We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castlefield Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castlefield Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 540: English reviews
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked the Castlefield hotel as it was close to Bridgewater Hall. Staff were fun, welcoming and extremely helpful, we had a problem with the bed and they exchanged the whole bed!! The room was large even for the 3 of us and had every thing we needed. The hotel was walking distance to town centre, restaurants and shopping.

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated across the road from the science museum we found the location suited us perfectly. We requested a quiet room and got a lovely room on your top floor over looking the canal. The room was clean and spacious with dual aspect windows. We made use of the on-site parking which was a great price for town, £10 per night.... More 

Helpful?
Thank oka-willow
Shane G, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oka-willow Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and found the location, in a quite corner of the city centre, to fit your needs perfectly. As did the car parking and that you make good use of our extensive leisure facilities. I hope you do stay again in the near... More 

Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a one night stay to recharge and relax - but Pool ect closed by 6pm. Stains on ceiling in bedroom. Window in room didn't shut properly & wouldn't lock. The RED towels provided in room were frayed. Room was clean. Central to town. Breakfast was ok. But whole experience was very disappointing for city centre hotel. Can't recommend it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rae A
Shane G, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rae A I am disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the Castlefield Hotel. We always do try to ensure the guest has the best possible experience during their stay. We are close to the centre of town, being situated right on the edge of the city centre and close to the theatres,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the Sunday lunch offer has changed and it's now just one course for £7.95 it's still really good and excellent value. It's like a home cooked lunch . Just Beef Roast chicken or nut roast . Veg boiled not roasted as they used to be but nice onion gravy with beef . Horseradish or mint sauce 50p extra .... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluerobin59
Shane G, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bluerobin59 Thank you for choosing the Castlefield for you Sunday Roast. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meal, found the staff welcoming and that it wasn't the first visit either. We do cook the dishes fresh on the premises each day, offering one course for £7.95 or 2 for £10.00. I hope you visit again soon. Regards... More 

Hilchenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated,just outside of central Manchester, but 5 minutes from free bus service and Metrolink.Good retaurants nearby.You are also near a canal for walking. The hotel itself is not new, but clean and the rooms are quiet,although the doors close with a real bang.The staff are really super,helpful and friendl.The pool is large and you can really... More 

Helpful?
Thank gagalswaxer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Solely based on the restaurant. Ordered a pastrami sandwich and the pastrami was as hard as rubber. Also had to wait about half a hour for it and I was one of 3 people in the bar area and the other two people were drinking. The chips were ok

Helpful?
Thank Rob A
Shane G, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob A Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear the pastrami sandwich you ordered was not to your satisfaction, and you felt the service time was slow. You do not mention what the staff reaction was to your complaint. If you could contact the hotel directly and give me the details... More 

Galway
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight and have to say it's a great place to stay. Nice friendly staff at reception and bar. Great leisure facilities for city hotel. Good value. Basic breakfast but does the job! Only problem with the hotel is that noise from the corridor can clearly be heard at unsociable hours.

Helpful?
Thank SheilaD215
Llanelli
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were attending a conference at Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI) so booked into the Castlefield Hotel for 1 night. Must say the Staff could not have done more for us. Checking was efficient and they clearly explained how the hotel operated. Room was modern and very clean with a massive bed. There were good leisure facilities on site... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here before flying out of Manchester, we wanted a hotel close(ish) to the airport and close to the shops. This hotel is a good honest hotel with excellent facilities. My son used the pool and sports hall and loved every min of it. No its not a 5 star hotel that's evident in the price you pay, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett B
Shane G, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brett B We are delighted with such positive feedback regarding your stay here at the Castlefield Hotel. I am happy to hear that you and your son got to make the most out of our facilities, including the 18m swimming pool, and sports hall. The staff here always look to ensure each guest feels relaxed, welcome and looked after.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This hotel is basically on top of a great fitness club, and having access to weights, pool and steam was amazing - a great way to relax after a long conference day eating conference food. It's near to decent restaurants, not completely ideal location for central Manchester but good enough, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great place,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank darrenwolf

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.4 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 118 in Manchester
3,856 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#12 of 118 in Manchester
1,206 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: RM317 - RM804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlefield Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Middlesbrough

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castlefield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed on the 2nd floor and these rooms have been upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles 888brettb, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the road have great view of MSI, but traffic noise if you keep the windows open”
 of 5 bubbles MickfromBolton, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room ending in 16 i.e. 116/216/316 - they are over the gym and very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles MJMChester_UK, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you want comfort”
 of 5 bubbles brookgil, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the locks are best”
 of 5 bubbles 161stephenw, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay