We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ARCOTEL Velvet

Show Prices
#129 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, comfortable room, good bar, good restaurant, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Oh and the location is perfect too! Many of the main attractions are walkable, if not there is a tram stop directly outside or S/U-bahn stations within a few minutes' walk. Lots of trendy bars, restaurants, cafes and arts centres on the street. Much helped by getting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The-Greek88
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is an ideal hotel for visiting all the points of interest in central Berlin. There is easy access to both the tram & U & S Bahn stations. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a great view down Oranienburger Strasse towards the East Berlin TV tower from our room. The staff were always helpful and polite when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saintnick76
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't leave an excellent feedback only due to Susan the receptionist employed that was ignorant, arrogant and not available to solve a problem. Modern,elegant and clean hotel, great buffet breakfast, central position.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ascanio F
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Ascanio, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize very much the misunderstanding and the inconvenience you had at our reception. However we hope, you did enjoy your stay at our ARCOTEL Velvet and we hope to welcome you back soon to convince you of our good services. Kind regards TERESA STABENOW Guest Service Leader

Funchal, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not my first time in the Velvet. From here you can see at a walking distance the most of Berlin's must see. Frills might be expensive. Walls needs a hand of fresh painting maybe... What I like: bed comfortable, room's smart layout. Acoustic ear's protection provided. What I dislike: rooms facing the road are noisy. Cost of a still water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruto
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed between Christmas and New Year. Great location and enjoyed the breakfast. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We did notice a building site but we had no noise at all during our sat and the wifi was also fine. Have seen some people mention open bathrooms into the bedrooms but ours (2nd fl) was completely separate and very good. Personally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmmeHughes
Київ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Placed in a good point for city transportation, in a rather quiet district, not touristy, without exotic surroundings. It took around 25-30 minutes to get both to Reichstag or Alexanderplats by train/subway. Not too enjoyable inside: a bit gloomy, a bit smelly, a bit dirty, and stangely planned. Very poor wifi. Txt files its maximum capacity, don't even dream to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NainaKiewna
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Pros: Location is excellent. Staff our very accommodating and will do their best to rectify any issue. Cons: as of the time of writing this it's next to a building site and it's on a tram stop. Overall the stay was good. The first night the room was very hot and I didn't sleep at all. I tried opening the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GmanUnit
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I had a great stay in one of their fronted rooms overlooking the street. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was perfect to start a busy day in Berlin. It is week located on the train lines and close to great restaurants and nightlife.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

If you're visiting Berlin for the first time, this hotel is a good option, as it's located in the Mitte area - at the centre of the city. Most cultural and historical attractions are nearby. Amenities are basic and adequate, bed is comfortable, has nice view, and staff is friendly. The only issue was the Wi-Fi, which wasn't working at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karim W
Tiburon, California
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed at the Arcotel Velvet Hotel in Berlin for a few days toward the end of October 2016. Location was great and so was the hotel desk staff. I found it on a Conde Naste list of top hotels in Berlin. What we found very disappointing is that the hotel seems very tired. Both the hallway and room carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph G
VelvetBerlin, Front Office Supervisor at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Mr Joseph G, We sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and our staff, however we are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfying. We are very sorry that you got this impressive...

606 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room (56)
Viewed
Comfort Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Suite (72)
Viewed
Superior Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#73 of 663 in Berlin
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
BEST WESTERN Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#50 of 663 in Berlin
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighbourhood Profile
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighbourhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Price Range: RM328 - RM713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Lawrence, Kansas
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd Fl was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AmmeHughes, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Caution! The shower cabin is not separated from the sleeping area. Hide in a toilet.”
  • A light curtain separates the bathroom from the sleeping area.
 of 5 bubbles NainaKiewna, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles Peterkjeldsen, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back, on the upper floors are probably quieter, but our friend in the front, on the 3rd floor had no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles toyasyl, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“superior rooms only have tea/coffee facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 455AlanB, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay