We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tirreno Hotel

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
#347 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$118*
US$104*
US$111*
US$118*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tirreno Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Clean, quiet and enough space for four people in a room. Nice area and a nice view from the room facing street on fourth floor. Good local restaurants. Breakfast nothing special but better than many other italian.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank efs2017
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear efs2017, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was for you to explorer all the shops, restaurants, attractions and the historic area of Rome. We love that you think we are a very clean hotel. We offer an enhanced continental breakfast. We are...

Wallenhorst
Reviewed 29 March 2017

After we were left in the streets of rome in the middle of the night because of chain gallenius the hotel tirreno was there and even gave us discount. Its a hotel in the middle of rome and kinda old but still clean with a nice shower breakfast and free Wi-Fi available. We had a good time there. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adam_is_still
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam, We’re happy to know that you were able to enjoy our prime location. We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm. However, please know that all our amenities, though classic, are up-to-date. We love that you think we are a very clean hotel and thanks for mentioning our delicious breakfast...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 29 March 2017

- Friendly Service and kind staff - Clean rooms with everything you will need - Hotel is located nearby the great showplaces of rome - Breakfast was Good and they offered some glutenfree things aswell -

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank german105
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear German105, We were pleased to hear that the staff was able to make your stay excellent by being friendly and helpful. We are glad that you found your room clean and enjoyed our breakfast, we recently introduced our new Buffet breakfast so our guests can choose whatever they like in a large salty and sweet selection. Great to read...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We reached the hotel pretty late and were worried about the check-in but it went hassle free. Rooms are good and staff very courteous. Its conveniently located so you can easily walk around to the major attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sashikanthp152
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sashikanthp152, We love our location because, as you mentioned you can get almost anywhere in Rome in about ten minutes. We are glad that you found you room comfortable and to hear that the staff was able to make your stay excellent by being friendly and helpful. We do hope to have you back and can assure you your...

Ancona, Italy
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I 've been very well at Tirreno hotel. Location is very central, near Basilic of Santa Maria Maggiore. I hope to return as soon as possible. Staff IS very Kind and nice. And Rome is fantastic as always

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alessandra g
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alessandra, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was. We love our location because, as you mentioned, it is so close to Santa Maria Maggiore. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We hope to see you back again if your travels ever...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Good central location with many sights within walking distance. The hotel however is very dated and desperately needs modernising throughout. Breakfast was extremely basic and limited in choice but adequate. Most definitely a 'no frills' option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 826re
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 826re, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was for you to explorer all the shops, restaurants, attractions and the historic area of Rome. We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm, but I can...

Cornwall
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Was expecting a lot more from Hotel Tirreno. We knew it would be old, ok,but the bathroom window nearly falling out? We arrived late on a Thursday evening, the receptionist didn't even say Buona Sera..just, passports, tourist tax and here is your key. Our room, I'm sure, must have been the worst in the hotel, small, depressing, dark and dingy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevieBCornwall
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Cornwall, We are very sorry that your staying in our Hotel was so unpleasant. I'd like to apologize for the last night, a power surge caused a short circuit of the central heating system that was fixed the next morning while you were leaving. 204 is a nice double bed room and I’m frankly surprised about your reaction,...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Breakfast was the only thing with improvement potential All the rest just met our expectations Very friendly staff, near to the Termini, subway and Colloseum We could recommend the place to anyone with the average budget

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank svetlanaa_popova
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Svetlana, Truly, it was our pleasure to have you as a guest and my team, and I have enjoyed reading your review and thank you for your stay and compliments! We were pleased to hear that the staff was able to make your stay excellent by being friendly and helpful. While disappointed not to receive a 5 star review,...

Skidby
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Quaint little hotel felt like walked back in to the 1970's.Could do with updating but has a charm of its own.Room was very small but enough for the few days we were there.Best part was the staff very friendly and helpful.Use the trattoria across the road on a street corner Mario very welcoming food excellent and very reasonable.Rome fantastic city...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm, but I can understand if you prefer a more modern atmosphere. However, please know that all our amenities, though classic, are up-to-date. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how convenient it was for you to explorer...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Worst thing...breakfast, really bad, no fruit, Just cakes and sugar... Staff is polite, except the lady in breakfast, very rude! Small room but always clean and warm. Near to train station and colliseum.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela_Rodrigues_lx
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniela, Thank you for your positive comments of our hotel and for mentioning our friendly staff and the clean room. However, I'm sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer an enhanced continental breakfast. I understand your disappointment when it is compared to your normal Portuguese breakfast but the continental is different unless your accommodations are 4...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Double Room (37)
Viewed
Matrimonial Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Single Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#224 of 1,257 in Rome
1,157 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#235 of 1,257 in Rome
580 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
405 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,035 of 1,257 in Rome
376 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering a free Wi-Fi zone, peaceful garden and central location in the heart of Rome, Hotel Tirreno is surrounded by great restaurants, 220 yards from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. The Tirreno is in a historic building where used to live Il Domenichino, a famous Italian painter. Completely renovated, it offers air-conditioned rooms with a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer.A continental breakfast is served each morning and includes pastries and Italian coffee. Drinks from the bar can be enjoyed out on the grounds.Guests at the Tirreno Hotel have a tour desk and information point at reception, as well as a free luggage storage room for departure day.The hotel has great metro services on Line A and Line B as it is between the metro stations of Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirreno Hotel

Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: RM308 - RM788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirreno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tirreno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tirreno Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Tirreno Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front otherwise you'll end up overlooking a rather grim yard known as hotel upper floor garden.”
AndyandMe, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The bathroom needs a little bit renovation. The beds are comfortable but change the sheets for a more modern look. ”
warsd, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very nice. ”
alessandrag379, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room was clean but very dated and much smaller than shown in the photos. The shower cubicle was so tiny that you could not move without turning the shower off! Window would not lock securely. ”
826re, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not accept room 204!”
StevieBCornwall, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$111
Hotels.comUS$104
TripAdvisorUS$104
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates