We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Hotel and Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Lake District
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were out xmas shopping and found ourselves at the top of town! It has been thoroughly renovated since I was last in and it's been done out really nice. Quite cool but just opened really. Food, as in platters, was really nice and you can pick and choose and share, which I like. Presented really nicely and good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helvellyn2009
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your food, our bar and hospitality. Sorry about the cold WC, however we are happy to tell you that we are in the process of rectifying this and hopefully in the next week a radiator will be in place ready for your next visit. Take Care Kim and The...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time I have visited since new owners took over- much improved decor, friendly staff & atmosphere and excellent food. The platter menu is a great idea, we chose a few items to share (we ordered far too much!) it came served beautifully and tasted great. (Duck pate/ red pepper hummus/ chips/ salad/ Wensleydale & cranberries/ roast ham with bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GayleGledhill
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Great review thank you Gayle, we look forward to welcoming you again. We are now serving pre-ordered Christmas party platters also.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Daughter and I went here today as neither wanted much to eat and new management have taken over. Platters with extensive choice of items from about £2:50 - £6:50, bread, crackers, pitta breads, cheeses, pate, vegetables, sea food, and a fairly good selection of hot items - we didn't have anything hot other than chips. The mixed salad was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your visit to our bar. We are please that you found your visit positive and will do all we can to improve the speed of our service. Please visit again soon. Take Care Kim and the Robinson Family

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic, enthusiastic staff who served Tapas style food. Great quality grub at a decent price! Not a bad glass of wine either! Fairly quiet but it was early evening. New decor is clean and modern. Very close to centre of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayho2016
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments and the time taken to do this. We hope to welcome you here again in the near future. Take Care The Robinson Family

Shildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The photos of the bedrooms and food are not up to date. The rooms have been refurbished very tastefully and the bar no longer serves tapas; instead, a variety of sharing platters which are very filling and beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was very clean and tidy but still welcoming and homely. I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison F
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, we are so please you enjoyed our hotel and enjoyed your stay. Our family bought the hotel in August and after a massive refurbishment opened up in October. Unfortunately we have inherited many bad comments from the previous Tapas business but Tripadviser will not allow us to have them removed nor will they remove the old...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights visiting my daughter at Uni. Just been fully renovated. Beautiful room. They do a continental breakfast now too not advertised and there is parking at £5 a night. Very central location. Quite a few stairs so not for the less mobile.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra C
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We are now providing continental breakfast daily or a breakfast box to go, which we will be advertising after reading your comments. Again Thank you Regards The Robinson Family

Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here due to another hotel not honouring our booking.com booking. The hotel is under new management and has been totally redecorated. The bar area was still being refurbushed when we stayed but I believe it is due to be complete by end of September. Kim and colleagues checked us in and showed us to our room (number 6)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayne J
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Our refurbishment is now complete, the scaffolding down and we have now reopened. Next on our list will be the courtyard outside and the out building once the weather improves. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Take care Kim and The Robinson Family

torbay devon
Reviewed 19 August 2016

My wife and i booked a stay there last weekend. Turned up to find the bar and restaurant were closed for refurbishment!not told of this, prior to booking. New owners seem nice enough, but the rooms was very tired and not very clean.like to see the hotel after refurbishment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertybhoy
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and please except our apologies for the lack of information regarding our refurbishment. Our family bought the place in August and after initially honouring previous Latinos bookings, closed for a few weeks and reopened fully refurbished in October, no longer Latinos but The Royal Hotel and Bar. If you are ever visiting again and would...

UK
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Dropped for a mid-journey meal. Ultra-efficient ordering system and tasty tapas appeared very quickly. Can't comment on accommodation.. .but I think until significant investment can be made to freshen things up, the food may be the best feature here. But that was well worth eating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smsfirecracker
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Well to start with, there is NO carparking on site. The room was OK, but in desperate need of a proper clean. The TV was covered in dust, and whilst this may not be a real issue, it's endemic of the overall quality of cleaning. There was a woman's hair clip in clear view next to the bed, If any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.4 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
288 reviews
0.2 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
463 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,208 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to Lancaster's newly renovated 'Royal Hotel and Bar', a family run establishment in a great location at the heart of historic Lancaster, offering all the convenience of the city on your doorstep while enjoying the luxury of premium quality, cosy, comfortable rooms. Built before the turn of the previous century and stocked with only the finest selection of wines, spirits, beers and ales, as well as hosting regular music and events, this historical setting provides a touch of class with a modern take on a traditional bar. Travelling on business, visiting family, touring, or here for a night out, whatever your reason for visiting Lancaster The Royal Hotel & Bar is perfectly placed. Visit the castle and take in the sights, stroll along the canal enjoying the scenery, explore the many restaurants and bars or take in the vibrant night life .... whatever your choice at the Royal Hotel our guest only access allows you to come and go as you please. Book your stay now and meet the Robinson Family, let us know what you are all about and we will endeavour to help in any way we can. We always appreciate any feedback and will work hard to deliver the best service we can ... with a smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Bar

Address: Thurnham Street, Lancaster LA1 1YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: RM381 - RM550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel And Bar Lancaster, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bude, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we didn't use the hotel, only bar area, may be noisy as on busy central road”
 of 5 bubbles 591lizl, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lift so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles LT1411, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I imagine being in town centre it would be difficult to have quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles norlinCumbria, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The rooms were VERY noisy at the front due to it being so central. Ask for a back room away from the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grannymoira, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If possible, ask for one which isn't on the street side.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveandAliOB, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay