We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Cristal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Cristal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 321: English reviews
Guernsey
Reviewed 6 November 2013

excellent location for beer fest, breakfast very expensive at the hotel, but go across the road and get excellent breakfast food for a fraction of the price. Rooms ok, staff excellent and very helpfull. 10-15 min walk to all the tents, with a couple of bars along the way. highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beanjar51
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear beanjar51, thank you very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Munich and at the Oktoberfest. Let’s come again next year and try our restaurant – it tastes delicious. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Visiting Munich we found it a very friendly city and easy to get around town using the subway. We were in town for Oktoberfest. Yes it is crowded but full of beer drinking fun! The hotel was located just 1 block south of Haupthnhof train/subway station. The front desk staff at hotel Cristal are friendly and helpful. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BtripN
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear BtripN, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Munich, in our hotel and on the Oktoberfest. We hope to welcome you again next year at the Oktoberfest, there are only 324 days left. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for Oktoberfest. Of course the prices of hotels go up for this time of year, thats to be expected and we would normally expect more for our money but given the festival we let that slide. The hotel was perfectly located - 2 blocks from the train station (hint - make sure you come out the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oscarthedoggy
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear oscarthedogandjulie, thank you very much for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your time in our hotel and on the Oktoberfest. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

leeds
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sometimes looking at previous TA reviews you wonder if they've actually been to the same hotel as you. Just looking at one which says'This hotel is run down, poorly maintained, dirty and in a questionable neighborhood.' I would disagree with all that. The hotel itself is fine, the room was clean, modern and functional and the staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LS13
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear LS13, thank you very much for your review! You can get other pillows at our reception, just ask for it at your next stay in our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Cristal. Since we are Best Western Rewards members, I think we were upgraded to a large, recently renovated room that was clean, quiet and had wifi. The staff at the front desk and the bar were friendly and helpful. I felt safe in the neighbourhood, which seems to making the transition into respectability. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deb M
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear deb M, thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy that you had a great time in Munich and in our hotel. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Stratham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is run down, poorly maintained, dirty and in a questionable neighborhood. During my stay the television remote did not work, the a/c did not work and the elevator did not work. The accommodations are worn, the blankets are not clean, the bathroom had mold and the overall facility is poorly kept. Upon speaking with the front desk I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank linda r
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear linda r, thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences in our hotel. But in our opinion the situation wasn’t as bad as you described it. Please have in mind that we are a four star hotel and we have to comply special requirements.It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon....

Paris
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good: The hotel is situated very close to the Central Train Station, the Marienplatz are within walking distance. The staff at reception spoke excellent English and was always friendly and helpful with any requests we had. We did not eat at the hotel, the train station has a wide variety of places and the food there was good and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Marina V, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased hearing such a nice feedback from our guests. We are glad to forward that to our staff. Please have in mind that our hotel is located at the main station and therefore there are busy surroundings. It would be great to welcome you again at our...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Hotel Cristal is located in the city centre and near the central train station with public transportation. The Marienplatz are within walking distance. I meet my friend and went to Marienplatz for the Christmas shopping. The staff spoke excellent English and were friendly and helpful with any requests. My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILvIndia
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear ILvIndia, thank you very much for your review. Thank you for staying with us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Sydney
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Consistent with other reviews, location is great. Pillows could be better (they collapse to nothing). I needed an extra sheet put over the rubberised mattress protector - it was too warm with the bed sheet straight on the protector. Likewise, the bed quilt was too warm and without it, it was too cold. The breakfast (€16.50) was expensive but extensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear CyclistSydney, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in our house. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

new zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After reading some of the reviews regarding this hotel, we were a bit apprehensive on what to expect, however our experience has been great. The hotel is situated very close to the Central Train Station so you can walk with your bags quite comfortably. We walked to Marienplatz and the surrounding areas without any problems at all. It is about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear aotearoanz, thank you very much for your comment. That sounds like a great stay in our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconveniences in our house. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel. Yours sincerely, BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#24 of 391 in Munich
962 reviews
0.1 km away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#111 of 391 in Munich
761 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#240 of 391 in Munich
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.2 km away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 391 in Munich
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Price Range: RM299 - RM922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cristal staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cristal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure that you book a room at the rear of the hotel otherwise would hardly sleep at night. Arranged by prior the charging of the internet.”
 of 5 bubbles spyridonangel, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back if you want a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 416timp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles IluvnjNewJersey, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back of the hotel for more silence at night”
 of 5 bubbles MrRollT, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the street if there's such a thing.”
 of 5 bubbles riain, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay