We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I stayed in an 8 bed male dormitory on the weekend of the 25th November. The hostel is in a great location literally 5 minute walk away from Cologne Central station and has all the amenities you'd need - a kitchen, lockers, vending machines, bed linen, The hostel is very clean too and I was not expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlennPeares93
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

First of all we are proud to hear that you praise the cleanliness of our hostel. Actually we do offer earplugs here. As we are located in the middle of the city centre (next to the central station and the cathedral) it can be noisy at times. On the other hand you are centrally located. :-) We wish you a...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is 10 minutes from the train station, you can get off the plane, get your train ticket for 2.80 euros and walk to the hostel from the station using the map and details given to you by staff when you book it. First time I have ever stayed in a hostel and this place gave me an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review! We are really happy that you won a good impression after your first stay in a hostel. It would be great to see you soon again. Best regards from Cologne! :-)

Moscow
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

what can i say? location, friendliness, atmoshpere, beer, kitchen, people, beds - all was perfect. Next day i moved to the hotel but i slept there much worser than at your place. I could imagine how perfect it could be staying in pathpoint during summer and spring time with there own open-terrace. Guys, thank you so much for your hospitality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nushkin
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great review and recommending us. Why don't you come and see us during spring or summer time? :-) We wish you a nice rest of your travels! Best regards from Cologne!

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, this hostel is less then 5 min to the cologne main train station, walking distance to the cathedral and everywhere. High recommend nice clean, great staff. I will stay again here for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raffaelebarano
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for highly recommending our hostel. :-) Have a nice rest of your travels ... We hope to see you again! Best regards from Cologne!

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout the stay, despite us being a group of 20 lads on a stag do. Separate shower and toilet in a room of 6 (always handy). Shower was spot on, which is always a blessing in hostels. Taxi's aren't too expensive and it's only a ten minute walk from the station. No problems staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenRiley2612
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a good time while staying with us. Best regards from Cologne! :-)

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Despite being a large group (and boisterous) the staff were very accommodating and we never felt unwelcome. they helped out when we needed directions and when we needed taxis booking. I would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are looking forward to see you again! :-)

Reviewed 16 October 2016

I only stayed for one night and felt like i really got what i paid for - a clean place to sleep near the central station. It's still in a quiet location, despite being so central. My dorm was female-only which is something that I look for in a hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lina R
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. We are particularly happy that you liked our cleanliness. Actually, in all German YHA hostels male and females will be separated in open dorms. :-)

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hostel but way to expensive! The staff is not really personal and interested in you but OK enough. It is clean and the beds are fine to sleep. Paying 40 euro without breakfast is too overrated. I think there are cheaper hostels in Koln.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joris v
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! On a Sunday for example we have prices for € 15,90. However, on a busy Saturday it is more expensive like in most excellent rated hostels here in Cologne. :-)

Lille, France
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

near the train statiôn, affordable and gives you the chance to meet lots of intresting people. staff helpfull and energetic. no elevetors. so try to avoid having lots of luggage on you. Coffee machines and drinks are available in case all other shops are closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to give us such a nice review! :-) We would love to have an elevator, but since the building is under monumental protection, we can’t put one in. However, our guests can store heavy luggage in our free luggage storage. We would be really happy to see you again. Best regards from Cologne!

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Thank you for the nicest stay in Cologne! It was great to be in you hostel. We stayed for only one night but we really enjoyed it. The receptionists were really nice as well. Very clean, and big enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro d
Pathpoint, Manager at Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alejandro! Thank you very much for your great review! We would be very happy to see you guys again. Have a nice rest of your travels! Best regards from Cologne! :-)

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 277 in Cologne
1,478 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#59 of 277 in Cologne
754 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 277 in Cologne
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel
#12 of 277 in Cologne
375 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#49 of 277 in Cologne
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This new and modern backpacker property is located in a former church building, right in the centre of Cologne, with only a five minute walk from the Central train station. Our friendly staff is looking forward to welcoming you and are happy to help you out with any information you might need during your stay! Property offers: Access to tram, bus and train connections within walking distance (400 meters) Bed linen included Reception open 24 hrs Check-in: 3 p.m. All rooms equipped with shower and WC and individual lockers All you can eat breakfast for EUR 4.50 / Towel hire for EUR 1.00 Free luggage storage Guest kitchen Internet access in Common Area WIFI access for free! Credit Cards accepted TV and book corner Sightseeing highlights within walking distance Highlights: Central Train, Tram and Bus station (Köln Hbf) 400 m Airport Cologne / Bonn 13 km Old town Cologne with restaurants and bars 1 km Rhine River 1 km Cologne Dom (cathedral) 800 m Sightseeing and museums 1 km Shopping 850 m ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel

Address: Allerheiligenstr. 15, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Price Range: RM93 - RM338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pathpoint Cologne Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room by the road!”
 of 5 bubbles GlennPeares93, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“whenever you choose - all is great”
 of 5 bubbles Nushkin, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you have a lot of stuffs, try to request rooms on lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles stevena677, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Common room has lot of space to sit quietly and reflect on life :)”
 of 5 bubbles Shibayanraha, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a room away from Turiner Str, it should be more quiet...this seemed to be a busy street, even at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Dr-Ing-Dchen, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay