Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Outwood Lane Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL England
Ensuite twin to the main King, great family room
Traveller (1199)
Panorama at the Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
360
Panoramas (10)
New Superior Room at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Room & Suite (461)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 548
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#34 of 127 hotels in Manchester
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Only a few minutes walk from Manchester Airport, the 4-star Clayton Hotel is one of the closest hotels to the airport. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus service to all terminals and to the train station. The modern and stylish rooms are the perfect place to relax offering free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, and tea and coffee-making equipment. Amenities in the hotel include a relaxed lounge bar and a modern restaurant, a fitness suite, and business centre with meeting and event spaces.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Paid public parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Outwood Lane Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL England
8,508Reviews198Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,507
  • 2,720
  • 1,265
  • 564
  • 453
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul and Christine wrote a review Aug 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom305 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 1 night, arrived at Manchester Airport train station pleasantly surprised how easy it was to find the hotel shuttle bus phone, rang hotel for free shuttle service to hotel and it arrived within minutes, very impressed, the driver was informative and friendly.
We checked into the hotel online before arrival so just picked up room key from desk, the hotel room was amazing, very clean and comfortable, visited the bar for a drink and was impressed with the service, lovely bar with a variety of seating, delighted sky sports was on in part of the bar area, had nachos which were tasty and a portion enough for 2 as snack. Pleased to discover an ice machine, visited the gym briefly, very impressive, free transfer back to airport early next morning, very efficient and friendly driver. We had booked a more costly airport hotel located in the terminal for next year which we have now cancelled and rebooked this hotel as so impressed.
We stayed during COVID times and were very impressed with the social distancing and hand sanitizer all over the hotel including the bar. Highly recommend this hotel, had great night sleep and heard no noise from corridor or any other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Good morning Killiefc97, Thank you for your great review. It is lovely to hear that you had such a good stay with us. It is a great location and so handy with our complimentary shuttle bus- i am so pleased that you were able to use our facilities and that you felt safe throughout this unusual time. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristianN-BO wrote a review Aug 2020
Essen, Germany36 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
You can park the car 15 pounds a day or for a week for 80. Spacious rooms! Breakfast is now served in Covid times.
Guest are not wearing masks, personel well.

Noise on both sides, in the back railway in the front airport, but aircon is working.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear ChristianN-BO Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear to that you had a good stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future Best wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susan c wrote a review Oct 2020
Chester, United Kingdom143 contributions163 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an early flight out so decided to stay here for the night before and the deal included 15 nights parking. In fact the price was just an extra £5 than parking only in the multi storey car park so it was really an easy decision. Room was very good with very comfy bed . We had dinner ( not included) in the restaurant which was excellent. Didn’t have breakfast as we were too early but got the mini bus to the terminal @ 4am . Excellent service dropped off right by the terminal entrance and on our return the minibus only took 5 mins to pick us up.
Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we had an early flight
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Dear Susan, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had such a great stay with us. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amitaf wrote a review Jan 2020
Houston, Texas38 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
USD 112 for...a dingy, wheelchair-accessible room (you shower and the bathroom is flooded) with connecting doors to two different rooms on the ground floor for a female solo traveler. Not a very safety-minded room offer. I clearly felt "stowed away" for one night. Bed was comfortable but only had huge pillows (so I slept on a towel) and a comforter that excessively trapped body heat. WiFi access only worked briefly and after that I wasn't able to connect again which made reviewing/ checking in for my flight impossible. As it is an airport hotel it was noisy. Guests arriving/leaving throughout the night. Airport pick-up worked smoothly and very well. Shuttle driver Jim is a gem. Courtesy phone for free shuttle on the wall to your right as you walk towards the Spar supermarket when you exit baggage claim (Terminal 1). But I think I'll look for a different option next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaytonHotelMCR, Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport. I am sorry that you had issues with your room. We have a 24 hour reception who would be more than happy to assist you in finding an alternative room to make your stay more comfortable and provide different pillows for you upon request. It is pleasing to hear that Jim provided a smooth transition for you from the hotel to the airport. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, I am contactable at msmith@claytonhotels.com Regards, Mark Smith Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shirleywhurley wrote a review Feb 2020
16 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had canceled the booking on Expedia, it was completely unclear that I had to cancel 3 times for each room and as a result I have been charged for 2 rooms.

I rang and spoke to the manager after I noticed on my credit card bill that I had been charged. I asked if they could even issue a voucher, she said that if it had been booked directly they could have done something for me, but because it was booked through a 3rd party she couldn't as they had paid the commission.

I suggested that they could refund or give me a voucher minus the commission, she didn't even offer to refund the cost of cleaning the rooms.

I will never book this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaytonHotelMCR, Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent reservation you had here at the Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport. I am sorry that you were unable to stay with us and required to cancel your reservation. As it was booked through a 3rd party website, it would be Expedia that you would have had to cancel this booking with, and whilst I am sorry that this has happened, we would not be in a position to reimburse any monies to you as the rooms that were not cancelled would have still been ready for your arrival and therefore we would have been unable to sell these rooms to any other guest. Regards, Mark Smith Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LesleyScarborough wrote a review Aug 2021
Scarborough, United Kingdom1,233 contribution220 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very conveniently situated for the airport terminals and we were able to walk from it to Terminal 2 for the Covid Testing Centre pre-departure. Pleased to find there was a lift to all floors so we didn't have to struggle upstairs with our luggage. The decor in the room was definitely a little tired and I was surprised to see the round table in the window was in very poor condition, with the veneer lifting and stained by water marks, but the bed was comfy and there were 2 chairs and room to move around. Pleasant toiletries fixed to the wall and sufficient pillows and towels provided. Had to ask for decaff coffee sachets at reception. We ate in the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal which was served by a charming waiter. I would have preferred my beefburger served on a plate rather than a wooden board though. Apart from anything else, plates must be more hygienic. We were also surprised that the bar served Goose Island IPA! Total cost of meal for 4 courses plus 3 pints of IPA was a very reasonable £59.75. Pleased with our view from the room too, which was at the front of the hotel (see pics). The courtesy transport to and from the hotel was very good too. We were whisked to Terminal 1 at 4am for our flight and collected upon our return very promptly after we rang the hotel to request it. Excellent service from the driver who collected our car key and even put our cases in the back of our car.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Good Morning LesleyScarborough, Thank you for your review- I am so glad you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the table in your room- we will have a look at this and sort out any necessary repairs. I am glad we were able to serve your favourite beer too- Hope you enjoyed it. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon, Best Wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LadyLottie wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia37 contributions64 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There wasn’t much to recommend this hotel. We stayed here for one night prior to an early morning flight. As an airport hotel, it has been really poorly designed for travellers. The lifts to get to the rooms are located about 150m from reception, through multiple doors and corridors. Somewhat crazy given most people will be arriving here with numerous suitcases… There is also no Porter available to take bags or luggage to your room.

The rooms are very basic, with no minibar in the rooms, although they were of a good size and quiet.

The shuttle bus to the airport is, however, effective. It runs every 15 minutes, and was clean with a friendly driver.

We dined at the restaurant which I wouldn’t recommend. It is perhaps the most overpriced restaurant I have eaten in over the last 12 months. We had duck spring rolls as a starter. They cost £8.95 and the use of the plural rolls was completely misleading. It was actually one spring roll cut into half – for £8.95!!

I had the cauliflower steak, which on the menu was in a section with all other steaks that noted it came with chips and salad. Instead the cauliflower steak came on a bed of sweet potato mash (I dislike sweet potato and wouldn’t have ordered it if I had known that was the case) and what was essentially raw leeks.

In my opinion, the food quality was poor and the price is exorbitant. If you are going to stay here, I would use Uber eats and get something delivered for a quarter of the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaytonHotelMCR, Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at the Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your dining experience fell short of your expectations. I would be more than happy to further look into this for you if you would like to contact me at msmith@claytonhotels.com Regards, Mark Smith Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol B wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives
Hotel very convenient for Manchester Airport
Great shuttle bus service
Professional and nice mannered staff
Clean room
Fruit salad at breakfast very nice

Negatives
Bedroom window left open so room cold on arrival
Room cold even with heating on and window closed
Full breakfast served straight after fruit salad was put on table. Taken back to kitchen and brought out again 10 minutes later, food was cold and horrible.
Reception staff informed me that manager would contact me later, 8 days later still no contact.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Good morning Carol, Thank you for your review. I have contacted you by email in regards to your feedback, I tried calling you however there was no response. I will try contacting you again. Best wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daveygrohl wrote a review Aug 2020
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom350 contributions225 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to accruing a free night we decided to stay here again, this was a much better experience. On arrival we were upgraded to a lovely room that overlooked the runway. Reception were much more helpful this time around. The room was temperature controlled so we were able to keep it cool with the recent hot weather. Due to covid you had to pre-register before going to the bar for track and trace. There was hand sanitiser throughout the hotel and it felt extremely safe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emily Smith Hilliard, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear Daveygrohl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us and that you felt with the guidelines we have put in place. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon, Best wishes Emily Smith Hilliard Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pipelayer wrote a review Jan 2020
51 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this hotel with family in December 2019. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were nice. It would have been nice for someone from the hotel staff to help my family to take our luggages to our room - we had a number of suitcases but no one assisted.
The food I ordered at the hotel and ate was very poor in taste. I ordered the Penna Arrabiata( veg pasta). This meal lacked flavor and taste. It was like the chef has just added a tin of tomatoes to the dish - overpriced too, at £14.50. This meal is only worth £5.
The parking at the hotel is very expensive too. £15 for an overnight stay. I would like a better price. I would recommend other to park elsewhere than the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaytonHotelMCR, Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have hoped. If you would like to contact me to discuss your stay in further detail, I am available at msmith@claytonhotels.com Regards, Mark Smith Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter b asked a question Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there any heat in the bedrooms
Answer from paddy b
Newry, United Kingdom165 contributions78 helpful votes
Yes rooms have heating Dail on wall for warm or cold air
Answer from Adrian D
5 contributions
I don’t know, it did look modern if that helps? Sorry
juleslfc asked a question Jan 2023
St Helens, United Kingdom93 contributions32 helpful votes
Do deluxe rooms have a bath? I have checked hotel website 🙂
nick w asked a question Jan 2023
birkenhead8 contributions12 helpful votes
Is there a fridge in rooms (for medication)
Answer from Ellie R
52 contributions101 helpful votes
No fridge
Paradise63058916856 wrote a tip 18 Apr
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant is really good!"
Read full review
Mark wrote a tip 18 Apr
Stavanger Municipality, Norway44 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the shuttle from the train. Walking is dangerous. Ask for a bath mat when you check in. The bath/shower is very slippery."
Read full review
Kirstie G wrote a tip 13 Apr
Merelbeke, Belgium3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good kids menu "
Read full review
richdebonnaire wrote a tip 9 Apr
London, United Kingdom27 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s an airport hotel, so most people are there for early flights. The location means it’s a bit noisy so take ear plugs."
Read full review
Mobile02474236172 wrote a tip 9 Apr
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own biscuits for your cuppa. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manchester area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 583 - RM 774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bewleys hotel manchester, airport bewleys hotel manchester
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
365
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLAYTON HOTEL MANCHESTER AIRPORT (R̶M̶ ̶7̶3̶0̶) RM 534: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,333 Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Nearby attractions include Jo Malone (0.4 km), WH Smith (0.5 km), and WH Smith (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sampans Oriental Restaurant, The Grain Loft, and The Restaurant at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Manchester HotelsManchester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ManchesterHotels near Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire