We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Show Prices
#34 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN La Joliette
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN La Joliette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Very standard hotel, the room was comfortable, well furnished and we had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful, giving us directions and advice. However, we hated coming back to this area at night, it was intimidating and no fun at all, and quite a walk away from the rest of Marseille. We decided not to get breakfast because it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HollieW88
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking from your time to leave us a comment. I'm sorry that the hotel didn't match with what you were expected for. The hotel is just located 10 to 15 minutes away from the main part of Marseille, and the area will become in one to two years the second main place to visit in Marseille...

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Front desk Eva was just excellent. Helpful interested in the customer professional . She made our stay. Circumstances meant we were not planing to stay an extra two nights in marseille and got the four star on Expedia. Four star for. business people but not the tourist. Too far from restaurants and cafes. Saying that, their breakfast express and full,was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo jo zep A
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Hello, Big thanks for leaving us a comment and a special one for Eva and your kind comments about her! If you plane to come back to see us I'm sure you will love it: the area is changing a lot and many restaurants and shops are about to opened just near the hotel. You should also try our superior...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Very simple hotel in a good location but not so cheap! In case you're driving it'll be a big issue as they don't have parking arrangements. Average and expensive breakfast, if you can avoid going for something else it'll be a good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor.com. I apologize for your experience regarding our parking and breakfast, but you had wrong information. Actually, we do have special parking arrangements with a public parking nearby (2minutes walking); however we have a 5€ express breakfast served every morning for the guests not interesting in having a full buffet breakfast. I...

torrevieja
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I paid for a Premier Room. The toilet was in a cupboard and the bathroom in another cupboard. Could not shut the toilet door as there is a gap of less than 2 inches between the door and the bowl. This hotel is on a busy road and there is no porter so getting luggage inside is a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank harleyrider12
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry for the bad experience you had staying with us. Even so, I wanted to let you know that we do have superior room much bigger than the comfort room (premium) you slept in. However, we are still waiting for our alcohol license, so you can't sell alcohol for the moment at the hotel. Despite all that, you...

Grenoble, France
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just got back from a weekend at this hotel. The location was convenient, the staff was super friendly, the breakfast abundant, and the amenities were great! LOVED having free wifi, and a safe garage for our car. The only criticism we would have is that the size of the room was small. We knew this when booking the property,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aandskern
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Hello, What a pleasure to read such a comment! The all Best Western la Joliette is always trying to do it best to make guests enjoying their stay. And it's really pleasant to read that it works. If you plane to come back at the hotel, you should try this time a superior room, much bigger than the comfort one,...

Warsaw
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you'v ever been to south of France you probably know, that finding good place for reasonable money is quite a challenge. This hotel is a bingo! Located close by to City Center of Marseille - with around 10-15min walk to old port nearby Metro station and several buses available I believe it's a good location, Hotel has been nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IltellYouWhenIfindIt
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Greetings, We are glad reading you spend a nice stay with us, and even more to read your staff comment. Many thanks for them ! It sounds like you're used to travel in Marseille so please do not hesitate in coming back at teh Best Western la Joliette, it will be a pleasure to receive you agin ! Best Regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Finding a nice hotel at a decent rate in the middle of a new burstling business downtown is always a challenge. This Best Western hotel is modern, the rooms are nice and well designed. Room service is available 24/7 and the morning breakfast is generous. More important, if you come to Marseille on a business trip, this hotel is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thanks for your remarks about our hotel. Wishing to greet you again for your next Marseille's trip. Sincerely, Chantal Gabay

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a short holiday in Marseille and made a good decision to stay at La Joliette. I was quite happy with the location - it's a really short walk to the metro, tram and bus stops and about a 15-minute walk to the main station - St.Charles. Plus, there are a few bike rental stops very close, and boulangeries....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank parsonic
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking some of your time leaving a commentary. If you plane to come back to see us, we have a 5€/person continental breakfast served for people like you who don't want to eat too much at morning time... You should try it. Again a big thanks for your comment. Kind Regards, Chantal Gabay

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Bit noisy at night with people walking round the corridors. The area is central and an easy walk/tram/subway in to the main areas or train station although maybe not the nicest (is anywhere in Marseille?). Staff were very polite. Room was very small but nicely furbished and clean. This is a franchise Best Western.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for taking time filling this survey. You should know that the all part of Marseille is currently on labour but if you come back in one or two years you’re going to love it for sure! Really hoping to greeting you at the Best Western hotel la Joliette for your next trip in Marseille. Best Regards, Chantal...

London, England
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great pied a terre for Marseille exploring. Hotel was clean, friendly, not too expensive for 4 star status ( check out discounts!) Advantage of hd tv and ipod docks ! Not great for local area nightlife/bars but nothing a short walk won't sort.............

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review

Greetings, Thanks for your comment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe for your next trip in Marseille the area won't be in labour anymore. You'll enjoy this brand new area for sure: shops, plenty of restaurants, cinema... Kind Regards, Chantal Gabay

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
#37 of 130 in Marseille
230 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#17 of 130 in Marseille
699 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.3 km away
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
#51 of 130 in Marseille
467 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the very heart of Marseille, between the Vieux port, the harbor and down town, it become so easy to get into la Joliette, by any way choose.Underground and tram stations put on the hotel at only 5mn to St Charles station, and 10mn from the Vieux port. Many monuments as the Littoral boulevard, La Major Cathedral, the Docks of Marseille are both part on making this area plenty of live.The Hotel la Joliette is a charming and standing hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Address: 49 avenue Robert Schuman, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range: RM388 - RM814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN La Joliette 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN La Joliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#20 Business Hotel in Marseille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN La Joliette staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, Vermont, United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN La Joliette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was facing the street, I guess a room further back would have less noise,”
 of 5 bubbles Adelinetravelbug, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that the ordinary rooms are rather small, so you might want to consider upgrading.”
 of 5 bubbles johnhouston2, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms had Curtains & shutters & I couldn't hear the street below from the 2nd floor.”
  • Room on the 2nd floor, at the front.
 of 5 bubbles intrepidengineer, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“rooms at the back are away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 248martinm, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“You may want to upgrade to premier room as comfort rooms are small”
 of 5 bubbles 696jackiet, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5