We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MacDonald Villacana Resort

Show Prices
#13 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MacDonald Villacana Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for MacDonald Villacana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the resort at 0030. It was not easy to find even with a taxi. We paid the taxi 33 euros (About $35) from Marbella bus station to the hotel. No other form of transportation this time of the night. Reception closes at night but there's security person to let you in. Do call ahead of time. You might...

Thank Micaela Evuy S
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful, the accommodation is clean and pleasant and the outdoor areas are delightful. The beds are not comfortable and the access from the main road is difficult to find. The restaurant is overpriced and was not open after 18:00. We stayed in February and this meant that we had the pool and sauna...

Thank Luke C
United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

I have had to rate this review very good because the apartment we had was truly excellent, so comfortable for 4 of us at Christmas time. The resort however was soul less, it maybe better in season I don't know. There was no central bar to go to, a little kiosk bar at the pool and when you went to...

Thank Jules_UK68
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Jules for taking the time to give your feedback. We are delighted that you were so pleased with your apartment. It is true that during the winter months, there are fewer people on the resort and therefore the ambience is not as lively as in the warmer months.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Villacana with the family as a stopover on the way to Madrid, it was so comfortable, I had to extend my stay for another three days. Although it is bit far from the centre but it is only few metres from the beach and many restaurants. The apartments are clean and large. I'm coming back this summer.

1Thank MarinaBatista1968
Sebastián U, Director General at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I have been to Villacana many times in April but this was only my second visit in January. The weather can be variable but even when very sunny during the day the evenings re cold. The apartments are mainly marble to keep them cool in the heat of the summer so can be very chilly in the winter. There are...

Thank StephanieBernadette
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We have taken note of the points raised and where possible, we shall address these accordingly. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 19 January 2016

we booked into a single bed apartment as this was the only option in January 2016 after the resort reopened after a refurb. Apartment living area was just adequate for 2 occupants but the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom were really tiny. Being on the ground floor there were no views at all, only a walled patio. The beach is about...

Thank Michaelno1
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

I am very sorry we failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. It is our aim to provide an excellent holiday experience so we do hope you might consider visiting us again and staying in a larger apartment which we are sure would be more to your liking.

Reviewed 14 January 2016

Stayed in December went as two couples, stayed in a 2 Bedroom which had only 1 bathroom , most 4 star resorts have an on suite master bedroom. .Although it was low season staff were not very informative or helpful, many of the amenities were unavailable. staff did not advise us of electricity bill and was surprised with this at...

Thank rachael83London
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachael, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the resort did not live up to your expectations. Our number one priority is excellent service and I will be talking to the staff with regard to your comments. As far as the electricity charges are concerned, all our resorts charge for this and it is mentioned in all resort...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We did not enjoy our stay at Villacana and really wish we would have stayed somewhere else. First of all, we were provided with incorrect written directions to the resort. According to the written directions, once we passed the resort at mile marker 165/166, we were supposed to exit at "Selwo Park." There is no Selwo Park. After we passed...

3Thank Carillon226
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about our resort and I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our priority is to provide an excellent holiday experience with excellent service, which we often achieve judging by the reviews on Tripadvisor, although on this occasion we have obviously fallen...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We did an exchange through RCI and we very pleased with Villacana Resort. We stayed the last few days of October and the first week in November. As we expected some of the activities were curtailed but as there is so many things to do in the area it did not matter. We came by train from Madrid into Malaga....

Thank J Craig W
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Craig for your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to greeting you again in the not too distant future.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Nice resort, it's probably best to have a car, however there is a bus stop right outside. Our apartment was above the reception area which I didn't like too much I would have preferred one of the others. However our apartment was quite large and suitable for our needs. Would have been nice to have had a TV in the...

1Thank julie g
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Julie. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (82)
View from Room (9)
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Dining (6)
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
13.9 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
765 reviews
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
431 reviews
11.7 km away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
0.8 km away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
3.2 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Address: Calle Cadiz 165/166, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Price Range: RM358 - RM1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacDonald Villacana Resort staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from MacDonald Villacana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere”
  • Horrible shaded internal north east facing 2nd floor terrace
  • View north with A7 highway right next to reception
 of 5 bubbles MandH-eurotrippers, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a nice complex and all the rooms should be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles GerryT443, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room or a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Stan0951, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“East facing rooms get the sun in the morning but the patios are in the shade during the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“See if you can get one with a balcony”
  • Roof terraces
 of 5 bubbles Greenhillsfan, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5