We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Union Hotel

Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (11)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay in the heart of Manchester – Great location - show map In Manchester's vibrant gay village, the New Union Hotel offers en-suite rooms above a lively bar. You can enjoy drinks deals, cabaret, karaoke and disco nights. Manchester Arndale shopping centre is a 12-minute walk away. The New Union offers guests 24-hour access to the hotel. Rooms feature free WiFi, a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities. Hairdryers and irons are available on request. In a very lively, central district, New Union hotel is close to Manchester’s bars, shops and restaurants. Manchester Coach Station is a 4-minute walk away and Manchester Piccadilly Train Station is an 8-minute walk away.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
238Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
59Attractionswithin 0.5 km
214Reviews
50Photos
2Q+A
33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 55
  • 44
  • 18
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was perfect for what I needed. Reasonably priced, clean, convenient, comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. The room was cosy and quiet with double glazing that was effective in drowning out street noise. Totally recommended!
Read more
Response from Adele R, Manager at New Union Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking time out to write a review on our establishment. We are so glad that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and was a perfect location for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Regards Richard (Hotel Manager)
Read more
perfectly suited to us. We had had an amazing time in the village and it was nice to go back to somewhere, where we could just chill out and relax. Nothing was too much trouble either and everyone is really friendly and happy. 5*
Read more
We booked a double room last Friday evening and was highly disappointed, no coffee available on tea sachets we asked for coffee sachets to be told "we've run out!! Asked what time breakfast is and was told we dont serve breakfast but yet it was advertised in the room. The bed
Read more
Response from Adele R, General Manager at New Union Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2019
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always take on board both good and bad feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regarding Tea / Coffee they are complimentary within Hotel rooms and we are sorry we had run out of coffee upon your check in. A continental Breakfast is advertised upon booking sites as a supplement extra payable upon check in of £3 which is served from 8am and is pre bookable from check in time. Also All rooms are equipped with thick 10+ Inch Orthopedic Memory Foam Mattresses. We have taken on your feedback also regarding Noise, upon booking sites we do advertise we are above a bar and some noise may be heard in some parts of the hotel and also that we are in the heart of Canal Street. Kind Regards
Read more
Great location for canal street bars and eateries in Chinatown. Room very good standard, and en suite very clean and modern. Price was very reasonable no other hotel in the vicinity offers such good value for money
Read more
Response from Adele R, General Manager at New Union Hotel
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking time out to write a review on our establishment. We are so glad that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Regards Richard (Hotel Manager)
Read more
The New Union is a great place to stay if you’re visiting and plan to go on nights out. As you can see from the pictures, it’s above a pub/club on Canal Street, one of the busiest party spots in Manchester. It’s going to be noisy and those who have complained about it should
Read more
Response from Adele R, Manager at New Union Hotel
Responded 18 Nov 2018
Hi there, Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our selection of drinks. I will have a look at the shower to see if there is anything we can do to make it more powerful and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Regards Mike (Hotel Manager)
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementNew Union Hotel
Quad (Room 5)
We booked a double room but they gave us 2 beds!
Did the job
Even smaller en-suite
Small double room £40
PreviousNext
123
How close is parking?
If you know manchester you cant get 24 hour parking for £12 on tarriff street (5 min walk) easy to find secure car park and cheap
0 votes
Show all answers
Club under the rooms sound amazing!!!!!
"dont book this place!"
"Avoid all rooms above the club. Room 10 is a nightmare."
"Room 14 has 3 double beds and is lovely."
"Avoid. free rodents"
"When in Rome - if noise is a problem take earplugs!"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
new union manchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing