We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Good location with metro station only 5 meters from the door. Bathroom is quite big and clean, room is not small but crowded. Staff is OK, but the cleaning is very noisy, it is very disturbing. I can recommend it for a weekend trip, if you want a place to sleep, but I agree that it is more a hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuleyka_86
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Zuleyka_86, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that all in all you had a good time with us in Berlin. MEININGER is a combination of hotel and hostel. We regret not meeting your expectations completely, but we still hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best! Your MEININGER team

Tbilisi, Georgia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

It was advertised on Booking.com as HOTEL, but in fact it is just a HOSTEL! I would've made different decision had I been aware of that fact. I booked a single room, which had good description and pictures of a normal hotel room, but the reality was that I had to stay in an actual dorm room, where the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibazhunaishvili
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Ibazhunaishvili, Thank you for your open words. We regret your disappointment about your booking and that we could not meet your expectations. MEININGER combines hotel and hostel to include all types of guests. Some like it a lot and some unfortunately not. We hope that you contacted our reception with your complaint that we got the chance of changing...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is a cheap hostel, with things kept clean and the receptionist friendly. However, it completely lacks the atmosphere of a lot of other hostels I have stayed, even at a low price. The location is also good, even if it is not in Alexanderplatz like the name suggests. Also the receptionist recommended to us some things to do, including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia W
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Olivia, Thank you for taking your time writing your comment! We regret confusing you with our name, but Alexanderplatz is so close and you can see it from here :) We are sorry for your bad experience during your walking tour and that you did not like our atmosphere so much. MEININGER is a combination of hotel and hostel...

Reviewed 22 March 2016

We stayed in Alexanderplatz (Prenzl. B.) mid March '16. We arrived quite early and couldn't check in but we left the luggage and went out to explore the city while the staff gets the rooms ready. The hotel is only a couple of subway stops from Alexander platz and near few good restaurants and bars. There is a BioSupermarket near...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nina V
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Nina V., Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback and that you had an enjoyable stay with us! We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Very popular among youngsters, this place is located just in front of Senefelder Platz Ubahn. It's cheap, clean, but kind of anonymous. You go there only to sleep. Noisy unfortunately. And all the noise comes from the corridors inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinlan5565
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Quinlan5565, Thank you for your feedback! Even if we are glad that you liked our central location, we regret not managing to keep it quiet during the night. Our security was very busy these days and we always try our best to keep it quiet. Such excited guests as you experienced here are rare and we want to apologize...

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Decided to stay here because rates were relatively reasonable for the area at the time I booked. I stayed in a double room - the room was clean and the private bathroom in the room was quite spacious and well equipped (soap, towels, hair dryer) for a budget hotel. No fridge in the room but there is a shared fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin G
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello kool_blu89, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are pleased about your good experience with us. Even if we could not fullfill whoöe comfort (matress and pillows) we are glad that you liked staying here and we are looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards and have a nice day! Your MEININGER team

Bebington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Just like Ryanair and easyJet say you're flying to a city but your miles outside, this hotel is nowhere near Alexanderplatz. expect a 15-20minute walk or 4 stops on the train... When we arrived the reception didn't have a record of our booking through booking.com and we had to wait for 45 minutes for them to confirm we could actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam_omuk
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Liam_omuk, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing MEININGER. We regret that we could not meet your expectations as much as we wished and that our location (right in the middle of Berlin East) was not the area you wished to stay. Online bookings might take a while till we receive all booking details. We are sorry that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I would give no stars if it was an option. They couldn't even get the bookings right even though we called ahead three times and emailed them 6 times beforehand checking bookings to ensure that they had done it correctly. When we were trying to solve the situation the staff were rude and unhappy to help. In the rooms it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren W
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for your open words and we regret not meeting your expectations. The hustle with the rooms had a different backround and different reasons that the final situation was like that. We want to apologize, if you felt treated unpolite. At the end we solved that problem. Hairdryer are available at the reception, if there is no...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Nice modern rooms and bathrooms, however the atmosphere was non existent. The staff were also terrible, I literally waited 10 minutes to buy a beer at the bar while the young woman with glasses sat at her computer 3 meters away completely ignoring me. A couple also walked in and waited as well, before we all agreed to go elsewhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wayne k
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. An explanation for that might be that the whole bar is hard to see from the reception desk. Our receptionist and bartender are the same and it is much easier to contact our staff directly, because sometimes they really just do not notice you! We regret...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The first time I staid here was because of the great location, close to Alexanderplatz as well as clubs and other venues around the Eberswalder Str. metro station, plus a very good price. Downstairs the place is pleasant---a colorful reception area plus a room with seating where breakfast is served in the morning, and which for the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michał P
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Michal, Thank you so much for your friendly and detailed feedback. I was a pleasure reading it. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#382 of 662 in Berlin
93 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#31 of 662 in Berlin
253 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#104 of 662 in Berlin
223 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 368 in Berlin
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: RM263 - RM582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“after 10 pm there is a quiet policy difficult to enforce Rooms ending in 04-08 are near the elevators can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 208danv, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5