We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Grifo

Show Prices
#118 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

986 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grifo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed here for three nights to start our week-long trip in Italy. The staff at the desk was always friendly and helpful with our many questions. Our room was the largest of our trip, with a fully functioning A/C unit. We never had any issue with street noise. The bed was a bit stiff. Unfortunately, we discovered this in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pats3689
Niskayuna, New York
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed in a family room, which was very hot without proper air conditioning. Fridge and tap water weren't very cold at all. Very good location, though. Breakfast acceptable. We couldn't pay because their credit card machine wasn't working - so they gave it to us for free. We paid about $200 USD per night, which I we actually paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nytraveller53
Orlando, FL
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My daughter and I traveled to Italy (Rome, Naples and Sorrento) and stayed at the Hotel Grifo during our Rome stay. We had read reviews of many hotels before selecting Hotel Grifo and I think this research helped us understand that our room would be smaller and the hotel a bit different from a US hotel. With that being said,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FloridaTravelers1418
Portsmouth
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Toilet was used & unflushed prior to us arriving in the room !! Also the stairwell had no lights working making the steps very dangerous at night - we asked for these to be fixed on our first day & 3 days later they were still not working. Reception staff forgot to arrange an airport pickup so we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Snowy82
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that your stay here was not as you had dreamed and once again we are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the toilet. As explained to you by our staff it was a terrible mistake which has done immediately solved and you told us also that the rest of the room was cleaned. It is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2011

But on this occasion - small rooms, even smaller bathroom (couldn't turn around in the shower), breakfast not worth having and to top it all off we had money stolen from our room. My wife left her purse in room for 15 mins and when we came back $400 had been taken. How do we know this... we had just...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank slyboy54
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this negative comment, particulary about the breakfast which is usually always appreciated by our customers. Our hotel is located in an old buliding and the size of the rooms correspond to the normally one in the historic centers of Rome. About the stolen money, we are puzzled, because it is never happened in our hotel...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Hotel Grifo has two important things going for it. First, it's in a terrific location. The Colosseum and the ticket office to the Palatine Hill-Forum are about five blocks due south, while the Cavour metro station is even closer to the east (one stop to Termini and a transfer to Line A, which services the Vatican in one direction (six...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 83Stuart
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We booked this hotel based on recommendations on this site and our disappointment was so big when we got there. The pictures in the hotel's website have nothing to do with reality. The hotel looks like a hostel from the minute you walk into the lobby. Then, when you get to the room, it is so small with cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Avi1110
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry for your disappointment other feedbacks say the opposite and also sorry because you did not give us time and possibility to let us change your mind  because you slept only one night. Our lobby is exaclty  what appears in the photos. Our hotel is not a hostel, it is classified as a 3 stars hotel from the Tourist Department....

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed in the hotel's annexe - a small apartment for 2 nights. 'Shabby chic' would be a polite way to describe it and it was a bit of a walk from the main hotel - so it won't suit some people. For example, it would be a long walk for breakfast if it was raining. But for us there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biscuitina
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We arrived and the staff was extremely friendly. We had arrived in Rome by plane around 9:30am and arrived at the hotel around 11am. The check-in time is not until the afternoon and they allowed us to check-in, drop off our bags, and wash up. This was gladly appreciated after 15 hours of travel time. Also, I would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KVP7458
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 6 April 2011

this hotel is located not far rome's major sites . and lies in a quiet street with lots of resurants near. the staff was very helpfull and friendly, they did everything they could in order to make our stay enjoyable. the rooms are clean and comfortable , though it's recomend to ask in advance rooms with toilet rooms, some rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sliderTelaviv

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Small Double Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Terrace (39)
Viewed
Standard Quadruple Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
194 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#198 of 1,291 in Rome
646 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#148 of 1,291 in Rome
488 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#103 of 1,291 in Rome
812 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: RM299 - RM951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grifo staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grifo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to the colosseum”
 of 5 bubbles PortlyTravellers, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not standard room”
 of 5 bubbles AgataNka, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Consider the rooms at the 4th floor with shared terrace, or the annex across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles luigig809, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“on the fourth floor you have access to a terrace”
 of 5 bubbles lindsaym791, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Small, sweet, and a perfect base for exploring Monti and the entire historic center”
 of 5 bubbles Of-San_Francisco, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay