We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Welcome Hotel Essen

298 reviews
Save
Traveller (60)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (7)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good50%
  • Average19%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (298)Write a Review
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
11
42
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
42
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness hotelthe hotel's restaurantstaff on receptionthe breakfast areaparking garagecoffee machinerooms were cleanfresh fruitcomfortable hotelclose to the city centerrecommend this hoteldecent hotelmain stationexcellent locationconvenient locationrathaussunk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I stayed in a standard double room (not superior or suite). Overall, the staff were friendly and approachable. The facilities were clean, and the free fruit water and fresh fruit were great. My biggest complaints have to do with the beds and the communication of...More

Thank eileenhl2017
Response from Marius45127, Front Office Manager at Welcome Hotel EssenResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Eileen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. But I can assure you that we definitely do not equip our...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We booked this last-minute for a Saturday night and were very pleasantly surprised. Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and warm. The hotel has a nice bar area and a restaurant, with vending machines on the guest floors. We ate outside of the...More

Thank lalabelle84
Response from Marius45127, Assistant Front Office Manager at Welcome Hotel EssenResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Lalabelle84, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are always very pleased and interested to receive comments, our warmest thanks from the entire Team! Our members of staff play an incredibly important role in ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay,...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Terrible incidents at Welcome Hotel in Sept-2017: Checked into room #128 and was not informed that the refrigerator was not working. Unfortunately, I’ve bought some probiotic drinks and fruits on the same day and put them in the fridge without knowing that until the next...More

Thank Vernon S
Response from Marius45127, Front Office Manager at Welcome Hotel EssenResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Vernon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are so happy that we manage everything to your satisfaction and...More

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I have been there for a few nights. I did book superior room. The quality of noise is acceptable however the room itself doesn't represent a 4star... Old Fortniture, bed broken, terrible Matratze.....More

Thank 2008-01
Response from Marius45127, Front Office Manager at Welcome Hotel EssenResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We really regret that you had such a bad night and we...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017

The room rate was amazingly low at the Welcome Hotel, and I don't recall ever staying at a less expensive 4-star hotel. As a 4-star hotel, it has a restaurant, bar, 24 hour service, and a parking garage. Complimentary use of a nearby fitness center...More

Thank bluevoter
Response from Marius45127, Assistant Front Office Manager at Welcome Hotel EssenResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Bluevoter Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are always very pleased and interested to receive a feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our conveniently location and neighborhood. Our chef expanded the selection of our buffet...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Banquet Room
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Essen
#13 Business Hotel in Essen
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$67 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Essen
#13 Business Hotel in Essen
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (60)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Welcome Hotel Essen staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Avoid the first floor if you want to store some of your food stuff. Avoid room 219, no aircon"
Read review
"Choose a room facing the back side - more quiet"
Read review
"Our room on the 1st floor was very good (standard, with bath tub)"
Read review
"Take a superior, and get what you expect"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing