We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 502: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in September 2016. Think of it as an Inn/B&B and not a Hotel and you can't go far wrong for what you pay! Parking onsite in the middle of the town opposite the Abbey, spacious clean well appointed rooms and an excellent breakfast thrown in. We had some drinks in the nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rooroo6
Sofie B, Relief manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we hope that you will come back again soon!

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We did not stay at the hotel but we did eat here. Excellent very efficient staff Very friendly and helpful (especially Ryan) Great food very quick service. We came back next night as food was so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
Sofie B, Relief manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, we hope to welcome you again and possibly you may sample our bedrooms!

Burry Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Rooms are lovely and clean some bits need a upgrade but you can live with them as you are only there for 3 or 4 nights. Staff are always on hand if you need anything. Plenty of parking spaces. Abbey is just across the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine w
Sofie B, Relief manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are aware that the rooms need a bit of TLC and are making steps towards improving these areas, your feedback helps. We hope to welcome you again soon

london
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

I have an old English inn local to me. Although they don't have rooms it's ran the same. Seems like the chefs don't want to work and the food is shocking. The rooms are in terrible need of an upgrade especially the bathroom. Went down to breakfast to find the chef has not turned up and had to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tallpaul0123
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit to us. We are due to receive a bathroom refurbishment in the near future and we are refreshing all our bedrooms ourselves. Very occasionally situations do occur that are completely out of our control, but we always do our very...

Boldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Bell from the 4th to 7th November. We wanted some respite and relaxation and really enjoyed the weekend. The place is very olde worlde as you would expect for such an old building but very cosy and welcoming. The staff are great and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant for all three evenings and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DCASpoors
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We live within easy reach of this lovely old hotel in Tewkesbury so sometimes drop in for a midweek lunch. The atmosphere is very convivial, with open fires in the cold weather and lots of individual rooms for privacy and cosiness! The food is good, all freshly cooked when we visited, so you do have a wait but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne_and_AnthonyB
Ely
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Hotel looks Olde Worlde when you arrive and does not dissapoint inside,full of character and charm.We had a weekend stay more or less free of charge as family had given me gift cards for a birthday present which we used for the accommadation.Arrived on Friday and left Sunday morning.We were allocated room 7 which unfortunately has the kitchen extractor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pejaye
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Room was nice lovely big bathroom looks like it's been refurbished. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice and we had a meal on the Saturday evening which was good. The only downside was the kitchen fan was outside are room which was very noisy. Luckily we did get some sleep as it went off at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Very comfortable stay, good food, friendly staff, the local area has a massive history detail, easy access from the M5, good free parking available. Evening meal code 6408 served by Emily & Bryony very enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan044
Burslem, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed here 4 or five times. The staff are always friendly and efficient. Rooms thougn h a little dated are clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee in rooms. Nice resaurant with good food.Lovely breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you have had another lovely stay, and I have shared your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.2 km away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
813 reviews
0.7 km away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
475 reviews
1.4 km away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
4.0 km away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
18.5 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Price Range: RM299 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good value for budget offer. Traffic noise no problem and car park.”
 of 5 bubbles RandallEv, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Found the rooms we has been in all ok”
 of 5 bubbles catherinew764, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid room 7”
 of 5 bubbles Pejaye, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Bryan044, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is right across from the abbey. The clock chimes every fifteen minutes, didn't disturb us but we aren't light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles KarenK331, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5