We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paula-Modersohn-Platz 5, 79100 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg Germany
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$138
eDreamsUS$138
Trip.comUS$170
PricelineUS$138
Booking.comUS$138
CheapTicketsUS$138
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (2)

About

#13 of 56 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Ecological thinking and inclusion lifeFreiburg experience first handGreen City Hotel Vauban. Our 48 double rooms and family suites are modernly designed and furnished with lots of wood from the region. Situated on the " gateway " to the ecological model district Vauban , our hotel adds with a facade of naturally green wood slats perfectly into the cityscape.Experience living InclusionThe cooperation of employees with and without disabilities .The interaction of guests with and without disabilities .In our integration operation half of the employees have a disability . The colleagues working on par with each other.An Integrative Hotel is a hotel where people get a job of at least 20 hours a week and tariff payment. Without integration, operation, these people would have little chance of finding work . Because of their mental, physical or mental limitations , they are specially trained and promoted by educational and training measures.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
168Reviews3Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 71
  • 13
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
GoogleU wrote a review Aug 2019
280 contributions68 helpful votes
The hotel is modern and clean but a little basic. The staff were helpful but breakfast was very limited and there are no coffee facilities within the room. The hotel is located a 10 minute tram ride outside of Freiburg and there are limited amenities. Price seems to be a little too steep for the amenities provided. Very Very lousy air conditioning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: One side faces the tram stop, the other side - noisy party houses
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Green City Hotel Vauban, Geschäftsführer at Green City Hotel Vauban
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback, we will of course take your criticisms very seriously. Best regards your Green City Hotel Vauban
Read more
GVANN81 wrote a review Nov 2018
Geneva, Switzerland86 contributions38 helpful votes
The hotel is situated a bit outside of the city. It has a parking but it is so badly done that I touched the wall on the exit ramps... and I am very careful ... in the room : Too much tramways noise from very early until very late ... Which almost force you to keep the window closed during the night Staff is friendly... bar at reception is open 24/24 ... good choice overall but not perfect neither
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GreenCityHotelVauban, Rezeptionistin at Green City Hotel Vauban
Responded 27 Nov 2018
Dear Gvann, thank you for your feedback. It's very sad, that your night was not as quite as you wished. But don't forget that we are a city hotel. Our windows are with 3 glasses and you don't need to open it, becuase we are a standard-passive-house. The air is regulated by itself all the time, so that you have fresh air in your room. The parking situation in our urban and green part of the city which is nearly car free, is difficult and we are very happy to we have a cooperation with this garage. Overall we hope you had a good time in Freiburg and maybe we can welcome you another time again in our hotel! Kind regards your Green City Hotel Vauban Team
Read more
Monica L wrote a review Oct 2018
Chandler, Arizona266 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is quite nice and stands out in the crowd. It is located in an area that has a lot of student housing and there is no on street parking. The hotel does have an area in front for bag drop off though it was not initially apparent- I had to go in and ask at the front desk. I enjoyed the hip, boutique appearance of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The check in process was otherwise straightforward. There is no on site parking, but the hotel has an arrangement with a parking garage across the street below a grocery store. Be aware that the garage isn't open 24 hours. When we checked out, my husband had to find the entrance behind the building to get in. We reserved the suite for myself, husband and mother. There were two well-placed rooms and an outdoor balcony. I loved the windows! You could open all the windows and get a pleasant cross breeze. The common sitting area was very pleasant. Our room looked down on the street. We were able to get around quite easily on the metro; the station platform was a few steps away from the front door right across the street. The hotel doesn't have an onsite restaurant. We were given the name of a restaurant nearby and brought our food to the hotel to eat. However, the front desk does serve multiple duties as hotel check-in, conference room desk and bar. In the evening, even patrons from off the street come in to be served. I truly enjoyed this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The suite was cost effective and a great room with a great view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GreenCityHotelVauban, Rezeption at Green City Hotel Vauban
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Dear MonaQuin, this is an amazing feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel. It's very nice how you wrote about your stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you in our Suite. We hope you liked the view! So we wish you a good time and hope to see you soon! Best regards, your Green City Hotel Vauban Team.
Read more
Helen M wrote a review Oct 2018
Westchester County, New York24 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent one night (hotel was booked up for the other nights we wanted). We had a room with a balcony that had chairs and a table where you could sit and enjoy the sunshine. The bed was very comfortable. The decor is very modern with clean lines and no frills - which I liked. The WiFi was limited - we could not do some of the work we planned to do. The lobby is very spacious and feels like a spa. We did not eat breakfast, but the offerings looked good - mueslis, cheeses, meats, breads, fruits. The staff were very nice and most spoke English, but even the one I spoke to with my limited German was able to understand. I really like the inclusiveness here. The front desk were very helpful when I needed to print a bus ticket. Parking is across the road and is discounted.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For our 1 night stay we chose a room with a balcony which was a little pricier, it had a great...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GreenCityHotelVauban, Rezeption at Green City Hotel Vauban
Responded 23 Oct 2018
Dear Helen, thank you so much for your great feedback. We are very happy, that you liked our clear design and most that you liked our inclusiveness. We are sorry for the wifi! We hope to see you soon. We wish you a great time. Best regards, Green City Hotel Vauban Team
Read more
Parenttravel46 wrote a review Apr 2018
Greenwich, Connecticut65 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed at the Green City Hotel Vauban while visiting the area. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are a bit small by American standards. However, the beds were very comfortable and the closet was a decent size. The bathroom was nice and the shower had great water pressure. However, the glass doors were a bit awkward and it was hard to shower without getting the bathroom floor all wet. The hotel provided liquid hand soap that doubled as body gel and shampoo. The hair dryer in the room was excellent. Very powerful. While the instructions for the room stated that the room is climate controlled, we did not get the temperature to change either hotter or colder. We did not find any way to change the temperature and we never asked as it was about 60 degrees outside and we did not really need heat or air conditioning. I am not sure if there truly was air conditioning. That would be a concern in the summer. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was 12 euros a person and if you wanted hot eggs prepared it was additional money. We ate breakfast elsewhere as there are plenty of bakeries and cafes to go to. There was one bakery and a grocery store right across the street from the hotel. Also, the hotel is across the street from the tram and bus stop, If the windows are open in the room, it can be noisy. The hotel staff was very friendly and spoke English fairly well. When I asked about how to get to certain places, other than in town, they needed to look things up on the computer, but they willingly did so. The wifi did not work great i n our room. It worked well in the lobby. The area of Vauban is very nice, but about a 5-10 minute tram ride from town. The hotel gives each guest a complimentary tram/bus pass for the duration of the stay. This was a great help as the rides can get very expensive. We were happy to be away from the noise and traffic of Freiburg city center and taking the tram back and forth was very easy and enjoyable. This hotel was very good value for the price and I would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GreenCityHotelVauban, Rezeptionistin at Green City Hotel Vauban
Responded 31 May 2018
Love Parenttravel46, Many thanks for your extensive and positive feedback! It's so great that you took the time to write down all your impressions of your stay. It was a pleasure reading it! Other guests get a really good overview due to your comments. You have gone into details, such as the hair dryer, the water pressure or the shampoo. This gives a very good overall impression of our house. Especially the praise to our staff really pleased us! The service stands and falls in a hotel with its staff and we are very grateful that our team is so popular to our guests. For breakfast we don't offer special egg dishes for extra costs. On our buffet we serve scrambled eggs and boiled eggs. And as you already wrote, there are other breakfast options in the direct surrounding if you don't want to have breakfast in our hotel. We would be very happy if we could welcome you another time! Thanks again for your great review and many greetings from the entire team! Your Green City Hotel Vauban
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBaden-WürttembergFreiburg im Breisgau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Green City Hotel Vauban
Which popular attractions are close to Green City Hotel Vauban?
Nearby attractions include Schafstour Freiburg (0.08 km), Georg-Elser-Gedenksaule (0.5 km), and Shooters Billardcenter (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green City Hotel Vauban?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Green City Hotel Vauban?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Green City Hotel Vauban?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green City Hotel Vauban?
Conveniently located restaurants include Schlosscafe, 5 Senses Coffee, and Restaurant Suden.
Are pets allowed at Green City Hotel Vauban?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Green City Hotel Vauban offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Green City Hotel Vauban?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Green City Hotel Vauban?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Freiburg Cathedral (3.0 km), Historisches Kaufhaus (2.9 km), and Martinstor (2.6 km).
Is Green City Hotel Vauban accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.