We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Expedia.comUS$49*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$55*
US$49*
US$55*
US$49*
US$55*
US$49*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,495: English reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We are a couple aged 26-28 The welcoming wasn't brilliant maybe that's because 1 person was doing most of the work at reception as the other stood there, the queuing at the reception could be improved, got to the room, it was clean maybe an odd bit of dust but not too bad, went to dinner it wasn't a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barberofshipley
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed the night before we went on holiday and it was fab got it as a deal with 3 course evening meal breakfast and 15 Days parking. The meal was great good choice as was breakfast and the room was fab had a jacuzzi in .really couldn't find fault would definitely recommend and will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane t
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do try to offer good value for money to our guest and would like to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel...

glasgow
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent three nights here as part of a Caledonian Travel coach trip. I think some people just like complaining for the sake of it! Maybe it's because it's used as an airport hotel and folk are comparing it to their holiday hotel in sunnier climes. We had a ground floor room and although the decor is a little old fashioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy54
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other guests to read. It is great when a guest who enjoys...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we just arrived back yesterday (19/6/14) from a national coach holiday & stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, Are there any window cleaners in Manchester? the windows & net curtains on this hotel look like they have not been cleaned for years! The lift is still out of order no matter what the manager posted in a reply &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ven2112
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that the room that you were allocated was small and too warm. Our heating is switched off however we are experiencing very warm weather at the moment. We do have fans at the hotel...

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Let's start with myself , I am a family man with a wife and young family and I rarely complain about anything ( please see my trip advisor reviews ). BUT this hotel is truly shocking . On arrival we were told lifts were out of order , great with pushchairs and young infants and a pregnant wife , thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryan W
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Unfortunately we did have a lift out of order during your stay with us and for this I offer my apologies, our lift has now been repaired. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room,...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is undoubtedly the worse hotel I have ever stayed in! We were greeted with a huge line lads where the hotel had lost their booking and kept us all waiting for a disgraceful amount of time! Once in our room it was fine for what we had paid.... Then we went to the resteraunt to have our pre-booked meal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andreata_11
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. Our check in time is from 2.00 O’clock and unfortunately if lots of guests arrive together there can be a queue. Our reception staff do work as quickly as they can to check guests in to keep their wait to a minimum. I am sorry that you were unhappy...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Well......similar to lots of other people on here,I read the reviews and thought, 'It can't be that bad.' I have stayed at Britannia Hotels before and always thought they were 'alright.' On this occasion,I was mistaken! On the plus side, lovely drive upto the hotel and check in was fairly quick considering there was a coach load of us. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AQ410
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do have both smoking and non smoking rooms at the hotel and unfortunately some guests do smoke in our non smoking rooms and I am sorry that you were upset by this. I am sorry that...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I frequently travel with my work and i was due to fly out to Dusseldorf from Manchester Airport on the 10th June 2014 but my flight was cancelled and so the airline sent me to this hotel to stay overnight awaiting the next flight out. So, i don't know where to start. Perhaps with check in at the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank freemanwilson
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Kind regards, Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

YORK
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Does what it says on the tin good deal, good sleep, decent food and hot water. Some areas could do with a upgrade but its cheap and clean so what else do you want for the price. As with all Britannia Hotels getting ready in some areas for a bit of a upgrade but not bad for the prices.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DAZ7450
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do have an ongoing decorating programme in place, however with 255 bedrooms and extensive conference and banqueting facilities this will take some time to complete, I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value. Kind regards Sandra...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed overnight before our flight early in the morning from Manchester Airport and booked our car for 9 nights at the hotel. Our room was exactly what we wanted, a comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, nice bathroom with a good shower - what more do you want? It wasn't fancy and perhaps a little tired but for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H O
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable. We do try to offer great value to our guests and I am pleased your stay with us was...

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
67 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
783 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
64 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: RM240 - RM624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Your own bedroom at home would be the best room to stay in.”
Rachowen1711, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
kevandlynndavey, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
ukbod, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to reception ... or leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way back to your room !”
348kerryh, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“try to get upper level in summer so open windows no air condition no fan in hotel :D”
Raz7379Naz, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$49
TravelocityUS$49
HotelQuicklyUS$55
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates