Hôtel Basss

Traveller (271)
Panorama of the Family Room at the Hotel Basss
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (116)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#454 of 1,832 hotels in Paris
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Hôtel Basss*** is a boutique hotel with a retro look and refined design. Located in the heart of Montmartre, a stone's throw from the Blanche and Abbesses metros, the hotel gives you access to all the legendary Montmartre landmarks. Industrial materials, cut-out shapes, geometric tiling and broken typography: welcome to Hôtel Basss.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

57 rue des Abbesses, 75018 Paris France
Name/address in local language
1,227Review25Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 570
  • 430
  • 165
  • 42
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa M wrote a review May 2023
Rochester, New York23 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Basss is tucked away in the charming Montmarte neighborhood in Paris. The Abessess Metro station is a short walk away...and though the station has the longest stair it also has an elevator. The hotel is sitauted within a block of tall homes/businesses. It offers breakfast in the lounge area facing the street (great people watching). Breakfast included cold meats, cereals, cheeses, fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries, breads, juices, waters and a machine to crank out various coffee/espresso blends. Rooms ranged from small to medium to large to extra large. Our large room on the top floor was 'just big enough' for us Yanks used to more spacious acxommodations. The balcony was locked and we were unable to access it. The bathroom sundries included a combination body wash and shampoo. There was no wash cloth. Bed was a queen size and comfortable. No dresser in our large room. One of us piled clothes on two of three open shelves. One of us worked out of an open suitcase. No room refrigerator. No room safe though we were invited to provide our valuables to the hotel for safe keeping in their safe. Being on the top floor, we encountered no noise issues. Our view was the top of the other buildings in Montmarte. Hotel staff was very accommodating and spoke English. We stayed at Hotel Basss for 6 nights and enjoyed our stay. The neighborhood was lively with many cafes and a gelato shop just a few doors down. Clean and safe. Charming.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For fellow Americans: consider requesting the extra large room class; large at very least. Ask...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Directrice de l'Hôtel Basss, General Manager at Hôtel Basss
Responded 23 May 2023
Dear guests, We would like to thank you for the time you have devoted to write your review. In the first place, we are very happy if staying at Hotel Basss, in the heart of Montmartre made you live a truly French experience. Indeed, the hotel neighborhood is really lovely and very authentic for its atmosphere. We are pleased that the offer of our breakfast buffet were up to your taste and hopefully filled you with energy for the busy days discovering the city. As for the room amenities, we take a good note of your remarks that will help us to improve the equipment as the renovation works that are approaching. Nevertheless we hope that you had a pleasant stay in overall and keep only nice memories from your stay in Paris ! Sincerely yours, Aneta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria Giles wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights and the double room that we booked was two singles pushed together. We had room 001, which is a disabled access room, which it would have been nice to be told. The shower grip is broken so the shower head just slides down and doesn’t stay up!

We had a nice stay but the two singles situation ruined it a bit. Also the noise being right next to the loo and reception and lift was quite annoying around breakfast time so: check you are not in room 001 is my advice!!
Also put a sign outside to say that we didn’t want our room tidied and would get a organic gift in return, which we never got.

Staff very friendly and area great but probably wouldn’t stay stay again because the room was disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Sayed, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Victora, thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to read that you haven't appreciate your stay at our hotel. If you decide to give us another chance, we will be happy to may you discover our superior rooms more conformable. moreover, please be assured that we take all your remakes into consideration. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martina wrote a review Jan 2020
Vilnius, Lithuania5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the hotel Basss for 3 nights and I was really excited!🥰
I was alone, so I took a small room and It’s fitted to me perfect.
The interior was retro style. I like this style! Even my stuff colors matched with the decor😁
There were soap, shower gel, towels, hairdryer, teapot, tv, wifi, hangers.
There were extra tea and coffee every day.
I lived in 5th floor and had a big balcony with a beautiful view🥰
The location was perfect and the stuff was kind👍
I'm highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTEL-BASSS, receptionist at Hôtel Basss
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for sharing this fabulous feedback. Your opinion about Tripadvisor is particularly important for us, but also for our future guests who may still hesitate to choose our Hotel for their stay in Paris. We couldn’t be happier to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted that you felt this spirit of well-being that we wish to offer to all our guests. It is up to us to thank you for your trust in our home, and know that our doors will always be open to you. We wish you a very good day and a happy new year ! Best regards, Imen Bekaddour
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thorunn Hreggvidsdottir wrote a review Sept 2020
Kampala, Uganda29 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at hotel Bass several times and I have always been satisfied. The location is brilliant, with in a walking distance to the mayor attractions, very well connected to the metro, very French with numerous little boutiques, cheese, fish, bakeries and really everything you want from your trip to Paris. The hotel is very clean ( my main priority) and the staff is extremely helpful and make you really feel welcome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Axelle Legrand, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your enthousiastic feedback about the hotel. This is always of high interest for us to read your comments about your experience at the hotel. The Sacré Coeur is just a stone’s throw away, as is the Moulin Rouge and the famous Montmartre vineyards. I recommend a stroll through the streets of the neighborhood: you will discover a real haven of peace in the heart of Paris... artists' workshops, celebrity houses, and cabarets become institutions, there is so much to discover. Let me tell you that the entire team would be delighted to welcome you back very soon ! Kinds regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sebastian B wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Basss is placed very good, in a street central in Montmartre, close to Moulin Rouge and Sacre Cæur. The breakfast is fine and the staff are kind and helpfull. The rooms are very small and it is easy to hear the other guests in their rooms and on the hallway. The room did not have a closet, a fridge and a safe and that´s a shame because it was cleen and nice there. Overall was hotel Basss a good experiance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Notelet, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Dear Sebastian, Thank you for taking the time reviewing your experience at the hotel ! I am pleased to read my team has warmly welcomed and greeted you. and that could you enjoy every spot of the Montmartre life! Giving your length of stay, do not hesitate to reserve a Large room next time, I would be pleased to offer you a special price. Regarding the closet, we have a standard of 8 hangers per room, should you need more, please contact our Front Desk they will be glad to assist you. I am regretful to read you were not fully satisfied with our facilities. However please note minibar are not a prerequisite in 3* hotel standards; this is the reason we offer snacking at the Front Desk. I thank you for your feedback & duly noted all your comments for your next Parisian escape ! Looking forward welcoming you back !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pacific9Rose wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the location and the area, loads to explore on foot or jump on the metro at Blanche, Abbsesses or Pigalle. Rue des Abbesses has a neighbourhood feel with a mix of shops and lots of bistros for petit dejeuner (for 8- 10 euros), cafe creme (4- 4.90 euros) or drinks. Only downside is noise from cafes at night, some of which are open until 2am. However, we changed rooms halfway through our stay (due to issue with air con, thank you Julie!) and noticed the window in our second room was better at keeping sound out, better window closure/seal. Also, there's a building renovation going on next door, but they seem respectful of noise impacting hotel, work doesn't start until 8:30am and no where in Paris is immune to noise! We had an extra large room, lots of space for suitcases & big shower. Easy check in and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Notelet, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 23 May 2022
Chère Rose, Thank you for such a detailed review ! I am delighted to read you could appreciated the little gems of the Montmarte life which indeed offers various cafes and restaurants to go to ! It has been a true pleasure finding a suitable room and I am glad it did not affect the rest of your stay ! We cannot wait to welcome you back xx Kindest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bristolfoodie01 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom69 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great hotel if all you want is somewhere reasonably priced to sleep at night in Paris. In a good location near the metro with lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. I liked the simple styling of the rooms. They do a lot of the basics well - friendly staff, comfy bed, sachets of body/hair wash, reasonable shower, hairdryer, clean, hanging space. A few things I’d expect which were missing - no safe, no full length mirror, only 2 poor quality instant coffee sachets in room which weren’t replaced on second day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Sayed, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 19 Mar 2020
in the name of all my team, i thank you very much for this nice review :-) Hope to see you again in Paris ASAP. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin E wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked through Eurostar and were very pleased by the standards of this hotel, which we hadn't used before. It is so well-situated, in the midst of the vibrant atmosphere of Montmartre and surrounded by restaurants and bars but well-insulated from noise and nuisance. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable with a good-sized bed, the buffet breakfasts were ample and the excellent staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay and certainly plan to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTEL-BASSS, stagiaire assistante de direction at Hôtel Basss
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear I3728QUmartine, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are certain that we can always do better, and we are indeed doing our best to ensure our clients growing satisfaction ! Also, we are delighted that you have actually liked the area, very nice and convenient. Kindest regards from Paris, BONI SONIA
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elineline123 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a nice, simple and clean room with amazing view on the street and Paris' houses and balconies. The employees were very kind and helpful (they offered us a larger room upon arrival because they had one left and we stayed for a few days). The location of the hotel is perfect: nice area, great street, a lot of bars and restaurants and the metro was close.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Axelle Legrand, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for your comment, it makes us very happy to know that you had a good time at the hotel and in our beautiful neighborhood! The Sacré Coeur is just a stone’s throw away, as is the Moulin Rouge and the famous Montmartre vineyards. I recommend a stroll through the streets of the neighborhood: you will discover a real haven of peace in the heart of Paris... artists' workshops, celebrity houses, and cabarets become institutions, there is so much to discover. If you have an artist’s soul or you just like to stroll around, I am sure that this journey will seduce you. You are always welcome here... the whole team is delighted to show you the many assets of the place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil T wrote a review Feb 2023
Kingsnorth, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was good, the staff were friendly and smiling on arrival & during the stay, the basics are there but lacking in quality.

We booked through Eurostar as a package, just for clarity and it was my wife and I staying.

The room was small, no amenities other than a bathroom and tv. Part of me wonders how a hotel in 2023 cannot provide a kettle in the room. The aircon was not up to scratch, hot or cold, no middle ground but this is a minor as the bed was warm enough. I would recommend this hotel to people who don't mind low quality rooms but if you are expecting the 'unforgettable moment of relaxation' that Hotel Bass advertise on their site, then you will be unfortunately mistaken.

The double bed was two singles pushed together. Whilst ordinarily i don't mind this, the bed was so uncomfortable i did not sleep more than a couple hours per night which was disappointing when i was hoping for a relaxing break, which cost close to £1000 for just 2 nights with Eurostar.

There is no kettle in the rooms for coffee in the morning, a small amenity that i think personally should be a staple for any hotel. Also, no real furniture as such in the room except a small desk chair, despite the site boasting 'fully equipped' in the descriptions.

The breakfast is not 'gourmet and generous' as also described on their website. There are miniature pain au chocolat and miniature croissants, with miniature slices of meats and some small yoghurts. The only proper part of the breakfast would have to be the coffee machine which was self service (not an issue in the slightest) and of a high quality.

Overall, i don't like to put good looking hotels down but this one needs a little more thought put into it rather than just selling a look of 'retro' and 'graphic'. We didn't complain whilst we were there as all of these small issues were not enough to be raised. My wife and i are quite seasoned in hotel travel, both budget and luxury and we do not complain about small things like these. This review in fact is not a complaint but an honest view based on our trip.

I think if you can sleep on any type of bed, you will be fine here. If you don't need a spacious room or don't require breakfast then this hotel will be a fine choice. I was just expecting something a little more special and comfortable for our break and from the pictures and the advertising this looked like the right choice however in hindsight it probably wasn't.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Directrice de l'Hôtel Basss, Directeur général at Hôtel Basss
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Dear Mr Temple, On behalf of our establishment, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. We are glad that you have appreciated the convenient location of our hotel, and the hospitality of our team. However, I am very sorry to read that your experience in overall was not what you have expected. Concerning the room, it is true that they are rather on a smaller side when compared to international standards. Unfortunately this is a common thing for most of the boutique hotels in Paris, and especially at Montmartre. Although the size of the rooms are clearly stated on our website, we understand that you may have been surprised nevertheless. As per the equipment, please note that all our rooms are equipped with kettle and a small courtesy tray with selection of tea/coffee. We are sorry that there was one missing in your room and regret that you did not inform the Front desk immediately so that we could bring you one. As per the breakfast, I thank you for your feedback. This information is very precious for us as it helps us to improve constantly our services following to our guests' needs. Please note that the price of our breakfast is 11€ (if it is not included in the room reservation) which is well below the average rate in 3* hotels in Paris. However I would truly appreciate if you tell me more in details what were you missing in particular ? Do not hesitate to use the Tripadvisor messenger or e-mail. Lastly, concerning the price you have paid for your booking. Unfortunately since your reservation was made through a third party and as a part of a package, I am not sure that the price paid to the hotel corresponds to what you have paid to your travel agent. Indeed, you are talking about £1000, while your hotel reservation was for 130€/night. Once again, I am sorry that your experience at our hotel was not up to your expectations. Hopefully you will keep nice memories from Paris nevertheless. Sincerely yours, Aneta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill W asked a question May 2021
Haymarket, Virginia15 contributions9 helpful votes
Are there any Extra Large Double rooms on the 6th floor?
Answer from HOTEL-BASSS
Paris, France4 contributions9 helpful votes
Dear Jill W, Thank you for your question. There is no extra large double room on the 6th floor, only standard double and large double rooms. Please don't hesitate to call us if you have any further questions. Have a good day. Best regards,
Answer from Peter H
Cotignac, France326 contributions146 helpful votes
If you go to one of the room tips then it will take you to all of the reviews
Answer from Thunderberg
Malmö, Sweden201 contributions39 helpful votes
You probably need to check all the boxes, for other languages as well. My guess is that you’ve only got the one for English reviews in place... right!? There are a number of French ones as well, and probably some other languages as well.
Answer from HOTEL-BASSS
Paris, France4 contributions9 helpful votes
Pets are welcome in the hotel with a cleaning fee of 15€ per day, to a maximum of two pets.
gardenofengland wrote a tip Nov 2023
Folkestone, United Kingdom1,930 contribution493 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the evening, Montmatre free walking tour it looks so different at night."
Read full review
Sylvia Clarke wrote a tip Jul 2023
Walsall, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you book any museums online early to avoid long queues 👍"
Read full review
ely wrote a tip Jun 2023
Cleveland, Ohio21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a higher level room to avoid the vibrant street noise. "
Read full review
Lisa M wrote a tip May 2023
Rochester, New York23 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"For fellow Americans: consider requesting the extra large room class; large at very least. Ask for a room which fronts the street. "
Read full review
Jamie wrote a tip May 2023
United States1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just consider that this is not the Ritz. It's not perfect, perfect, perfect and that's one of the best things about it. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paris area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 621 - RM 1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
my hotel paris, comfort inn sacre coeur
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Bass by HappyCulture
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisMontmartre / Pigalle / Grandes-Carrières / 18th Arr. - Buttes-Montmartre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HÔTEL BASSS: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 325 Photos (Paris, France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Basss
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Basss?
Nearby attractions include Montmartre (0.3 km), Moulin Rouge (0.3 km), and Chez Michou (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Basss?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel Basss?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Basss?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Basss?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel Basss?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Apotres de Pigalle, La Crêperie, and La Bonne Franquette.
Does Hôtel Basss have airport transportation?
Yes, Hôtel Basss offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hôtel Basss?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel Basss?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hôtel Basss?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (3.7 km), Arc de Triomphe (3.2 km), and Sainte-Chapelle (3.4 km).
Does Hôtel Basss have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Paris HotelsParis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ParisHotels near Hôtel Basss
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire