We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Lancaster

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 966: English reviews
cleethorpes
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Standard older holiday inn is showing its age in public areas staff are very nice and room was spotless. I have deducted one star because breakfast was very busy the staff were working very hard but there were delays before some items were replaced however the leisure club is clean and the water warm reservations are minor

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear CleethorpesGtfcfan Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle General Manager

Kings Stanley, UK
Reviewed 1 August 2015

I stay at this hotel whenever I travel back and forth to Scotland. It is very convenient for the motorway as it's just off the junction and so easy to get on in the mornings, but also right on the river Lune cycle track allowing you to use it for walks, runs or rides. Well equipped with a good gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doctor phil B
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Doctor phil B Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Lancaster. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this. I will share your...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Brilliant stay from start to finish. All staff very friendly and helpful. Room spotlessly clean lovely clean bed. Room service was excellent. Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and nice and hot with plenty of variety. Will definitely be staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Rodney H Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We are delighted you will visit us again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Easily found just off the motorway and plenty of free parking. We had a one night stop over on our way south. The room was a good size for myself, husband and grandson. We all found the beds uncomfortable - mattress on the double was too soft and the sofa bed mattress was too thin and even my small, light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Catherine G, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient. However, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our beds. We also regret that your check-out experience was less than satisfactory. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments...

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

This hotel is right next to M6 so perfect for arriving from South of England and for visiting Lakes. Rooms were a good size and very clean. Staff were very mainly friendly. Breakfast was very good so I would recommend getting it included in your hotel deal. Only problem we found with hotel was evening food was very expensive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABESUFC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear ABESUFC I am delighted with your overall positive experience, particularly regarding your room and breakfast. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

scotland
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Went with my 12yr old for a two day break, initially I was horrified when entering the room we were allocated as it stank of stale cigarette smoke, but a phone call to complain and we were quickly allocated another room, more like a suite so we're were happy and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, best chicken Korma...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bodkinangelcakes
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear bodkinangelcakes Thank you for posting a review and I am delighted you had a nice stay at the hotel. Although many of our guests choose to visit Blackpool as it's only a 30-minute drive from the hotel, there really is plenty to see and do in Lancaster. It has a thriving arts and cultural scene, 5 museums, 3 galleries,...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Superbreak deal, a great value weekend, nice room, ,friendly staff ,great breakfast.. restaurant meal was ok nothing special.Had a nice swim and sauna before we left. View was of grey flat roof blocking the beautiful river beyond, but location meant a great walk to town on the side of river, which is also the 69 cycle route.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19ronnie25
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear 19ronnie25 Thank you for the 4-star rating and for the feedback. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

3 nights at Holiday Inn Lancaster whilst working away and while the room was nice the service was not. First night, arrived late so ordered room service instead of using restaurant. Order was wrong with side dishes I hadn't asked for and my steak burnt to a crisp, despite me asking for it cooked rare. It was late and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick M
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Nick M I am very sorry to hear that you had such a negative dining experience. It would appear that on the third evening you came down to dine just before we were expecting a large party of pre-booked guests in the restaurant. I appreciate that at the time it might have looked like the restaurant was quiet but...

newport, gwent
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Pluses:- Easy to find/get to but not within walking distance of the city centre. Nice pool, efficient reception and check in. Negatives:- Upgraded to an executive room but no robes/slippers which are usually provided, and the pillows were poor quality and the beds not as comfortable as a travelodge!! The worst restaurant staff ever, poor customer service and attitude (except...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie h
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear jackie h Thank you for posting a review, although I am naturally very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Following your review, I have carried out an investigation. As I understand it, the restaurant was very busy that night and guests were informed we had tables from 8pm onwards or, if they didn't want to...

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We stopped here on the way up to Scotland. Very friendly staff at Reception. The room was good and clean and they made up the extra pullout bed for my daughter very quickly when requested. The shower wasn't very powerful but there was lots of hot water. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very nice as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayatree
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear mayatree We would advise guests to make a reservation to dine in our restaurant to ensure they can be accommodated at the time they want. If the restaurant is busy and there are no free tables at the time requested, we will always do our best to seat people as quickly as possible. Alternatively, we do serve food in...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
7.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,283 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.2 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
309 reviews
6.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,298 reviews
8.1 km away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Traders Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: RM366 - RM620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lancaster Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views overlook the river”
PrincesMargaret, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the river.”
Duststorm, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose an executive room, much nicer and facing the river not the road.”
celand23, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose twin or river-side room”
NickB720, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor facing the river on the south end of the hotel Nice view of river and quieter”
dorothy25443, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5