listed...

Atworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely friendly staff and comfy beds, although the bathroom was huge but the shower was tiny, which didn't seem to make any sense. Everyone was kind and helpful, but I was disappointed that there were no gluten/dairy free alternatives for breakfast and the pipes were very noisy at 5am. Good for an overnight, practical stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Derby Conference Centre. We welcome your comments and we will review and action them accordingly. Best regards, The Derby Conference Centre

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Very basic small room, the shower cubicle felt very aged and was tiny, I was just about able to get in, deco looks dated and in need of modernisation. The grounds were beautiful and I would assume that in summer the grounds would look stunning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minaxi P
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Derby Conference Centre. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment which will see the modernisation of event space, public areas and bedrooms. Being a Grade II listed building we are unable to improve on the size of bedrooms though we do have a number of Premium rooms...

norfolk
Reviewed 27 November 2016

In town for the football, Pride park ten minutes by foot. Exceeded expectations in everyway, comfortable, clean and great value. Polite and friendly staff, cosy bar and hearty full English breakfast. The building inside full of character and charm the bedrooms & bathrooms decor lovely ( No 20 ) overlooking front lawn and driveway. Bus stops outside, quickly into central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliderNorfolk
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to receive your kind comments & we will be sure to pass them on to our team. Constructive feedback such as yours is a great help to us & a good insight for potential new customers who may read it....

Reviewed 20 November 2016

This is also a lovely building with a beautifully redecorated lounge area and a great entrance hall. BUT... Don't be fooled by the bedroom & bathroom photos on the website. The vast majority of them are much smaller / less well appointed than those they show you (see my photos) However, if you know what you are getting then the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calwyn H
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at The Derby Conference Centre. Honest & informative reviews such as yours are a great tool for us to use when assessing our service & standards and can be helpful guide for any potential future guests. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to be...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We visited Derby to attend a friends party and paid £55 for a double room with breakfast.....£55! The Hotel itself is an old Army training building and has an amazing art decor feel to it.and still has lots of original touches to it. As ex Army some things jump out to you like the three phone cubicles by the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldie1966
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Derby Conference Centre. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay & we appreciate your kind words regarding our service & value. Once again thank you for the feedback & we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards,...

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Nice art decco hotel with character. Friendly staff and decent food. Rooms are quite small and only have single glazing. At least a half hour walk in to town so need a car or get public transport All in all not bad for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you found our staff to be friendly and our food decent. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Regards, The Derby Conference Centre

Dublin
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My recommendation’s would be, not to expect too much from this hotel. The best thing it has going for it, is its staff, friendly and efficient. The room we had was very and I mean very small, not very clean and above all, loud, with little sound insulation between ours and the room next door. It is the first time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbikerjoe
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Derby Conference Centre. Being a Grade II listed building has presented challenges when looking to install telephones into bedrooms but hopefully a modern solution has been identified & is being looked into as we speak. We will be sure to...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Built within a beautiful Art Deco style building, this property has been lovingly restored and brought right up to date. With restaurant, bar and breakfast room all on site you can just relax and enjoy! Although the bedrooms are small they are very clean and comfortable and the service is grand. We used the on-site dining rooms and were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgw156
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay & we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Regards, The Derby Conference Centre

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.5 km away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 30 in Derby
1,369 reviews
3.3 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 30 in Derby
1,542 reviews
1.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#13 of 30 in Derby
444 reviews
7.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 10 minutes from Derby's city centre, this grade II listed Art Deco building offers comfortable rooms and hearty full English breakfasts. It has a bar, free parking and free Wi-Fi. All of the refurbished rooms at the Derby Conference Centre feature a private en suite shower room, Freeview TV, and tea/coffee-making facilities. The venue has been awarded the AA's 4-star Guest Accommodation standard. There are 8 conference rooms at the Art Deco-themed conference centre, all suitable for business or hospitality events. The conference centre is easy to access with Derby Train Station only 5 minutes' drive away and East Midlands Airport a 15-minute drive away. The M1 motorway can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derby Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Derby DE24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: RM272 - RM411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derby Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Derby Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Conference Centre Hotel Derby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derby Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Normanton, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Derby Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a ground floor room if your a disabled guest as no lift - can recommend room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles steveaT6717SO, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles cliderNorfolk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want space go for a premier room - standard rooms are very small.”
  • THe bathroom
  • The standard bedroom
  • Small dounble room
 of 5 bubbles calwynh, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Allocated on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles waldodw, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in the west wing on the second floor , appx 36 steps up to it. so if infirm , request a ground floor room. very quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles juile28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay