We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Caravaggio

Show Prices
#196 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Caravaggio
See the most recent reviews
Showing 245: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The amenities are basic but very clean, it has a good breakfast included and the waitress in the restaurant providing the breakfast was just lovely. It is very well located and all staff were helpful. It is within walking distance of the termini station

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylie D
Magda R, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Caravaggio. We look forward to welcoming you back again. With kind regards The Staff

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 23 January 2014

our expectations when the price of our stay was so affordable was not the highest but we where very pleseantly surprised. the hotel has an excellent location to downtown and also from termini station. also good connections nearby with bus and also taxi pole. the room was not very big but vera tidy. bed was okey and also the pillows....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saviljan
Magda R, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we have read your impressions from your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your nice words. We are sorry you didn´t express your wish to have two bed covers. It was possible to provide them immediately. We are 24 hours a day at the reception, so you can anytime inform us about your requierements. We...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This place was perfect for our needs; great price, great location close to the train station, buses, and several major attractions. Staff was extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction and answering our many questions. 24 hours front-desk service; we left our key with them whenever we went out, which was great because it was one less thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank badcarissa
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you recommend us and we hope your next stay will be without inconveniences you mentioned. We wish you a Happy New Year 2014! The Staff of the Hotel Caravaggio

St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week here. We did not have a rental car, so the location was great. Only a 20 minute walk from most of the major attractions like the Colossseum and the Pantheon. Also very close to Termini Station. Staff were helpful for the most part. Suggested a restaurant that is just around the corner from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review. We appreciate that you liked our location and our staff. At this time we offer a free wi-fi connection only at the reception. We are sorry that you did not notice that during your booking. We would like to inform you that in the future we will be able to offer a free...

Stroud
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having read some of the less than favourable reviews on here, I was a little worried about what I would find, so was really pleased when we saw our room. My daughter and I had booked for five nights and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs and the staff (Mido? in particular) were very helpful. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoveCornwall31
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your really nice contribution. We are happy that we have met your needs. It is a big pleasure for us that you recommend our hotel to your friends.

Kastoria, Greece
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel "Caravaggio" is very centrally located,not far from the Termini train station and almost in the heart of Rome. The nearest bus stop is less than two minutes on foot and the nearest metro station maybe five-six minutes. The room we stayed in was very good,spacious and clean.The mattress was good,too,something which is not always guaranteed! The bathroom was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fotini T
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you very much for the time you have dedicated to write this review. We are glad you have enjoyed your time in Rome.

Bucharest
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Good location for visiting Rome, very close to center, but small rooms with some not so nice smell. The personal from the reception is not friendly at all. The breakfast is poor and limited to cold plate.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vatelin
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we think we are not the hotel you stayed in, because our rooms have a standard size, they are clean, they are for sure without bad smell, we serve continental breakfast (we have boiled eggs, toasts, hot drinks) and our staff is really friendly.

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days in September 2012 for our honeymoon. Having been excited by the beauty of this place from their website, we were disappointed in the quality of the hotel and the service we received (none). We arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm for check-in and the front door to the lobby was locked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison D
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review. We would like to say that our rooms are facing to the street site, to the ministerial building or to the courtyard. There live families in the buildings around our hotel. That´s why sometimes you can see hanging clothes. Many times the guests write us what kind of view they prefer. We know...

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Didn't like this hotel at all. The location was nice, close to Colosseum and some historic places. But the building was very old, the elevator was ancient, we were scared to use it to go to the room in the 4th floor. Actually the hotel uses some floors of a residential building. Reception is at a neighbour building, meaning that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brazilian F
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay. It is true that most of historical places are very closely. There are no modern buildings in the historical city centre. Our building (including its elevator) is also a historical one. The elevator is ancient, but it is fully functional. We don´t understand why you were scared to use it....

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The best part of the Hotel is the location. You are within walking distance of most of what there is to see in Rome. The rooms are bit small, but comfortable and clean. Cheerful and help full staff and managers. Check it out on your next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbsingh390
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your pleasing review. We appreciate that you recommend us to other tourists.

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Classic Style Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Ethnic Style Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Room with Internal View (41)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,292 in Rome
980 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#217 of 1,292 in Rome
305 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#216 of 1,292 in Rome
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#346 of 1,292 in Rome
899 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#116 of 1,292 in Rome
1,010 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Hotel Caravaggio is situated in the heart of Rome. The Hotel is the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore on foot the wonders of the Eternal City and to wake up in a quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The reception is opened 24/24. The courteous and friendly staff can give you information you need, city maps, information for the booking of sightseeing tours and airport transfer. Everything that is a part of the Rome experience: monuments, museums, galleries, theatres, shops, restaurants, bars and night life is within walking distance. Nearby the Hotel you will find all the public facilities as the underground and the bus. The area is also very well connected with both airports. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Via Palermo 75 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: RM247 - RM646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Caravaggio staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Caravaggio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The triple room contains 3 twin beds.”
 of 5 bubbles claudiac520, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The one single room I saw was VERY small, The double room I had (6) was great.”
 of 5 bubbles Thebaldoneontheleft, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on Via Venezia are nice.”
  • View Via Palermo
  • Window to Via Venezia
  • View Via Palermo
 of 5 bubbles Maria_Florencia_M, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are very good”
 of 5 bubbles terrelh13, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view - ours was quite dark.”
 of 5 bubbles mateamarkicmail, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay