We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ideal Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ideal Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks rather shabby from the outside, and it gets only marginally better within. Does the trick. The beds were a bit noisy when turning around, as the bed is more or less a sheet of metal that clunks every time you turn. The room size was ok, we stayed in a 4-person room with private bathroom. Never seen such a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tpjansen
Reputation M, Receptionist at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel, your point of view is very important to us. We would like to inform you that the size of our bathrooms and their equipments, are in the standards of youth hostels. Remember that the reception is opened to resolve all the customer’s issues in order... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is good to stay. I stayed there for 2 nights in a 10 bed room and I had a great time. The beds are good. It is cheap, the location is perfect and staff are nice. The best thing there I think it is the location.

Helpful?
Thank Mariana F
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's one of the worst places I've stayed at. It's not clean, the facility is very old and dirty. The staff are not friendly either. Great location thought. I don't recommend this place. Everything is broken in this building.

Helpful?
Thank Elsa A

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

IYH offers a fine bed to sleep on. However the hostel is very difficult to find and is not well marked-I walked right past it the first time! Inside, the common room isn't set up in a very social setting. The couches are cubed in a way that you can sit with your group, but doesn't leave a very inviting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for taking your time writing a comment to our hostel. We consider every customer has their own opinions. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Ideal Youth Hostel is located at the Heart of Barcelona City. Our... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I am giving it three stars and not less because the staff is really friendly and helpful and the location is great next to the Ramblas. However, even though the hostel has great potential it needs some renovations. I know the price could be considered according to the installations but some things are, in my opinion, not accepted even if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mafalditus
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I visited the Ideal Youth Hostel last month whilst visiting Barcelona for the football. Friends were also staying there and the website looked alright so I decided to book as the location also looked great - which it was! Also the security is very good for gaining entry. Upon arrival I was shown to my room - I had booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelchlyons
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The front desk employees (Pietro) were super helpful and accommodating to our needs. Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. Only thing I didn't like was the lights turning off in the bathroom half way through showering.

Helpful?
Thank michelled08
Winnipeg Beach, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I highly recommend this hostel. Very close to main tourist attractions and Pietro was always there to help us. He is very friendly, knowledgeable and very patient with us. The room could use a fan as it can get really hot. Overall, it's a good hostel.

Helpful?
Thank angelambalisi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Hostel has awesome location, few steps from La Rambla and metro :) Supermarket is nearby. Rooms are ok - clean, bed comfy bud noisy. Kitchen is really poor - bring your own mug, pork and little knife! There is a fridge, coffee machine + machine for hot water (if you ask the employees...), but not electric water boiler, cooker, pan...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hana B
ideal y, front desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your review. Feedback from our guests is important to us. As regards the kitchen supplies... we stock up on them regularly but things sometimes vanish... :/ We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. :) Kind regards, IYH More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The room condition is ok with 12 people sharing a room. The room at night is really hot cause there are no fans or air-condition. Also, there are no wifi and plugs at room so you have to charge your phone and use wifi in the common area. However, the location is very convenience.

Helpful?
Thank Anson N

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#578 of 756 in Barcelona
168 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#122 of 756 in Barcelona
264 reviews
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#234 of 756 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#131 of 756 in Barcelona
249 reviews
El Raval
Be Mar  Barcelona Hostel
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
#201 of 756 in Barcelona
192 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in El Raval

Neighbourhood Profile
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic spots in the entire city. A sense of humble authenticity protrudes from the many independent record stores, second hand shops, and student bars that seem to light up the streets day and night. The rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day forum for bohemian youth, abuzz with the sights and sounds of late-night gatherings and talented skateboarders showing off their latest tricks.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ideal Youth Hostel opened in the year 2000 in a typical Barcelona city-centre-style building. It's an experienced hostel located near the famous La Rambla and next to the Opera House.The traditional historical appearance of the façade has been maintained, while the interior is modern with a minimal industrial look, including silver concrete walls and coloured neon lights.We try to cater to both single backpackers as well as groups, offering all that you need to help you enjoy your stay in the city.Accommodation is offered in single rooms and private or shared rooms for two, four, six, eight or ten people. Most of the rooms have their own balcony, individual WC and free hot showers. Furthermore, the hostel provides individual lockers in each room, free of charge.We also offer a terrace, linen, vending machines, self-service laundrette, microwave and fridge and a lounge in which you can relax.Upon request, half- or full-board meals and lunch boxes are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ideal Youth Hostel

Address: Unio,10-12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Price Range: RM94 - RM366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ideal Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Youth Hotel Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the rooms are small)”
 of 5 bubbles EvaUH, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked my small room with private shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 77lesyat, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 & just managed to get connected.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaj135, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi”
 of 5 bubbles 825kushg, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was able to use WIFI on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MKer_12, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay