We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Chamoniard Volant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Le Chamoniard Volant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Chamoniard Volant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

There are personal lockers free of charge in each room, making it very easy to store things safely while out hitting the slopes. The hostel is 30 seconds from a shuttle stop that will take you into town, or out to a couple different ski areas. It is also easy to walk into town (10-15 minutes). Breakfast is included with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia W
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken time to make your opinion known on our reception conditions.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

definalty do not stay here, security is extremely poor as they do not provide locks for the 198 person room upstairs. a lot of our gear was stolen and they were very unhelpful. kitchen is disgusting, very little cooking equipment available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 93qwerty
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

We only provide 70 beds and only one dorm with 18 beds. For 17 € /night we cannot give you the security of an hotel. For 20€ you can have a 4 beds dorm with private lockers and door code.

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the 12 person shared room upstairs. You only get given a sheet, pillow and blanket but in the summer that's all you need! Clean showers, kitchen, friendly receptionists. Full of other travellers. Within ten minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix. Unbelievable views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seán L
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

Do not hesitate, next time, to ask us a smaller dorm more confortable. We have 4, 6 and 8 beds dormitories. We can also rent sheets and supply free extra blankets. Thanks for supporting us.

Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Most often used as a 1 night stay over before/after climbing trips. Everything you need - clean, warm, nice dorms/rooms, friendly & helpful staff, hot showers, wifi. Ample car parking, quick & easy access to Chamonix centre Highly recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markjacqui1
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

Very happy to see you enjoy our place. Thanks for your help. See you next time with pleasure.

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

This place may be cheap for the area and it's certainly really convenient for town and the very decent MBC bar/brasserie. However we thought it was grotty and poor value for money. Hardly any equipment in kitchen, which generally looked like a health inspector's worst nightmare (lots of notices to clean up after cooking but no washing up liquid or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

We shall go to lead a survey to understand what accurred. As your complain is anonymous, we don't know at what time that's happened. Probably when the chalet was bloody crowded. Everything is cleaned up each day, We have a soap-pump on the kitchen's wall and we also supply towels. About breakfast we have not only bread and cereal. On...

Leeds
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the volant for a long weekend with a mate. The rooms are basic but for the time you're going to spend in them they're adequate. The same can be said of the breakfast, basic but good value. The fact that this place is a short walk to the bus stop for easy access to the slopes and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheChocolateMonk
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour votre soutien qui nous réconforte et nous récompense de notre travail quotidien. Peut-être à une prochaine fois dans...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 March 2015

For 19.50e per night we were very pleased with what we had. On walking distance from the center, next to the bus stop everything was great. The owners are a couple originally from Chamonix so they can help you plan your adventures over there well. The facilities such as shower, toilets etc are more than fine. Rooms are clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott G
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris un peu de votre temps pour dire sur Trip Advisor ce que vous avez pensé de notre...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

We stayed here on our first ski holiday to Chamonix to celebrate my birthday. Location is brilliant. Buses to La Tour, les Houches, Brevent and Flegere literally 3 mins walk away and Chamonix town a 10 min walk, plus the cross country ski trails are just across the road. The hostel owners are very friendly. Rooms cleaned every day, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank florabella036
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review

Thank you for your message. We try to do daily our best with what we have. We were pleased to receive your so kind and nice family. Warm regards.

Reviewed 7 February 2015

First, Big Thanks for the owner to pick up and drop us to train station in the snow and very cold weather . Great location,good service, homemade breakfast. Good price for Chamonix Mont Blanc. We had a great time there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wowekat
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour la gentillesse avec laquelle vous soutenez nos efforts quotidiens. A une autre fois peut-être avec plaisir.

Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We stay one night here. It's not in busy and noisy center and you would enjoy nature and peaceful atmosphere around this hostel. They have a big kitchen which everybody can cooking. You can also have delightful chatting with friends you met in the dining room! For our own experience, we had wonderful time and the owner did a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harvey B
Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard Volant, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grand merci pour votre soutien qui récompense notre travail de tous les jours. Nous sommes ravis d'avoir pu vous apporter...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 km away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
45 reviews
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,042 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,020 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Le Chamoniard Volant

Address: 45 route de la Frasse, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Price Range: RM132 - RM217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Le Chamoniard Volant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chamoniard Volant Hotel Chamonix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Chamoniard Volant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Le Chamoniard Volant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A 4-bed would be perfect because there isn't too many people in the room but there'll be a chance to socialise with other travellers.”
, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not choose the big dorm”
Kaner21, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“if i had to stay here again i would pay the extra for the smaller rooms, at least your equipment would be safer”
93qwerty, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Mont blanc is the best room, especially if you are a group of 4.”
explorindia, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Get a small room that has a solid lock on the door!”
BW892, 28 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5