We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Showing 758: English reviews
Central Finland, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel, near the Gran Via, which is very convenient for walking everywhere, for example shopping.. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there wew very modern and spacious room. I will suggest the street view room. The breakfast buffet ws good also.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anittak238
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Anitta, First of all thank you so much for choose and for trust Hotel Santo Domingo in your stay in Madrid. We are so thankful to hear your kind words about the location, the staff, the room and the breakfast. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again. Best Regards, Víctor Nicolás...

St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The experience of this hotel was spoiled straight away by the rude receptionist at check in, the room we were given was small and pokey, the bathroom was very dated with a glass floor which was very dangerous when coming out of the shower which had a heavy marble shelf hung up by tape, the room had no coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hewittdavid39
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear David, First of all, thanks for the time invested in posting your comment. We are sad to know that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are surprised to know that you like not the room assigned to you during your stay (room 537), that was superior to the economy, which was that you had booked. As in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called the hotel before booking to ensure that even though the pool was closed, they would still have the sun loungers available. We were told 'Yes' and therefore booked the hotel, purely on this information. This was in fact wrong. When we spoke with the staff at the hotel, they were not apologetic and when we asked to refund...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willo505
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Willo 505, First of all, on behalf of the Hotel Santo Domingo, we would like to apologize for the enormous inconvenience caused to you by the impossibility of being able to access our Terrace, which was already closed after the end of the season. We want you to know that, following the suggestions of many customers, we have decided...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best part about this hotel is the location. it is right by the Metro, and easy walking distance to most of the major sites in the city. The room was not an economy room, but was still fairly small, and it's view was over a dated and unkempt courtyard garden. We had to have a twin room, as there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrREB
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear "MrREB", Thank you for your review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo and for your recommendation. We are located in the heart of Madrid, so we are so happy that you liked our location. It will be a pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again, maybe in a superior room to provide you with a...

Scotland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We got a great price for this hotel so we were delighted when we turned up - it's of true 4 star quality, with excellent service. Shame the pool was closed, we just missed it by a week but in early October it was still warm enough and we would have liked to use it (very British of us, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loladelorean
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Lola, First of all thank you so much for your review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. We are thankful for your kind words. We are sorry to hear that you could not use the pool because the bath season had already finished, but we are happy to know that you enjoyed the room decor and La Barra...

Annapolis, MD
Reviewed 5 November 2016

As is the norm in Spain, the rooms are VERY small by American standards. Also, our room smelled terribly of smoke. The lighting system in the room was odd too; lots of switches, few of which seemed to do anything. The staff was pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Tim W, Thank you for your review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. We are sorry to hear the room size was not suitable for you. If during the stay you have any suggestion or complaint our staff will be grateful to know it and to do everything possible to make the rest of your stay pleasant. We...

Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Really nice, clean & quiet room. The staff were very friendly & helpful. You couldn't ask for a better location, Sol, Retida & Atocha are all in walking distance but the Metro is just round the corner if you're in a hurry. Gran Via is yards away with all the shops & there's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suelowthian974
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear "suelowthian974", First of all thank you so much for trust in our Hotel for your stay in Madrid. We appreciate your kind words and your recommendation. It will be a pleasure to host you again in your next time in Spain. Best Regards, Víctor Nicolás Subdirector / Deputy Manager Hotel Santo Domingo -Madrid- SPAIN

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

room was small but nice. bathroom was lovely with a wet room at the back. mini bar had everything you could possibly want! staff are very friendly. I have no complaints at all. a really reat stay. bed was comfy and view wasnt too bad either. rooftop pool was closed but in the summer months it is open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Leanne P, Thank you so much for your review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. We are very happy that you liked the Hotel, the staff and the service in general. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again. Best Regards, Víctor Nicolás Subdirector/ Deputy Manager Hotel Santo Domingo -Madrid- SPAIN

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

An overall positive stay and not much to complain about but I would agree with other reviews that say that this is an average hotel that hasn't been renovated for a while. Our room had stained carpets, plaster on ceiling peeling away, smelled a bit musty when we walked in (although that smell cleared away within a day). Room walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clinton F
Houten, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The room wasn't like the photo on the website. Small window without a view. The carpet in the bedroom was dirty. The bathroom was dated and shows no fresh image.It was a disappointing experience last week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette5050

1,327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (585)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (699)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Corner Room (70)
Viewed
Daliliana Thematic Superior Room (61)
Viewed
Double Superior Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (113)
Viewed
Solarium Pool (31)
Viewed
Standard Room (57)
Viewed
Standard Thematic Room (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)
Viewed
Triple Thematic Room (46)
Viewed
Unique Suite (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#151 of 446 in Madrid
1,936 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace San Bernardo
Petit Palace San Bernardo
#102 of 446 in Madrid
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#181 of 446 in Madrid
1,090 reviews
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#165 of 446 in Madrid
715 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: RM333 - RM1,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the room "in the old wing" pref. on 4th or 5th floor level”
 of 5 bubbles MayaT16, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never stay on lower levels - e.g. 1, 2, 3 or 4 as noise from the street all night long is horrendous with no double glazing on the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CzechSkippyMelb, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The more modern room seem to be at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Gwyn68, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Interior room was very quite and kept the room cool inside. Might be a bit dark in the winter months.”
 of 5 bubbles I1237BRdavidh, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“dont get one in the annex....more like a cheap 2* hotel”
  • dirty tiles with mold
  • Blue stain on carpet
 of 5 bubbles sean577, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay