We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

No thrills, no fuss , great customer service, perfect for a stopover. A closer and more secure car park would be ideal and comforting but 200-300 meter walk is not going to kill anyone. (Top tip: Drive to Hotel Drop off point, go upstairs to reception to purchase a Parking ticket to display on dashboard before parking the car in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ATYeung
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, I hope the team can be of service to you again in the future. Many thanks Lee

Wimberley, Texas
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We arrived very late one night, desperate for a place to stay, after running from an Ibis that seemed more like a student ghetto than a hotel. We were lucky to get a room; for some reason Swindon hotel rooms are sold out on Monday through Wednesday every week. I never expected to end up in Swindon, to tell you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittylovesblue
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi! thank you for your review and scores, I'm pleased that Swindon gave you a pleasant surprise on your unexpected stay here. Should you return to the UK we'd love to have you stay with us again. Many thanks, Lee

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The reception staff were very pleasant and the hotel was central in the town centre. Parking was a very short walk away by the station and £6 for 24 hours, not too bad, ticket can be bought from reception. Whilst the room was clean and comfortable, with the double sofa bed made up it felt a bit cramped, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Peter. Thank you for review, I'm please that on balance your enjoyed your stay with us. Our room are all the same with regards to size and we have tried to unitise the space as best as possible. For those travellers not as experienced as yourself we do also provide earplugs for the lighter city centre sleeper. Once again,...

Reviewed 23 June 2015

Another typical Holiday Inn Express. Convenient for the centre of Swindon's shops and restaurants and the railway station. Major niggle is no onsite parking - recommended parking was in an open car park a few minutes walk away near the station.There is no in-house restaurant for an evening meal, but its proximity to the centre meant plenty of choice just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Souwester147
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as you'll be aware most Express hotel do not offer an evening menu, however we do on weekdays should you ever stay with us during the week. I'm pleased that on balance you enjoyed your stay, and many thanks for the scores. We hope to welcome you back again...

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

We stay in hotels on average twice a month up and down the country just because we can. Have tried many different chains some good some bad and privately run hotels. IHG never lets us down and Swindon City Centre is our absolute favourite in terms of locality, convenience for shopping, dining out etc. I won't say what our special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rubyred456
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Eve, thank you very much for your comments and review. It's a pleasure to have you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, many thanks Lee

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last week and the limited menu was getting shorter as the week went on. Breakfast was another disappointment with no bacon and scrabbled egg that was swimming in water. Anyway looking forward to the following weeks new menu only to be told that they have sold out in most items leaving just the low volume items from last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the menu issues you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Thanks Lee

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This hotel falls into the mainstream-could-be-anywhere-in-the-world type. It's perfectly ok, very clean, helpful staff, comfortable bed. However, this hotel really lacks soul and individuality. My room was ok, average size and clean. I ordered room service, it was pretty awful. A range of re-heated meat in sauce and re-fried beige food. If you're not bothered about staying anywhere nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel, I'm pleased that you mention the cleanliness and positive aspects of the hotel. I very much hope that we can welcome you back again, thanks Lee

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

The accommodation was more than suitable for our one night stay. Despite the warnings about noise (ear plugs available from the reception) we had a good night of sleep with no noise to keep us awake. The only disappointing point of our stay was the entrance lobby which smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. An attempt to mask the smell with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, thank you for your review, I'm really pleased on balance you enjoyed your stay with us, obviously we only allow people to smoke externally and we do try to ensure that any smell does not affect the rest of the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Many thank Lee

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Stayed here for a business trip. The hotel is in a great location for the city centre and the outlet mall! The staff were wonderful and very friendly a real credit to the company! The rooms are comfy, warm and perfectly adequate for a business trip. The only downside for me was there wasn't a huge choice for breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kernowanya
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Kernowanya, Thank you for your positive review, and highlighting the outstanding team that we have at the hotel. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Lee

Reviewed 4 June 2015

Found this hotel to be in need of a redecorate and deep clean.The The plug in my sink didn't hold the water in so I had to keep the tap running to shave. When I turned on the shower, which was powerful, it blew the shower curtain away and flooded the bathroom. Breakfast has limited choice and the early staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee N
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Lee, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was greatly disappointed in reading your comments as a great many people find the location of the hotel an advantage when exploring the city as we have suburb transport links, being the closest large hotel to the train station. With regards your comments on the staff, this...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,318 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel
2.1 km away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
462 reviews
1.4 km away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range: RM261 - RM694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
pontyclun

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there are any better or worse rooms as all a very much of a likeness”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem good”
 of 5 bubbles andybate1967, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Watch for noisy neighbours if you are in an adjoining room”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderdog99, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on high floor would have less noise”
 of 5 bubbles swanseajen, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room on 4th floor satisfied us, we could see parts of old Swindon and town centre, not sure about rooms on other floors”
 of 5 bubbles 342mauricej, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5