We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Backpackers Dusseldorf

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Backpackers Dusseldorf
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Dusseldorf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Venlo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This hotel is quite OK for backpackers. With a limited budget u can stay here perfectly. Inherent on hostels like this, is that they are very noisy. You can here almost everything your neighbours are doing. But, when u are a backpacker, you are probably used to this. It is very near to the city center which is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Basssssss
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Everything was great..!! The only thing I didn't liked was that they close a part from 22.00 unitl 07.00. And than I mean the kitchen area. There is no chance at all that you can go to the kitchen between this time. There is also no chance that you can sit outside by the door.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philly1990
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent two nights here on a recent visit. The hostel was as you would expect with simply clean dorm rooms, functional bathrooms and a decent kitchen. It was a little quiet on our visit but the other guests that were there socialised with each other. The free breakfast was simply and did the job keeping me going for the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LifeAsABackpacker
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hostel was nice but it was quite far away from the main part of town and about 15-20 minute walk to the main station (about 5 Euros in a taxi) although this does make for a peaceful nights sleep which is good and there is also a supermarket just down the road where you can buy some dinner to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT1211
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I was a bit worried about staying in this hostel after reading some of the reviews on here, however there was no need to be worried. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean - the only problem was that as it was so hot we slept with the window open and the noise of the street woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelafaye45
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Never again. I've actually been here before and thought it was okay - but this stay is just just absolutely unacceptable. At first I did not even have a duvet. Thankfully I arrived much sooner than aticipated so I could ask the staff to dig one up. Which he grudgingly did after I sat waiting around for 15 minutes while...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra S
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's really one of my least favorite hostel. NOT CLEAN, I even spotted two roaches in the room, which was just horrible! And in the female bathroom there are two showers connected to each other, so you basically have to walk by the first one to get to the second one. Location not really convenient, average breakfast. There must be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Popin C
Palaboe, Inhaber at Backpackers Dusseldorf, responded to this review
Google Translation

Dear Mrs.C., danke für ihre Bewertung. Ich habe recherchiert und festgestellt daß sie im September 2013 bei uns übernachtet haben....

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is probably the best deal in town but even then the value for money is not that great. The 10 bed dormitory is sometimes at or above 20€. Good sleep however. There is generally no hot water in the sink of bathrooms and unreliable hot water in some showers [cold and hot alternate i hate this]; so you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisarnout
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I thought to arrive later so I tell them. Fortunately I arrived earlier then I thought because my duvet and my pillow were blood stained. They change them, but if I arrived late I could not change because the reception would be closed. And perhaps worse, I would not have noticed the stains. I think if they were themselves to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_Ibn_Fadlan
Cottbus, Germany
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Nothing like a very unfriendly service to ruin what could otherwise be an acceptable experience. Upon my arrival, I thought the manager (and apparently sole employee) wasn't either friendly or unfriendly, but just neutral. That was fine anyway. He gave me the bed linen and towel, the door codes, showed me to my room and so on. My room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hprog

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
873 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#18 of 236 in Dusseldorf
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#40 of 236 in Dusseldorf
485 reviews
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#25 of 236 in Dusseldorf
311 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#83 of 236 in Dusseldorf
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For travellers wanting to explore Dusseldorf and its interesting surroundings, Backpackers Dusseldorf is the ideal place to stay - from here you can quickly get to all central places in town. The old part of town - the enchanting "Altstadt" - with its more than 260 pubs, bars and restaurants can be reached by foot within 10min. Famous as the town of arts, Dusseldorf has approximately 100 galleries and museums, which are located all over town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers Dusseldorf

Address: Fuerstenwall 180, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Price Range: RM96 - RM373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Backpackers Dusseldorf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Usually nicer to opt for the non-mixed dorms”
 of 5 bubbles racheldX2415YM, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Had a single room with shared facilities. Satisfied with my choice. The price is very affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles 324elenam, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If you are willing to put up with the guy's lack of manners and still decide to stay there, avoid that room under the staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles Hprog, 20 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Rooms for two people are very small, so you won't be doing much else than sleeping in them, and the showers downstairs can be tricky. First it's boiling water and next icy, but the rest of the showers are ok to use.”
 of 5 bubbles MaksimR_13, 9 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Bring earplugs in case you have a snoring room mate with you! :)”
 of 5 bubbles Nasse_9, 6 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5